We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well cared for”
Review of The Boma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Boma
Ranked #1 of 53 Entebbe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hermanus
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Well cared for”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights at Boma, in and out of Entebbe. Clean, simply furnished rooms. Comfortable with plenty of hot water. Nice, helpful staff. Very good breakfast and the one dinner we had was excellent. Large portions of food are served. Handy for airport, just 7 minutes away. Quiet. Nice gardens - a good start for a "twitcher" visiting Uganda for first time. Recommended. NO CREDIT CARD FACILITIES!!!!!

Room Tip: Most rooms are garden cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeGrahamHermanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    141
    21
    4
    1
See reviews for
60
173
84
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
184 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This small quaint Inn was the perfect place to stay as we arrived to Entebbe. The staff very kind and friendly the rooms are modest but clean.
A pool and nice patio dinning area. The food was great, the portions are very large. Lovely gardens, great for the birders.
We walked to the botanical gardens from the Inn.
Thanks for a lovely start to a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A solid 3 star property. Rooms average, but noisy. A beer by the pool makes it a 5 star property! The food is great.
Bathrooms are adequate but could do with a solid clean.
The ambiance of the place eventually seeps in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenjays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The Boma offers excellent customer service, great food and comfortable, quaint rooms. Airport service is included and is very reliable. The grounds are beautifully manicured and offer a relaxing setting for a refreshment and a book.

Room Tip: Ask to stay at the main hotel. They have off-site 'cottages' that are adequate but not near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed here 2 nights, one night before and one night after our tour of Uganda. The Boma has great staff, great food and nicely appointed rooms with beautiful grounds. The staff was able to allow us to have a late check-out with our afternoon flight to Kilimanjaro which was much appreciated. This offered us a chance to really enjoy the property since we arrived late in the evening before leaving early the next morning for our safari.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerfromCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here twice and had a wonderful experience each time. Service was impeccable, the food was great, and the rooms were comfortable, attractive, and clean. Beautiful garden and pool area with lots of local birds made me feel like I was really on vacation. I would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 and 2 have private porches and bath tubs but may get some of the noise from the front dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

On our first night on our way to go track the gorillas of the Bwindi forest, we slept here.
Outstanding accommodation and excellent food! I believe it belong to German people, maybe that is why the quality is outstanding. I will recommend it any time and hope I can go back one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
1.6 mi away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#2 of 30 in Entebbe
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
0.1 mi away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
0.5 mi away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#5 of 30 in Entebbe
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
Karibu Entebbe
Karibu Entebbe
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Boma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Boma

Property: The Boma
Address: Plot 20A, Gowers Road, Entebbe, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Entebbe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boma is Entebbe’s original and most exclusive hotel, set in tropical gardens in a leafy suburb, a few minutes drive from Entebbe International Airport. Our rooms combine today’s modern comforts one with the charm and character of the original 1940's homestead. Our staff and management team ensure guests receive a personable service and enjoy hospitality standards which are in keeping with the tradition of this charming lake shore town. Rates include B&B and airport transfers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Boma Hotel Entebbe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing