We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Entebbe”
Review of The Boma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Boma
Ranked #1 of 74 Entebbe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Great place to break the madness traveling to Airport. Great place to get away from Kampala for the weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LetsBeFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

410 - 416 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

We really enjoyed staying at The Boma and will return in the future, they were very warm and welcoming, the Owner sat and spoke with us while we waited for our room,(we arrived early) and told us about some of her adventures in Uganda. The Boma feels like you are in the middle Africa, just being there makes you think about the many travelers before you and there adventures. We ate dinner there as well and the service was great, the food was well prepared and delicious. Its in town but quiet, short distance to the Zoo and other attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our tour companions were booked at the Boma whereas we were unlucky enough to be booked at the Lake Victoria instead. As the food and service there were so abysmal we joined our friends at the Boma for dinner. We are so glad we did. The staff could not have been more welcoming and the food was some of the best we had all holiday. We sampled three different types of curry between us and every one of us loved them - not a bit was left by any of us. We were shown round whilst we were there and the whole place had a wonderful feel to it, it had a beautiful garden and swimming pool area and the rooms were just right for the environment. We so wished we had been put there too and would definitely ask to stay there if we are ever back in Entebbe.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Like many before us we stayed at the Boma before joining and after completing a tour. We were met at the airport and after checking in found the little extras that make this place a pleasure to stay - shampoo and conditioner nicely botlled and labelled for immediate use in the sunshine shower. The four poster bed with mosquito net was large and at first we found the mattrass hard, but we found that most hotels in Uganda seem to have rather firm mattrasses.
We found the idea of having coffee / tea waiting at breakfast before getting our own pot a good idea - no waiting if you crave your first cup. Cereal, yoghurt, fruit, croissant and muffins before your choice of cooked breakfast is more than adequate to start the day.
On our return visit we had a vase of fresh flowers in the room, which had a lovely corner balcony with views over the extensive gardens. We'd booked for day use as well and found it relaxing after a hard day at the pool before being taken to the airport for our return flight.
The staff were always courteous and helpful with information about shops and taxi costs for trips out.
Wifi worked during each visit, something that couldn't be said for other places we stayed at during our holiday.

Room Tip: room 2 has bath and separate shower as well as corner balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ineketom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Poor welcome.
Basic room. Nice rain shower but hard to arrange the water temperature. Small bathroom.
Good bed. Mosquito net. Television.
Lots of noise in the morning. Horrible breakfast. No good coffee.
But swimming pool is nice!
When returning to Entebbe, BB was overbooked, so we had to find another place (see review Gately Inn). Bad organisation, no apologies.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank C-L-Vanvaeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomaEntebbe, Owner at The Boma, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2012

It is imperative to respond to your above review as it is regrettably misleading in an important regard, to which I reply specifically in the first below paragraph.

We do not overbook at The Boma. Your tour company had booked 2 day-rooms for use from 11am until 5pm only. We had the rooms reserved and staff awaiting your arrival. Upon your arrival at 5 pm (which is the check out time for day-use), Grace at the front desk advised you that the check out time had already passed, and we had overnight guests about to arrive. She, nevertheless, was able to offer one room for your use until 8pm.
This offer was refused, whereupon Grace phoned your tour company to ask for guidance. Grace then helped to arrange the other accommodation for you.

While your positive observations are similar to those of the majority of guests who stay at The Boma, the negative ones are at variance. Accordingly, I would like to address each of them in order that matters are clarified.

The Quiet and Old Fashioned aspects of the Boma are considered by most reviewers to be among of the most attractive features of the place and accordingly we strive to maintain those elements.
The modern water mixer at the shower, which is a single control (in/out to control flow rate, left/right to vary temperature) is a standard hospitality industry unit and we are surprised that you found it difficult to use.
That you felt our breakfast and coffee to be horrible and no good respectively, comes as a complete surprise, as the high quality of our food and beverage is one of the most frequently mentioned features of The Boma in reviews. If, in your case, something went wrong on the day, (as unfortunately happens sometimes) the staff and management at Boma would certainly have addressed it and put it right if you had mentioned your dissatisfaction.

My staff and I intend that all our guests have a pleasant stay with us and we are all very disappointed to hear your negative comments.

Thank You
David Wood.
Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We had one night here on arrival in Uganda, and a shorter stay at the end of our trip, when we had a day room until we left for the airport.
This is a lovely small hotel, in beautiful grounds,a real oasis in Entebbe. It is peaceful and quiet, and we could happily have spent another day or so there, just relaxing and bird watching in the grounds. The room was simply furnished, but with everything one needed,and a big very clean bathroom,with abundant hot water. There is also a very welcome fan in the room, and the windows are meshed ,so that you can have them open at night.Outside there are porches,with comfortable seating areas for each room.
The pool area is comfortable, with lots of pool chairs.
The food here is very good indeed.(Residents have their own dining area ,away from the reception area, where non residents can have a meal, which is a nice idea.)The menu is varied and imaginative, and we enjoyed everything we had from an excellent fish curry, to delicious home made ice cream.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I highly recommend The Boma to anyone staying in Entebbe for either a short or long stay. If you’re looking for a large, fancy, impersonal hotel with sealed windows, this is not the place for you. But if you like a small hotel with friendly helpful staff, good meals, fresh air and the sound of birds in the trees, this is where you want to stay. The hotel compound is beautifully landscaped with lush plants and flowers and the bird life is abundant. The hotel consists of several house-sized buildings connected by charming bricked paths that pass through small garden areas. The rooms are adequately sized, very clean and tastefully decorated, with comfortable beds, a desk, TV, plentiful windows with screens and a programmable safe in each room for storing valuables when you are out and about town. Ensuite baths have either tub with handheld shower or stall shower. The water is solar heated and I found the hot water to be abundant at any time of day. No air conditioning, but each room has an electric fan that is adequate to keep the rooms from being too hot. The WIFI is free and accessible almost everywhere in the hotel buildings. Each room has a porch with comfy seating to enjoy the quiet garden atmosphere, sip some tea or a beer and just relax. The restaurant has seating in a covered patio in the front of the main building and also in the back of the compound in a covered patio overlooking the pool where residents are served a wonderful breakfast (included in the room price) and can also purchase lunch and dinner for very reasonable prices from an extensive menu. The Boma also provides free pickup/dropoff at the airport. I was working in Entebbe for 10 days with a break over the weekend for a short safari trip. As a woman travelling alone I wanted to be extra careful in choosing a guide and was pleased when The Boma staff recommended an excellent safari guide, Herbert Ddungu at africanmistsafari.com. Herbert was very knowledgeable about the wildlife, history and geography of Uganda and provided me an experience I will never forget. I found him to be a safe driver, very good at finding and spotting game, and excellent at birding. I recommend him to anyone wanting a safari guide in Uganda! My thanks to Seija and Bernie, and all the staff at The Boma for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Rooms in front may have nighttime noise due to late arrivals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MARY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Entebbe
1.6 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 33 in Entebbe
315 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
0.1 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 33 in Entebbe
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#7 of 33 in Entebbe
102 reviews
17.5 mi away
Cassia Lodge
Cassia Lodge
#4 of 107 in Kampala
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Karibu Entebbe
Karibu Entebbe
#1 of 33 in Entebbe
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma

Address: Plot 20A, Gowers Road, Entebbe, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Entebbe
Price Range: £64 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boma is Entebbe’s original and most exclusive hotel, set in tropical gardens in a leafy suburb, a few minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport. Our rooms combine today’s modern comforts one with the charm and character of the original 1940's homestead. Our staff and management team ensure guests receive a personable service and enjoy hospitality standards which are in keeping with the tradition of this charming lake shore town. Rates include B&B and airport transfers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boma Hotel Entebbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing