We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Stay”
Reviewed 30 October 2011

While the rooms could certainly use some updating, it was overall a very enjoyable stay. The grounds are great. The biggest complaint I had with the room itself was a clogged shower drain. I very much enjoyed the pool, patios, food, and the staff was very friendly. There was always bottled water waiting in the room and the location worked very well for us. I would stay here again, but I must admit it was the only place we stayed in Entebbe so I don't know what the rest of the city has to offer.

Room Tip: Courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    104
    76
    23
    17
See reviews for
17
41
25
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the first and last nights of our Uganda tour as it is convenient for the airport.
Our rooms were average size with large, comfortable double beds. There were bedside tables, a wardrobe, a desk, flat screen tv, wi-fi and aircon. The rooms were clean and pleasantly decorated. The bathrooms were large, clean and modern. The TV had plenty of English language channels.
The second room had several lightbulbs missing, which reception promised to resolve while we ate dinner, but they were not replaced.
Breakfast was self service and had a good choice of hot and cold food. There was an 'egg chef' if you wanted freshly cooked eggs.
Dinner the first time took 90 minutes to get a main course. There were many items missing off the menu. When the food arrived, most of it was cold and not very tasty. On the second night, at the end of our tour, they did slightly better, but we would still not recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorfolkNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgan Hill, CA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Living in Kampala with not much to do, this hotel is a great day trip. The pool is one of the cleanest I have seen in Uganda. It is very large and has 3 platform dives, the highest is 9.2 meters. 10,000 UGS for adult swim, and 5,000 UGS for kids it's a very affordable family day out. Restaurant will serve you poolside for lunch. Have never stayed at the hotel, but we visit quite often for swimming and restaurant to and from airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debo-ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2011

This hotel lies near the banks of lake Victoria, next to a large golf course. The hotel is clean, tranquil, has a fabulous pool and everything you could possibly want. Why travel all the way to Kampala if you can stay near the lake. There is free wifi throughout the hotel, which is an added advantage.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alexandercase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Although recently refurbished still looks dated. Rooms are ok, but always seemed to have something not working, lightbulbs, internet connection, toilet, taps etc. Service really variable, some staff really friendly and go out of their way to help, others truly awful, very slow restaurant service. Expensive for what you get

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suziirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Entebbe hotels

Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Read the bad reviews about the hotel and was pretty put off. Those old reviews are truly wrong. The hotel is clean and comfortable. Good TV, good internet and the food was quite good. Golf course next door. Pool was perfect. Gym a bit tired out but good enough.

I have stayed at hotels all over Africa, wish they were as good as the Lake Victoria.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichiganTraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2010

Where to begin? There are so many things wrong...

So, the Lake Victoria is very convenient for Entebbe airport. So that's a plus (it's one of the few plus points, believe me).

Check-in was very odd. Fill in a form at one desk. Take it to payment window. Payment window person checks, then comes out from around payment window to use the credit card machine. Slightly farcical. But hey, it was very late when I arrived and I was tired. The first thing I notice though was the sheer number of lake flies and mosquitos. Mostly lake flies I think but the cieling was moving with them. But it's near the lake so to be expected?

Room was very large but very strange mould/mildew smell. The bathroom was very large but there was a strange drain/sewer smell which never went away during my 4 days. All kept very clean though so don't know where the smell was coming from. It was a wet-room set up for the bathroom. The hot water never really got hot. When I was there the water was switched off twice for a few hours and the pool has been under reconstruction for several months. No date for when this would be finished.

Price included breakfast. Really terrible stuff though. I tried a bit of everything but nothing tasted good. Scrambled eggs were the most edible to me. All the pastries were strange and kind of stale. Orange juice was cordial, not the fresh kind. Got some instant coffee on the first day and then some better stuff. They have an espresso machine but they don't switch it on in the morning. And anyway the coffee wasn't cheap.

Undettered, I went for the dinner buffet that evening. It wasn't awful but I didn't want to go back for seconds.... Bar was pleasent upstairs but wasn't sure about some of the non-resident guests....

Service was very patchy. Orders wrong, gone astray etc. Staff generally cheery though and there were one or two really efficient staff members. Took me three days to get a remote control with working batteries. Annoying as when you're tucked under your mosquito net, it's a pain to get up and change etc.

No mosquito nets provided but had brought my own. There were definitely flying creatures in my room but couldn't say if lake flies or mosquitos. It's not really worth the risk and thought it strange that they didn't provide any. My room door didn't actually close flush with the frame and you could see light when the room was dark so flies could definitely get in there.

Finally, terrible fiasco trying to settle my bill. I noticed they had charged things to my room with dates before I had actually checked in! The slips had quite clearly been signed by someone else with a different room number and printed name so I have no idea why they put them on my bill. Anyway, they couldn't get the card machine to work so next morning with my early check out, we tried again. After 20 minutes I insisted that I paid with the old style carbon sheets and the payment lady reluctantly phoned for authorisation. Kind of summed up the stay really.

Terrible internet connection too. Only really available on the terrace (brave the flies, the BBQ smoke - extraordinary). I took an internet cable but the connection was painfully slow.

Ate well at Boma guesthouse and Goretti's pizzeria. Hotel called taxis very promptly.

I hesitated before giving it 1 out of 5 (it might be a 2). It's a shame because it obviously has potential and could be really good. Maybe if the pool had been working I would have given another mark. And it's busy: there are quite a few people staying there but might have been part of a safari package.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenr35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalesEntebbe, Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2010
The management of Laico Lake Victoria Hotel wishes to appreciate all individuals who have posted their opiniona and comments onto TripAdvisor and we have taken all the comments positively. We regret that over the recent years most of our guests have been inconvinienced by the just recently concluded renovation excercise, which was an inevitable venture since we had to upgrade the hotel so that we can provide all of you a better and improved service. Indeed, all the works have just been concluded with the swimming pool which is now fully operational. We have equally re-trained our staff and greatly improved our service delivery. We want to assure all of you who plan or intend to stay at Laico Lake Victoria Hotel that this time you will experince, in totality, a different feel and atmosphere and more especially now that the hotel is being run by the Laico chain of hotels and resorts which also owns other hotels accross Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.4 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
269 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
0.1 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#7 of 30 in Entebbe
52 reviews
0.7 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#5 of 30 in Entebbe
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Golf View Hotel
Imperial Golf View Hotel
#12 of 30 in Entebbe
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel

Property: LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Address: Plot 23-31, Circular Road, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Windsor Lake Victoria Hotel)
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and elegant, the Lake Victoria lovely hotel nestles in well-manicured, palm-studded Step over the threshold of Lake Victoria Hotel into an Oasis of tranquility in classic colonial style. Tropical gardens with verandahs and terraces overlooking the calm beauty of Lake Victoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laico Lake Victoria Entebbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing