We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, Friendly Staff & Lots of Amenities”
Review of Shakhtar Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shakhtar Plaza
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Donetsk
Dudley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Modern, Friendly Staff & Lots of Amenities”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Very modern upscale hotel which has a friendly smiling accommodating staff (which seems to be a rarity in eastern Ukraine esp. at other big modern hotels such as Ramada Donetsk.) There are different restaurants within the hotel which vary from casual pizza place to more expensive so it is nice to have a choice.
There is a nice fitness center and very large pool and spa area which was lots of fun and my son enjoyed very much.
The room was fine for two of us but on the side of the hotel which faced lots of construction next door so perhaps ask for room facing stadium.
Staff overall was friendly, pleasant and extra accommodating to this non-Russian speaking foreigner so that really makes a very big difference in overall quality of stay.
Wish we would have stayed in this hotel longer instead of ending up at some other klunkers around the city but you live and learn right....would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    21
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
12
6
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The hotel has a good relaxed feel with friendly service, though checking in can be slow and tedious, as seems to be typical in Ukraine. Some reviewers have said that it is good for football fans, that was the reason for my visit, so in one sense it was ideally located. The weather during my brief trip was awful which regrettably prevented much further exploration of the Donetsk area. I feel that Ukraine is on its way up as a tourist destination so I hope to back to see more when the weather is better.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schoey_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Brand new 2012 luxurious 4 star hotel. Ideal for football fans across the road from stadium. Small but nice rooms. Out of town and although taxis are inexpensive at times they are hard to find.

I have rated poor because breakfast was very disappointing one day. It is served from 7-11 but at 10 on a busy morning nothing was left - no glasses, cutlery, juice or food and little being done to fix it by the army of staff.

More importantly on our second night someone entered our room at 3 in the morning. I called reception and was advised that the maid had entered the wrong room in error as she needed to make a room up. Yeah - right ! Shouldn't have to put a chair against the door in a hotel of this quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deaddogsdick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
119 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Shakhtar Plaza is located across Donbass Arena. The location would fit better to business travellers and football tourists. You need to walk 15-20 minutes to the city center for eating and drinking. The way to the city is quite dark and isolated. You dont feel 100% safe on the way. And I can imagine how cold it can be in the winter.

I've stayed in one of the executive suites and it was great. It was very comfortable besides the toilet. It should be larger. The internet works very well.

I would stay there again when I visit for business.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank meetjoeblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Just in the front of the Shakhtar stadium. Hotel is New and rooms are nice.
Receptionist are very helpful and professional.
Breakfast selection could be wider.
I've found in internet an unbeatable offer.
While arriving I got my room upgraded.
Just perfect.
I will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxxx_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean and a good size, we were close to the trolley bus, the food and service at the bar was excellent. The only real problem we had was communicating with some staff but that only added to the experience. We look forward to visiting Ukraine again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here - good service , friedly and very helpful staff ( rare in our experience in Ukraine!). Nice restaurant outside, excellent breakfast. Room a bit small - minimal luggage space but overall very good

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donetsk hotels
1.0 mi away
Ramada Donetsk
Ramada Donetsk
#2 of 20 in Donetsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
1.2 mi away
Donbass Palace
Donbass Palace
#4 of 20 in Donetsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dominik Hotel
Dominik Hotel
#20 of 20 in Donetsk
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Liverpool
Liverpool
#7 of 20 in Donetsk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eva
Eva
#11 of 20 in Donetsk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.8 mi away
Red Cat Hostel
Red Cat Hostel
#1 of 41 in Donetsk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakhtar Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakhtar Plaza

Property: Shakhtar Plaza
Address: Germana Titova Ave., 15, Donetsk, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Donetsk Oblast > Donetsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Donetsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Shakhtar Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shakhtar Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing