We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Boma - so restful!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Boma
Ranked #1 of 53 Entebbe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Boma - so restful!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I was in Uganda working for an NGO in Spring of 2014. Twice I was fortunate enough to stay! After working hard in rough conditions it was amazing to have a soft bed, warm shower and varied menu. The staff are pleasant and helpful. The rooms are spacious with colonial decor. I had to check out in the morning but was welcomed to stay and make use of the pool and lounges while waiting for my evening flight.
The prices are high by Ugandan standards but very reasonable by North American.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLKOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    137
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
170
83
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was my second stay, and is ideal as a stop over coming in or out of Entebbe airport.
This guest house has magnificent gardens, a pool, nice rooms with mosquito nets and decent wifi.
breakfast is as you would expect with cereals, fruits and cooked to order. The evening meals have a great choice and was great quality.
a large variety of birds frequent the gardens, with the best viewings in the mornings and evenings. several African Grey parrots frequent the area.
An enjoyable stay, and no doubt will be happy to stay again when next in Entebbe

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomaEntebbe, Manager at The Boma, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Joe,
Thanks for writing your review, and we are happy you have enjoyed staying with us!
Thanks for sharing your photos too, and good you got to appreciate some of the birdlife in the gardens.
Best regards from all of us here at The Boma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

... that´s what you will think remembering your stay at this hotel. Once you enter the gate, you´ll have your perfect island of vacation and comfort.

The rooms are really neat, spacious and aesthetically designed. Most of them have a porch where you can sit and relax. The hotel is arranged very nicely, like a garden with several little footways leading to your room, the pool, the restaurant.

The pool is really nice and clean, with comfortable sunloungers. The restaurant and its food is definitely a delight. From the included breakfast to the menu they offer for lunch and dinner, everything tastes really good and can be recommended.

The staff is very friendly and will always give you a helping hand. If you need a cap, they´ll organize it for you. (Do not forget to negotiate with the driver (!), paying 15$ for a 2km ride is way too much. It should be about 10000UGX.)

The Hotel is in walking distance to the most important places in Entebbe (Entebbe Zoo, the Botanical Gardens, Entebbe Town...). If you´d like to dine out, you can also walk to 4 Points Restaurant or Anna´s Corner from here.

To sum up, The Boma is a very good hotel, where the rooms and the whole hotel area invite you to stay and enjoy your vacation. The cost-performance ratio is pretty good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomaEntebbe, Manager at The Boma, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Maria,
Thank you for writing your detailed review; we appreciate it! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and got to use our facilities like the swimming pool, and managed to see some of the sites of Entebbe.
We hope to host you again, and best regards from everyone here at the Boma!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I'm still trying to understand how this property has so many 5-star reviews. While it's not terrible by any means, it just wasn't a 5-star experience. We stayed here after a few weeks throughout Uganda due to its proximity to the airport.

The room itself was average - spacious, but old. The bathroom needed a bit of a touch-up as the toilet constantly ran and the shower leaked out of the bathroom into the main room, but nothing a few towels couldnt handle. The restaurant was okay, but nothing near what you will get at the safari lodges. The property is very pretty and has character. They also provide a very appreciated airport transfer, even at 2am.

All and all, average value for the $140USD - nothing wrong with the place, but maybe I fell victim to the 5-star hype?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawnBToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomaEntebbe, Manager at The Boma, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Shawn,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we appreciate the feedback. I should point out that we have never 'hyped' ourselves as a '5 Star' hotel. The reviews on tripadvisor reflect peoples individual experiences only.

We do note that you had some issues during your stay; namely with the bathroom leaking. This is not a normal occurrence and we do have full time maintenance staff on site to fix leaks and other faults as soon as we are aware of them. We hope that you did report the issue to the reception and they were able to deal with it.

We are sorry that you did not enjoy the restaurant; usually we get good feedback on our food. With only the limited information you have provided here it is difficult for us to know where the problem was; hopefully you did report your dissatisfaction to your waiter at the time, so that he could relay the information to the kitchen. We find that negative feedback is most helpful at the time that the problem occurs, as this will give the establishment an opportunity to deal with the issues in a timely and constructive manner.

Thanks, and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
175 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stay here regularly, on my in and out of Uganda. The service is great: competent and capable. The quiet, colonial atmosphere is restful and has character. Rooms are quite nice, not a chain hotel. The menu has variety and the food is quite good. I keep coming back and am always happy I did.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomaEntebbe, Manager at The Boma, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Robert,
Thank you for taking the time to write your revue, we appreciate it! We do look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Best regards from all of us over here in Uganda!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for one night prior to our Ugandan holiday, and again before leaving. This is a rustic but charming hotel with great staff and great food. The rooms and bed werecomfortable and clean. We were travelling with our niece and on both occasions we had rooms next door to each other. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and well maintained, and the pool was welcome after a long flight from Australia. All in all I would definitely recommend staying here - we loved it! A great start and finish to a fabulous holiday....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NinAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomaEntebbe, Manager at The Boma, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi,
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed your Ugandan holiday!
Best regards from everyone at The Boma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telluride, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Excellent location if you are arriving late in Entebbe (or Kampala) or need to stay overnight before an early flight from Entebbe. Also a great location from which to take a short (half day) trip to the swamps to view the rare Shoebill Stork. The staff of this small hotel was very accomodating. We arrived about midnight, but they had waited up in case we wanted a late dinner (we did) or a drink (we did). They told us they always wait up as long as guests may need them.
The location felt very secure (walled, with a guard), the rooms were comfortable (no air conditioning, but the climate is moderate enough that fans make you comfortable), the pool area was attractive, and the food was very good.
One word of warning -- they only take cash, and there is no anytime teller on the premises, although there is one a short drive away. So, bring your cash, which is true many places in Uganda.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BomaEntebbe, Manager at The Boma, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Janet,
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We do mention in our emails the various payment options (such as by bank transfer etc), and there is a notice on the reception to remind people at the point of check-in. We are always happy to provide transport to a nearby ATM if people need to use a credit card.
Thanks, and best regards from everyone at the Boma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.6 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
0.1 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#8 of 30 in Entebbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
1.7 mi away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.6 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#4 of 30 in Entebbe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma

Property: The Boma
Address: Plot 20A, Gowers Road, Entebbe, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boma is Entebbe’s original and most exclusive hotel, set in tropical gardens in a leafy suburb, a few minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport. Our rooms combine today’s modern comforts one with the charm and character of the original 1940's homestead. Our staff and management team ensure guests receive a personable service and enjoy hospitality standards which are in keeping with the tradition of this charming lake shore town. Rates include B&B and airport transfers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boma Hotel Entebbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing