We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Dubai, UAE
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at the Protea Entebbe for 2 nights. The hotel is approx. 1 1/2 years old and is 5 minutes from the airport. The Protea Entebbe is clean and the staff is friendly. The rooms are of a good size and TV and interner are free. The internet is slow and we had problems with reception in the evening. The a/c works well. Be sure to ask for a south facing room towards the lake. Avoid the Craft shop in the lobby due to high prices. You can do much better at the airport with a better selection. All in all a good stay and I would return to the Protea Entebbe

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    99
    45
    8
    6
See reviews for
22
41
12
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

we where looking for a place to relax after a 3 week stay in east africa. the protea hotel was the perfect place. the staff is nice and helpful, the food is great and just 5 minutes from the airport. the general manager cymon was very helpful with us. its worth the stop

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jf3806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear jf3806, Thank you for your feedback received. It was a pleasure hosting you on the last part of your Africa experience. We trust you had an uneventful trip back to Montreal. Kind regards Cymon Charnley – cymon@proteaebb.co.ug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

As a regular traveller to Uganda, and having stayed at some of the best hotels on offer, Protea Entebbe is not only faultless, but tranquil, perfectly situated, excellent staff, and excellent food, best beach access, making this an extremely good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and get a room with a lake view, extremely well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maistryj2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Maistryj2810,
Thank you for your feedback received. it is most rewarding, to comunicate such positive GUEST feedback to the TEAM. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Uganda. Kind regards Cymon Charnley - cymon@proteaebb.co.ug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed my time at the Protea Hotel in Entebbe. However, when comparing it to the Protea at Kampala, the Entebbe's Hotel is far away from its Kampala sibling.
The hotel's infrastructure is very nice; rooms are comfortable and nicely equiped, lobby and restaurant are also nice. I mainly came because I wanted a swimming pool but the rainy season just started and was not able to even visit it.
The food was not as good as the one in Kampala. And if referring to a 4 and 5 star hotel, the food and menu at this hotel were far from that. The chicken's flavor was not good and it was stiff. However, they had fish and it was really good. But just the type and quality of the food was average for Ugandan standards which aren't really high.
Service: lame. I was greeted at the front desk by a nice lady who charged my credit card and sent me to my room by myself. No bell boy to show me where my room was, the gym, restaurant, and other hotel facilities.
When I got to my room both the air conditioning and tv remote controls were not working.
During my breakfast time, i sat there waiting for someone to offer me coffee but it never happened. When I was done, I had to go to the manager and ask to get coffee.
Waiters were eagerly awaiting a tip for not doing much. In Uganda, you do not usually tip unless service is exceptionally good. But in this hotel, they were waiting for the tip.
It just didn't make it for me.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ximena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear mximedc, Thank you for your feedback received. We are truly saddened that we did not meet with your expectations whilst staying with us. Whilst we are confident that we have addressed downfalls that you indicated, we would welcome the opportunity to review your experiences in person, during your next stay with us. I look forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back to the Protea hotel Entebbe. Kind regards Cymon Charnley – cymon@proteaebb.co.ug
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

What a lovely experience, after the hustle and bustle of Kampala to be treated to a suite at the Protea Entebbe. Great rooms, friendly staff, good food, and going to sleep to the sound of waves lapping outside the room.

Room Tip: book water front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kampala, Uganda
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We spent the night before leaving on an early morning flight. Room was very big, everything you need supplied and very comfortable stay. Convenient for those early morning red eye flights and the staff was pretty helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TracyH630909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I popped into the hotel for a snack after visiting the zoo nearby and was astonished by the standard of food, and the excellent service (normally languid, verging on static, in Uganda.) I had a fabulous sandwich, which tasted like it had been made in a five star French hotel, and my companions had samosas,which they said were superb. If the hotel is as good as its snacks then it is a treat.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the public beach, which stages non stop parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
3.0 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
282 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
64 reviews
1.6 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Hotel Entebbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#7 of 30 in Entebbe
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Imperial Golf View Hotel
Imperial Golf View Hotel
#13 of 30 in Entebbe
55 reviews
1.3 mi away
Imperial Resort Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Address: 36-40 Sebugwawo Drive | Entebbe Road, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Protea Hotel Entebbe)
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Entebbe is ideally located on the glistening shores of Lake Victoria a convenient 1km from Entebbe International Airport. Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Entebbe's trendy restaurant, Tides, is a must visit, offering an exciting and truly inviting a la carte menu 7 days a week. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, specialties include fresh Tilapia and Nile Perch. Daily specials are also a firm favorite with locals and tourists alike. After a busy day, the Agama Terrace or Pool Bar with its own special ambience and uninterrupted lake views, the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions include the Entebbe Golf Club, Botanical Gardens, Mabamba Swamps and Uganda Wildlife Education Center. As part of the education center day trips can be arranged to Ngamba Island Chimpanzee Sanctuary, Ssese Island Trips, Fishing trips for Nile Perch - the largest fresh water game fish in the world or sunset cruises for the less adventurous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Marriott and Cancelon so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing