We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great little boutique hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Boma
Ranked #1 of 51 Entebbe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great little boutique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2011

Lovely colonial style place with some nice touches close to airport so ideal for start / end of travel in Uganda / East Africa. Great pool, great food, good understated service all with lovely tropical gardens in a safe environment. Can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: Ask for room in main house - they seemed larger
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ben101London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    134
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
165
83
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

a great quiet little place to stay...good service and close to airport for transfers on either end of your Ugandan trip. Would definitely recommend this to others and would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kfitzgerald3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riethoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

We loved our stay at the Boma. The rooms are spacious. The gardens are very nice with a lot of birds (you can start your birding tour right here). The hotel is conveniently located close to the airport and they will arrange for free airport transfers.
At our last day, we had to check out in the morning, but, because of our nightly flight, we could spend our complete day at the hotel's grounds and freely use the nice swimming pool and gardens and also use the shower before leaving. The staff is really good and helpfull, they take good care of you and take action whenever needed. We enjoyed having WIFI available, but also you can use the laptop they have in the lobby and print your boardingpasses (for free).
The restaurant is very good and open all day, with friendly and quick service. We loved the fillet steak.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank_Astrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Errol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

We landed in Entebbe on Turkish Airlines at 2am so by the time we had cleared immigration, collected our luggage and met our guide, it was closer to 3am before we pulled into the drive of Boma Guest House, despite it only being literally ten minutes drive from the airport. We were then collected again at 8am to depart for our tour of Western Uganda so the first stay was very brief indeed. Despite the unsociable hour, we were met at reception by the duty night manager and shown quickly to our room and left to catch whatever sleep we could. We grabbed a quick breakfast at 7am and headed off.

Fortunately, we were also staying in Boma for one night on our return from touring Western Uganda before flying out of Entebbe so we were able to arrive in daylight the second time around and get a chance to relax at the pool and have dinner. Everything gets the thumbs up, very comfortable rooms, clean, good showers, plenty of fans which preclude the need for A/C in February. Don't get me wrong, yes it's basic. but quite frankly it's all you need and is the perfect introduction to life in Uganda. The dinner was very good, wide choice of heavier meals for the hungrier types through to snacks and toasted sandwiches for those with smaller appetites.

The food and drink is incredibly reasonably priced to the point where you think they've missed off half your bar bill. We would be happy to recommend this to anyone needing a stopover via the airport - a very nice introduction and last rest stop in Uganda.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

I was booked to stay at the Lake Victoria Hotel but after reading some of the reviews on here I got my agent World Primate Safaris to change my first night to the Boma which was a great decision.
Lovely setting very nice rooms, clean and comfortable double bed. Nice extra touches like toiletries, very reasonable food and drink prices and lovely very helpful staff. As a single female traveller yet to meet the safari group I would be joining it was ideal, I did not feel uncomfortable at all. Free wifi as well
I cannot think of anything negative to say and would recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brumfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2011

If you arrive in Uganda you don't want to travel for hours to your hotel. This hotel is only 5 minutes drive from the airport so that's great.
The hotel is nice. The staff is very friendly and the food is also good.
The rooms are good but not great.
A minor point is that you hear the airplanes landing and taking off at night.
This hotel is a good starting point for your trip in Uganda.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantalremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2011

Wow,
What a great introduction to Uganda. A lovely, secure garden oasis only minutes from Entebbe International airport. We flew in early morning and, as arranged by email, were met at customs by our driver with a sign with our name and the hotel. We were driven to this lovely, simple hotel to await our daughter very late evening flight. They also sent a car and driver for her and all this is included in the price!
The hotel has a lovely pool and flexible meal times for dinner, lunch or breakfast.

They also accommodated our very early (4am) departure on a subsequent stay.
Fabulous staff! My husband forgot his kindle and they emailed us at once, we picked it up upon our return.

Will always stay here when in transit!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enigmander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.6 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#7 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
0.2 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
0.5 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#4 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma

Property: The Boma
Address: Plot 20A, Gowers Road, Entebbe, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boma is Entebbe’s original and most exclusive hotel, set in tropical gardens in a leafy suburb, a few minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport. Our rooms combine today’s modern comforts one with the charm and character of the original 1940's homestead. Our staff and management team ensure guests receive a personable service and enjoy hospitality standards which are in keeping with the tradition of this charming lake shore town. Rates include B&B and airport transfers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boma Hotel Entebbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing