We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenient location”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Fairly close to the airport. Rooms are average. Pool area looked nice. Prices for the spa were very reasonable. Unfortunately, we did not have an opportunity to schedule an appointment. Food was below average. Service in the restaurant was good--no delays I read about in other reviews.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    104
    78
    23
    17
See reviews for
17
41
25
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We began and ended our Uganda adventure at this location due to its proximity to the airport. The first time the food was fine, the room was okay. When we returned for our last night, our bathroom door didn't close, the bathroom fan made a horrendous noise and the staff really didn't care. As I waited to turn in my key I witnessed them all standing doing nothing while the phone rang. By the time they bothered to pick it up, it was obvious the answering service did this. They have security going in due to the UN presence in the area, and we were told that if we wished to walk outside the property to leave all items behind - to me that means it's not safe.

Room Tip: Be careful as opening curtain for some rooms allows people wandering perpendicular halls to look ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandaPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

First the good things:

- The pool area is really nice, and the pool is big. Busy on sundays with locals, but the whole week it's really nice and quiet.
- The resturant by the pool is a nice way to get lost in a book and a cold beer, which there is a decent selection of.
- The rooms are mostly shielded from road noise and it's quiet, with the exception of the rooms all the way back in the new addition which faces a nightclub that makes sleeping interesting on weekends.

Then there's all the rest.

- Hygiene in the bar and kitchen area is horrible. Most glasses and dishes in the bar are usually done in luke warm water by wait staff. The same dish rags used all day and usually left soggy in a sink untill needed. The breakfast area specializes in undercooked meats, and a lot of food from the kitchen is undercooked. Most trips here have had it's share of procelain bound reading time.
- A lot of the rooms have mold issues in the air conditioning units or along the floors.
- Bathrooms have ventialtion units, usually they just pull in foul air from the drains.
- The internet connectivity is mostly not working.
- Staff can be excellent when you catch them on a good day, but most time dont expect a warm attitude and prompt service.

All in all: so much potential, only to yield to such a pervasive lack of interest in keeping the place in shape.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room in the new wing, never take a no for a no and persist. Like most service relat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itmech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Entebbe hotels

Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I stayed a week in the Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel. It was actually one of the overflow hotels for the Protea which is where our conference was held. The hotel is large and spread out but only has two floors. It is old and as such has a little bit of a musky smell. The carpets were a little worn and had some stains and the walls were in need of a fresh coat of paint. My bedroom was small compared to all other hotels I have stayed in but the bathroom was nice. The air conditioning worked great! Breakfast was good but you had to get your own coffee and if you wanted to sit on the porch to eat you had to get your own place setting. The hotel has a great pool and the landscaping is beautiful. The staff members were polite. I would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the lobby as this hotel is rather spread out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMMUTTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Laico Lake victoria hotel is just less than 10km from the airport. i stayed there for 3 nights and doing business at Protea hotel which is just a one Km from the airport. i had a chance of seeing the room at protea and compare with laico. Protea has clean spacious room compared to Laico. in laico the rooms are clean but supplies one has to like beg to have them. if you need coffeee in the room at laico soorry no kettle if you get they will charge you for the ingrediates. at protea all that is complemetary. the good thing with laico they have complementary wiffi wich is of poor signal and a spacious swiming pool for residents

Room Tip: the room i was on the ground fllor though i dont like ground fllor but was not noicy like that of my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibutus L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We recently flew into Entebbe and needed a hotel while waiting for a safari trip. It's location is convenient, only 10 minutes for the airport and an easy walk into town. However, don't be confused, it is not directly on Lake Victoria. The hotel grounds were beautiful, with a large swimming pool and nice pool side patio area. The room was average, at best, especially given the room rates. The rooms were clean but a little worn (our room was fairly small). The breakfast was good with a lot of selections (great coffee). I would recommend a walk to town to see the botanical garden (get the guidied tour, well worth the $5). One note: the credit card machine was "broke" which is a very common occurance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altanta
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I stayed at the LAICO Lake Victoria while attending a meeting at the nearby Protea Entebbe Hotel, so have some ability to compare the two. Both have good locations near the airport, although the Protea was so close to the UN airstrip, there was occaisionally problem with noise. The rooms at the Protea were quite moden and very spacious with balconies that had great lake views. The rooms at the Lake Victoria were older and smaller, but clean and comfortable. The Lake Vic is further from the lake, but the grounds are lovely. I had trouble with the air con for one night of my stay, but just opened the windows. I reported the problem when I left my room in the morning, and it was fixed when I returned at the end of the day. The breakfast buffet at both hotels was quite complete, with a mix of hot and cold items, including eggs cooked to order. Both hotels have pools, but the Lake Victoria pool was much bigger with cabanas and very nice poolside food and drink service. At the Lake VIc, local residents can access the pool if they are members, so it was really busy on the weekend. For me, this made it more fun and wasn't too crowded. In general, the Lake Victoria seemed to be more active--with more people at the bars and in the restaurants and I preferred this more sociable environment compared to the very quiet Protea. When not eating off the buffet, the service could be quite slow at both hotels but comparatively, I think the service was better at the Lake Vic. Money change and use of credit cards was challenging at both (the Lake Vic would only change $10USD at a time; the Protea did not have a limit, but was out of Ugandan shillings most of the week that I was there). in general in Uganda, only new bills will be accepted and an small tear or mark can lead to rejection. Easier just to use an ATM. The prices in the shops in both hotels were very high. I used the travel agent booking service at the Lake Victoria and was quite satisfied with service, quality and price ($80 for round trip car service to Kampala on a very busy Friday evening, $20 for one day car service around Entebbe, $70 for sunset cruise with drinks and snacks, $50 half-day trip to Mabamba Swamp to view the shoebill storks). Both hotels offer free transfers to and from the airport and are very helpful in calling cabs or using the hotel car (for a fee) to transport you as needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yifeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.4 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#10 of 30 in Entebbe
55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#5 of 30 in Entebbe
91 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Golf View Hotel
Imperial Golf View Hotel
#12 of 30 in Entebbe
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel

Property: LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Address: Plot 23-31, Circular Road, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Windsor Lake Victoria Hotel)
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and elegant, the Lake Victoria lovely hotel nestles in well-manicured, palm-studded Step over the threshold of Lake Victoria Hotel into an Oasis of tranquility in classic colonial style. Tropical gardens with verandahs and terraces overlooking the calm beauty of Lake Victoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laico Lake Victoria Entebbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing