We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view and close to the Airport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very nice hotel with great pool and outdoor activities. Also very close to the beach of the lake Victoria. Big rooms and very clean. Polite personnel and good food. Wi-fi connection was very poor. Outside area is decorated with different type of trees and other plants. Enjoying the morning coffee with great view from the balcony. Hotel is located close to the airport and also provides a free transportation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank borce_gv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Protea is very convenient when you have a 12-hour layover (like I did) and have a (justifiable) fear of getting stuck in Kampala traffic so want to avoid town. The Protea provides a free shuttle to and from the airport and a nice pool. Rooms are large, clean, and modern with lots of different cable TV channels, shower with good water pressure, and a/c for those who want it. There are lots of spaces where you can sit and have a coffee or a drink, and the food is good. It may not be the cheapest hotel for a day room, but depending on where you are coming from this is a hotel with all the amenities you may have been missing while traveling elsewhere...starting with a welcome drink upon check-in.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolielaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

they forgot our wake-up call, which isn't good. Room was huge, so big that remote control for the tv didn't work from the bed - uggghh. We arrived late and left early, so never saw hotel during daylight. Likely far from Entebbe city - but likely good business hotel and for airport layovers. Hard mattress, shower leaked a bit on floor. Basic room, nicely appointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abmilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I live in Kampala and I stayed in Protea Entebe for my 51 years old birthday.

The experience was fantastic, it is ike being on the sea. The room was one of the best I have ever seen.
Meals, staff and excellent internet!!!!!

I will go back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Located in close proximity to Entebbe international airport on the bank of the Lake Victoria. Good quality services, decent room, clean venues. Food is OK but menu can be changed more often. Swimming pool is excellent. Try to get room next to swimming pool. Both floors are OK. Recommended!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Dear Ru S, Thank your for taking the time to complete your trip advisor feedback. We are pleased to advise that your feedback was most certainly noticed and that we have since launched our new a la Carte menu together with a weekly specials menu. We look forward to hearing from you during your next stay In Entebbe.
Kind regards
Cymon Charnley
cymon@proteaebb.co.ug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Excellent food nice rooms but internet connectivity is worst .Staff is friendly .Little far from city .
costly .Large rooms, fantastic pool and always great service from the willing, friendly staff...

Room Tip: Ask for lake view rooms ,the view from 107 is awesome .Try IT
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahji2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Dear Shahji2014, Thank you for your feedback received regarding your experiences during your stay with us. We wish to assure you that your feedback about our internet was and is viewed in a serious light. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that this caused you during your stay with us. I can confirm however that we have addressed our internet distribution throughout the property and with the exception of general internet issues that effect the country as a whole, we have applied the necessary corrective action to rectify the shortcomings.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us. Should you require any further assistance from our side, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

King regards,

Cymon Charnley
General Manager
cymon@proteaebb.co.ug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I went to Entebbe hotel which is situated on the coast of Victoria lake and 10 minutes far from the airport ,friendly atmosphere, good food and amazing views. Perfect both for tourist and business meetings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenmage2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cymon C, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2014

Dear Greenmage2013,
Thank you for your feedback received on Tripadvisor. We look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Uganda.
Kind regards
Cymon Charnley
cymon@proteaebb.co.ug

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entebbe
3.0 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
286 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Hotel Entebbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#7 of 30 in Entebbe
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Imperial Golf View Hotel
Imperial Golf View Hotel
#13 of 30 in Entebbe
56 reviews
14.8 mi away
Lake Victoria Serena Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe

Address: 36-40 Sebugwawo Drive | Entebbe Road, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Protea Hotel Entebbe)
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Price Range: £149 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Entebbe is ideally located on the glistening shores of Lake Victoria a convenient 1km from Entebbe International Airport. Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Entebbe's trendy restaurant, Tides, is a must visit, offering an exciting and truly inviting a la carte menu 7 days a week. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, specialties include fresh Tilapia and Nile Perch. Daily specials are also a firm favorite with locals and tourists alike. After a busy day, the Agama Terrace or Pool Bar with its own special ambience and uninterrupted lake views, the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions include the Entebbe Golf Club, Botanical Gardens, Mabamba Swamps and Uganda Wildlife Education Center. As part of the education center day trips can be arranged to Ngamba Island Chimpanzee Sanctuary, Ssese Island Trips, Fishing trips for Nile Perch - the largest fresh water game fish in the world or sunset cruises for the less adventurous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Marriott, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing