We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Strood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This was our first hotel on our holiday in Uganda and the first impressions were quite good. The hotel was clean with a good swimming pool area. The rooms were clean and a good size with a large bathroom. However even though we had a no smoking room there was a strong smell of smoke in the hotel corridors. And the food and service were terrible. The menu was depressing and pretty much everything came with chips. We were hoping for traditional African food but it was totally westernised. The service was excruciatingly slow and the lunch was very poor. We ate at a different hotel (Boma Lodge) in the evening and wished we had stayed there instead. Lovely guesthouse and a great food.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    100
    75
    23
    17
See reviews for
16
41
25
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is nice and specially I enjoyed the swimming pool. The rooms are clean. There is no wifi at the rooms, only cable connection which is very slow. The staff is very slow (room service, reception, cashier, restaurant...). The food is quite good. From my experience it's a bit expensive for what is offered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guiomarps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Generally ok, comfortable, far better than the other big Kampala and Entebbe hotels, but pretty impersonal and staff, though friendly, not too good at getting things corrected/repaired/replaced when something goes wrong. As noted elsewhere, checkout is quite a slow ordeal which should be organised with plenty of time to spare! Very good evening buffets and new swimming pool area impressive (draws lots of dip/UN families from Kampala at the weekends). Permanent cliques of UN/airline staff make a lone long-term visitor feel quite lonely!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidNor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here for 9 days with a group of 7 colleagues. The hotel itself is quite nice, in a good location with clean and comfortable rooms.
Service, from food service in the restaurant to getting your final bill on check-out, is excruciatingly slow and terribly inefficient. The hotel serves as a long-term base for a certain airline company that houses a large number of pilots, flight attendants, engineers, dispatchers etc at the place. This company's crew act as if they own the hotel, and make a lot of noise. While we were there, they held two raucous parties over the weekend that involved lots of loud music, screaming and shouting and running up and down the corridors at 2 a.m., hammering on doors and going for midnight swims. A complaint to the hotel management yielded lots of sympathetic head-nodding and promises to sort the issue out, but nothing was done.
Be careful when booking. The hotel booked us into so-called 'executive' rooms, but stuck 5 of our group into 'standard' rooms on check-in and still charged us for the executive rooms. They say that you are charged according to your booking, but could not answer why they put part of our group into standard rooms despite the 'executive' booking.
I would avoid this hotel if possible.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saffer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

I've stayed in three different places in Entebbe, and this is by far and away the one that would come close to a definition of luxurious. There were terrible power outages in Entebbe in October, yet this place kept everything running... except the wifi. This wasn't that big a deal to me. The staff are very friendly, and I found efficient. The breakfast is good, but I didn't eat in the restaurant, so can't comment here.
The rooms are clean, the a/c worked. If you want to be very comfortable, then this is a really good choice. It's not really an authentic Ugandan experience, but sometimes that's what you want (especially after a lot of time on the red dusty roads of this beautiful country)...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sussexgirliegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

While the rooms could certainly use some updating, it was overall a very enjoyable stay. The grounds are great. The biggest complaint I had with the room itself was a clogged shower drain. I very much enjoyed the pool, patios, food, and the staff was very friendly. There was always bottled water waiting in the room and the location worked very well for us. I would stay here again, but I must admit it was the only place we stayed in Entebbe so I don't know what the rest of the city has to offer.

Room Tip: Courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We stayed at this hotel on the first and last nights of our Uganda tour as it is convenient for the airport.
Our rooms were average size with large, comfortable double beds. There were bedside tables, a wardrobe, a desk, flat screen tv, wi-fi and aircon. The rooms were clean and pleasantly decorated. The bathrooms were large, clean and modern. The TV had plenty of English language channels.
The second room had several lightbulbs missing, which reception promised to resolve while we ate dinner, but they were not replaced.
Breakfast was self service and had a good choice of hot and cold food. There was an 'egg chef' if you wanted freshly cooked eggs.
Dinner the first time took 90 minutes to get a main course. There were many items missing off the menu. When the food arrived, most of it was cold and not very tasty. On the second night, at the end of our tour, they did slightly better, but we would still not recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorfolkNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
1.4 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#8 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#9 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.7 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#5 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Golf View Hotel
Imperial Golf View Hotel
#12 of 30 in Entebbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel

Property: LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Address: Plot 23-31, Circular Road, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Windsor Lake Victoria Hotel)
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and elegant, the Lake Victoria lovely hotel nestles in well-manicured, palm-studded Step over the threshold of Lake Victoria Hotel into an Oasis of tranquility in classic colonial style. Tropical gardens with verandahs and terraces overlooking the calm beauty of Lake Victoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Fastbooking, Jovago.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laico Lake Victoria Entebbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing