We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Entebbe
Entebbe, Uganda
Level Contributor
176 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Needs improvement”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Got picked-up at the airport and brought to the hotel after staff wasted 30min looking for a guest who didn't show.

Check-in was an experience with you filling-in a form and then bringing it to the cashier's cubby hole to pay, then bringing the receipt back before you get your key. Somebody look at the productivity and efficiency!

Bellhop brings you and your bags to your room via not so bright corridors. You see your room - and... It could have been bigger. Two bags make the room a bit cramp. A bottle of water, an empty fridge, a tiny TV, a safe, then the toilet (which looked quite clean).

Ordering food takes quite a while at the restaurant, nothing really special in terms of taste.

Breakfast was quite a spread but again, nothing special.

Check-out also was also the same as the check-in process.

Nice pool.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank edfaigmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Edfaigmane,

Thank you so much for your comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.
I disused it with my team for each point in your comments and for improvement the quality in the hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,
Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    103
    76
    23
    17
See reviews for
17
41
25
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

There must be something good seeing all the UN and expats milling about and enjoying the pool and facilities. Certainly the ambiance and food was pleasant and the overall memory was pleasant. Would I stay there if it wasn't for its location near the airport? - No. But better that the Protea down the road.
The room (stayed two nights in different stays) was sold as executive. The bedroom portion was challenged for space - hate to see the "lesser" rooms. The bathroom was spacious and had a bidet (that I could not imagine being of much use but what do I know??). Hot water and a towel (don't expect more). There was even a dressing gown that had seen many better days. No tea or coffee facility in the room - almost a must for me. Bed ok - king more like a double but I was alone so it was fine.
The rooms lead off long dark passages that reminded me of a labyrinth. Both times I stayed I was off one of these passages and each time I took wrong turns to eventually find the exit.
The shuttle to and from the airport was very efficient and a big plus for the hotel.
Service at dinner was an optional extra. Maybe the UN/ Expat brigade sit around not eating or drinking or so you would think judging by the extent of pleas made to be served. Maybe they knew there was nowhere else that we could go and they were having bets as to how long we would endure the lack of attention. Management was invisible so no use complaining.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the pool area. There are no other rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Rob N,

Thank you so much for your comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.
I disused all with my team for each point in your comments and for improvement the quality in the hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,
Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Was very comfortable and happy staying at this hotel for a business trip. Very good value, well-appointed, clean room. Extensive menu for lunch and dinner, and lots of choices at breakfast buffet. It is a large property so odds are you'll be walking a lot to get to the lobby and common rooms, but it is great to stretch one's legs on a business trip when seated most of the day anyway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N_bay_tk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear N_bay_tk,

Thank you so much for your comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,
Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Entebbe, Uganda
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The rules are simple:

1/ Bet how long it takes to be served at the Terrace Restaurant;
2/ Then again for how long the order will take to be delivered;
3/ And finally for whether what you're presented with is exactly what you'd ordered.

Having said that, there are occasions when the service is faultless, so I don't really understand how the standards can vary so much. Like everywhere, I guess it comes down to the calibre of individual staff, the quality of training and their receptiveness to it.

In fairness, when things work well it's fine and no complaints whatsoever. Just the consistency of service delivery.

Can't comment on the rooms etc.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobUganda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Rob,

Thank you so much for your comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.
I disused it with my team from point to point in your comments and for improvement the quality of service in the hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,
Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portales
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I enjoyed my short stay at the Lake Vic. The room while not large, was clean and quiet even though it fronted the pool. It is very much a European type room with adjoined twin beds but the bathroom was large, modern and had a full tub. The pool is huge and has diving platforms. All the nice hotels in Entebbe are not inexpensive but the Lake Vic has a few things in it's favor, such as location/easy access to the airport, a decent restaurant with outdoor seating to people and pool watch, and lounge spaces. Also they are very polite and professional.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Paolo D,

Thank you so much for your comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,
Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
261 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel is very pleasant - a good bar, decent food and a large swimming pool. Service from the staff was very good and friendly.
The transfer service to and from the airport was efficient and ran early morning (06:00) too.

The room was large enough and well equipped. A local newspapers was also provided every day. The only problem with the room was the corridor and room had a slight musty smell - as if the room had been out of use for a while. On the other hand, as the room looked out onto the closed courtyard, the windows could be left open at night behind good mosquito screens.

Room Tip: Try and get a room looking out over the closed courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Adrian Y,

Thank you so much for your comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.
I disused it with my team for each point in your comments and for improvement on the quality in the hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,
Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

This place is great for a stop over while passing through Entebbe. Nothing spectacular, just average.

Location. Conveniently located near the airport, it takes 10 mins and they run a shuttle service.

Buildings. The buildings are clean and tidy, but no effort seems to be made to make it anything other than average. Most walls are bare with no character. The pool is great.

Accommodation. Reasonably sized rooms.

Food. The food seems good, I especially enjoyed the brochettes. The ice cream was poor, home made, but just not made well, however this is Africa.

Drink. All of the usual fare that you would expect.

Staff. The staff are polite and helpful; no complaints.

Summary. Very average with no complaints. A must if it is a late flight and don't want to drive to Kampala in the dark.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lloydhankins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaicoLakeVictoria, General Manager at LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Lloydhankins,

Thank you so much for your comments and your stay with us at Laico lake Victoria Hotel.
I disused it with my team for each point in your comments and for improvement the quality in the hotel.
I hope to welcome you again at the hotel and please do not hesitate to contact me "gm@laico-lakevictoria.com".

Best regards,

Marc Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
1.4 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#7 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#9 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.7 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#5 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Golf View Hotel
Imperial Golf View Hotel
#12 of 30 in Entebbe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel

Property: LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Address: Plot 23-31, Circular Road, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Windsor Lake Victoria Hotel)
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious and elegant, the Lake Victoria lovely hotel nestles in well-manicured, palm-studded Step over the threshold of Lake Victoria Hotel into an Oasis of tranquility in classic colonial style. Tropical gardens with verandahs and terraces overlooking the calm beauty of Lake Victoria Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Jovago.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laico Lake Victoria Entebbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing