We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Donetsk”
Review of Shakhtyor Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shakhtyor Plaza
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Donetsk
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Shakhtar Plaza is located across Donbass Arena. The location would fit better to business travellers and football tourists. You need to walk 15-20 minutes to the city center for eating and drinking. The way to the city is quite dark and isolated. You dont feel 100% safe on the way. And I can imagine how cold it can be in the winter.

I've stayed in one of the executive suites and it was great. It was very comfortable besides the toilet. It should be larger. The internet works very well.

I would stay there again when I visit for business.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just in the front of the Shakhtar stadium. Hotel is New and rooms are nice.
Receptionist are very helpful and professional.
Breakfast selection could be wider.
I've found in internet an unbeatable offer.
While arriving I got my room upgraded.
Just perfect.
I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxxx_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The rooms were clean and a good size, we were close to the trolley bus, the food and service at the bar was excellent. The only real problem we had was communicating with some staff but that only added to the experience. We look forward to visiting Ukraine again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here - good service , friedly and very helpful staff ( rare in our experience in Ukraine!). Nice restaurant outside, excellent breakfast. Room a bit small - minimal luggage space but overall very good

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

I stayed here for nearly 3 weeks in May/June.
Carlsberg £2.00 a pint, very good for a very good standard of Hotel.
Laundry is expensive so if you are travelling try to pack as much as possible.
Ate in the hotel most nights and food is reasonably cheap depending on what you pick, food quality was excellent especially the Beef Stroganoff. Breakfast choice is very good also.
This Hotel is an excellent standard of accommodation as room was 850hryvnya or grivna, that is about £68 B&B. Room is a bit small but perfectly clean and good WIFI Connection that is free.
Many large corridors with plenty of seating and a nice garden and outdoor eating area.
I did find it very difficult to control the room temperature so during the night woke up a few times feeling cold.

Room Tip: If you can afford it ask for a Business Suite on the 11th Floor rooms are bigger and not that much m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandPoohbaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Actually I was torn between "average" and "very good" this time: I definitely felt the need in "good" in this case.

Well, yes, it will take years until the soviet spirit finally disappears from our country. And one can still notice its signs at the hotel: exacting manner of the personnel's communications, inner decoration of the rooms (at least in part of wierd sepia soviet pictures on the wall). But honestly, the hotel is new, good, well-equipped and appropriate for business travellers (no doubts, it would suit football fans even more due to fantastic view to the Shakhtar stadium, being beautifully illuminated in the night. It's just 5 min of walking from the hotel to the stadium BTW:).

I enjoyed the meal delivered as a room service (when I had to stay and work in the room), a dinner with a glass of good wine (although lack of friendly manner of communication was noticed again) and breakfast there as well.

Huge parking area right in front of the hotel's entrance.

I believe people make the difference when it is about travellers' impressions. And I also believe people there in Shakhtar Plaza are improving in making a very good difference.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Pros:
- by default breakfast and dinner(preselected choice) are included
- excellent veracity of food on breakfast
- cheerful and helpful staff
- clean and well designed rooms
- good location
Cons:
- doors does not isolate room from the sound in the corridor

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zmej g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donetsk hotels
52.8 mi away
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#1 of 20 in Donetsk
156 reviews
51.1 mi away
Dominik Hotel
Dominik Hotel
#18 of 20 in Donetsk
8 reviews
52.2 mi away
Donbass Palace
Donbass Palace
#4 of 20 in Donetsk
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
52.2 mi away
Liverpool
Liverpool
#6 of 20 in Donetsk
55 reviews
51.9 mi away
Eva
Eva
#11 of 20 in Donetsk
21 reviews
51.3 mi away
Vettriano Art Apartments
Vettriano Art Apartments
#13 of 20 in Donetsk
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakhtyor Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakhtyor Plaza

Address: Germana Titova Ave., 15, Donetsk, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Donetsk Oblast > Donetsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Donetsk
Price Range: £44 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shakhtyor Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shakhtyor Plaza hotel is situated in the center of Donetsk. From the windows of the hotel you can enjoy a beautiful view of the Donbass Arena stadium. The hotel offers a full range of services: wellness center, large indoor swimming pool, cozy lobby bar, pizzeria and several banquet and meeting rooms for events. Hotel has 322 rooms of different categories. Shakhtyor Plaza rooms are equipped: air conditioning, flat-screen TV, convenient working space, safe and mini-fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shakhtyor Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing