We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really depends on what's important to you”
Review of Shakhtyor Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shakhtyor Plaza
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Donetsk
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Shakhtar Plaza advertises as a four star property. I would agree with that but it really a matter of simple arithmetic...five star public areas and service added to three star rooms and the average is four. The positives; excellent restaurant, lobby bar, gym, pool, sauna and service in all those areas. The negatives; the room. It was OK but poorly laid out and a small bed, miniscule television, miniscule and uncomfortable bathroom, very small shower. Nothing that was totally bad. Just not what I expected.

I've stayed at three properties in Donetsk, the Donbass Palace, the Victoria Hotel and now Shakhtar Plaza. They all have their pluses and minuses.

So, as I say, it depends on what is important to you. If you spend a very minimal amount of time in the room and take a quick shower, but like a good restaurant, bar and other amenities, then this is the ticket. For me, I will probably go back to the Victoria next time I am in Donetsk.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
There are newer reviews for Shakhtyor Plaza
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

I really like everything in this hotel. Service was great, food is excellent in the restaurant, spa is also good. The room was clean and nice. Prices on everything are really good and cheap for so great quality. It is one of the best hotels where I have been in Ukraine. You can find everything what you need for party or relaxation. Also, they have night club. The stadium is near hotel and very beautiful park is also near. I will definitely back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

I was on a business trip and I am no soccer fan.
The service is only satisfactory, the staff inflexible and the atmosphere is "post socialist".
That's why for my purpose the hotel is not the right choise.
The breakfast is ok; the room was clean with a free W-LAN.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RENAC_Berlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I was here during Euro 2012 and must to say that i had a great time.special thanks to restaurant - the food was really delicious.I recommend this place to everyone who wants spend nice time in Donetsk

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulpanAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

A great place to stay for those, who appreciate professional staff, great restaurant (don't forget to check out the locally produced deserts), super spa and very central location, just minutes away walk from the newly built stadium. The right choice for business travelers, city tourists and soccer fans alike.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrei_Mudrievsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

After staying at a few hotels during the Euros 2012 footie, this was our home base and head and shoulders above anywhere else we stayed. Talk of KGB guys is nonsense. The hotel is owned by the same guy that owns the nearby stadium of Shakhtar Donetsk, Rinat Akhmetov, reputedly the rishest man in Ukraine. There are hotel security guys that, at first, might seem like KGB men watching you but they are simply there to ensure the safety and security of the guests.
Like most half decent hotels, there is the obigatory girlie bar but it is on the fourth floor and farily exclusive. We didn't partake in that particular distraction.
The rooms are quite modern and comfortable with a mini-bar at quite reasonable prices. Naturally, there is air-con, shower, hair dryer, laundry facilities (in a day if put in before 10) and full room service if required.
On the ground floor level, there is a comfortable bar, a cafe-pizzeria with surprisingly quick service for Ukraine, a travel office and a hairdressers which cut my hair very well and for the same price as I pay at home in England, also included was a light facial and scalp massage though. There is also an excellent (by hotel standards) gym, sauna, pool and spa therapy area although you have to pay extra if you want to use any of these facilities which seems to be the norm in Ukraine.We found the staff very friendly and helpful once you get to know them a bit even though many of them don't speak much English (this is not a criticism, just a practical difficulty as I don't speak Russian).
Measl in the bar anbd restaurant could be very slow but, again, that seems to be the norm for Ukraine as everything is freshly prepared and cooked seemingly by a small number of chefs who clearly can't cope with getting several meals out quickly and at the same time. We found this everywhere though so you have to learn to fit in with this system.
Breakfast was a large buffet with a good mixture served between 7 and 11. Don't expect a full English as, in common with most "foreign" countries, they just don't do bacon as we know it.
All in all a good experience and I would not hesitate to go back there.
Lastly, Donetsk itself is a relatively modern town with some nice open spaces and green areas especially around the stadium. The town was founded in 1869 by a Welshman, John Hughes to whom there is a statue in the town. He also founded several mines and steel factories in the town which account for it's relative prosperity. Russian seems to be the preferred langauge here.

Room Tip: Rooms at the very back are quietest as they overlook a small car park.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DishmanUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

First of all I write this at 7am as music still fills my room from the outside restaurant. I despise aircon in my room so any opportunity to have the window open is always taken but when you have the likes of Kenny G filling the air all night it can get particularly irritating.

The title quote is taken from the in room booklet. I sorry but neither exist here for the seasoned western traveller. Lower your expectations because they haven't caught up yet except in the cleaning department, there I can't fault them. The rooms are done immaculately on a daily basis - though I really think they should offer to keep your towels etc ... we can all help the environment a bit here and there.

Service elsewhere is aboninable though I have just had the music tuned off quite willingly by reception but after a week here waiter/waitress service leaves something to be desired.

They can be pleasant enough orders take forever to appear without any forethought as to laying cutlery which can be a good few minutes arriving ... after your plate. This, with a gaggle of staff loitering in a group. The weirdest thing is though that they appear like a whirlwind to whip away empty plates and glasses but have the unnerving habit of reaching across your still eating table partners and taking away drinks that still clearly have a glug left in them. Prices aren't cheap by the way but that's another matter.

The thing really gets my goat is my new found career as a doorman. From management downwards you can find yourself being the unthanked holder of doors for all manner of staff. Being the English gent I am, I don't mind holding the door for a pretty young thing from time to time, but more often than not, I can be the unwitting doorman for a stream of staff including the often smoking on duty, duty manager and receive not a thanks or kiss my derriere.

Surely someone went west and learnt their trade.

And i do not appreciate being brought weiss beer when I have pointedly ordered pils and then told forcefully that it is the latter when I'm pointing out the cloudy nature only to find one of the two pints ordered is tepid, probably from standing about as an over order when I couldn't be bothered arguing anymore.

Overall, they just need to get their act together. If I wasn't otherwise occupied I would open a school for service in this town as neither here nor in restaurants across the city has a clue.

It's the little things that count when you're claiming to offer "a world of ultimate luxury and outstanding service" but it's the little things, like the rooms, that come up short at Shakhtar Plaza.

Room Tip: Not sure about the suites but the rooms are small by western standards. Try not to get one overlooki...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank w123traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donetsk hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Donetsk
Ramada Donetsk
#1 of 20 in Donetsk
155 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dominik Hotel
Dominik Hotel
#18 of 20 in Donetsk
8 reviews
1.2 mi away
Donbass Palace
Donbass Palace
#4 of 20 in Donetsk
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Liverpool
Liverpool
#6 of 20 in Donetsk
55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eva
Eva
#11 of 20 in Donetsk
21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Cat Hostel
Red Cat Hostel
#4 of 43 in Donetsk
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakhtyor Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakhtyor Plaza

Address: Germana Titova Ave., 15, Donetsk, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Donetsk Oblast > Donetsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Donetsk
Price Range: £46 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shakhtyor Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shakhtyor Plaza hotel is situated in the center of Donetsk. From the windows of the hotel you can enjoy a beautiful view of the Donbass Arena stadium. The hotel offers a full range of services: wellness center, large indoor swimming pool, cozy lobby bar, pizzeria and several banquet and meeting rooms for events. Hotel has 322 rooms of different categories. Shakhtyor Plaza rooms are equipped: air conditioning, flat-screen TV, convenient working space, safe and mini-fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shakhtyor Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing