We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”
Review of Donbass Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Donbass Palace
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Donetsk
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Stayed here for one night on business. Very comfortable room on 4th floor so didn't suffer traffic noise some others have mentioned. Great bed with selection of pillow types. Wifi worked OK. Usual bathroom amenities with robes etc but hair dryer was the type that is permanently fixed to wall and hose gets too hot to hold but not much hot air comes out! Good dinner in the La Terrazza restaurant, local draft beer Sarmat was excellent. However, breakfast was disappointing in quantity of items available for selection, more in keeping with a 2/3 star hotel.

Room Tip: High as possible to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moneyfools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
12
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The Donbass Palace is not what you expect in Donetsk. If you expect overwhelming luxary, this is the place to go. If you like rooms that look like rooms in a palace, this is the place to go. One could call it tasteless, but it is clean, rooms are large, service is good, breakfast excellent and you can sence that there are oligarchs around... Overall it is a good and expensive hotel experience!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatanielSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed for one night in Donbass Palace on a short business trip and indeed it is a palace attempt with huge rooms, stylish and expensive finishings, beautiful mirrors and everything around trying to impress you. And needless to say it is spotless clean!

The superior room is nice and big, there is also an adjucent walk-in wardrobe which is super to have, and the beautiful marble bathroom was very nice, new, with Molton Brown toiletries, thick towels and bathrobes.

Great comfortable bed with quality linen, duvet and pillows, quality wooden furnishings, very efficient window blinders and curtains, AC, international TV channels, quick room service and very easy and friendly attitude of the reception, they let me check-out later at 2pm vs normal 12 - all very good.

The breakfast however is somewhat average, actually not matching the level of ambition of this hotel, however everything is there (except the plain natural yogurt to my surprise) just not as fab as at a real 5-star hotel.

The only negative really was the traffic noise from the street which was non-stop throughout the night and may keep up light-sleepers. I was so exausted though and fell asleep almost immediately so comfy the bed was.

All in all great stay, recommended! Tip: try to get a good rate via travel agencies, this hotel's own rate is quite expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityline_moscou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrara, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Classic design, very centrally located. My room was fine, with a nice bathroom. The only strange things were that the usual rack to put the luggage on was missing and that there was no full-size mirror in the room. Breakfast was very good, with a wide choice of food and beverages, high quality. Staff was friendly and efficient (they granted me a late check out at 14.00 with no extra charge). Unfortunately i had no time to use their SPA. Free Wifi, not very fast, with some problem of connection.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taccola70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

It is a great hotel. You would never expect it in that city! But it is very luxury and comfortable! The location is perfect! The SPA is sutisfiting.
I loved the room. They have a good sushi restaurant. Room service is pretty good also.
There is a beautiful ambience and quality people in this hotel.
I would defiantly recommend it to all people who travel with a quote “Nothing but the best!”.
So far, it is the best hotel I have ever stayed in Ukraine.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porsche0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

The hotel must be one of very few options of a quality accommodation in the city. Its location is great - right in the city center, which means that a trip to/from the airport should not take more than 20 minutes, even if there are some light traffic jams.

The receptionist was very professional and friendly. When we checked in, the room felt a bit cold (there must have been no guests in its for a few days). But after switching the heating on, it got comfortable in several minutes. The air-conditioning is somewhat strange and a bit difficult to navigate.

The bathroom was clean but the towels a bit warn out.

The only discomfort was the noise from the street. So, it is advisable to ask for a room not facing the main road if you want to get some sleep.

Overall, a solid 4-star.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank made_in_ukraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

stayed with my wife several times when traveled to Donetsk for business purposes. each and every time we had another opportunity to enjoy and welcomed like most valuable customers, with a big smile.
stylish rooms and interiors, quality of food and beverages, will definitely make you feel that you are in an oasis within 'donetsk'...
you will not believe that this amazing hotel is in an ex-soviet country... (especially after testing some grotesque old soviet hotels -and their staff- :)

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnkyldrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Donetsk hotels
0.8 mi away
Ramada Donetsk
Ramada Donetsk
#2 of 20 in Donetsk
155 reviews
0.6 mi away
Liverpool
Liverpool
#6 of 20 in Donetsk
54 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eva
Eva
#11 of 20 in Donetsk
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Red Cat Hostel
Red Cat Hostel
#4 of 42 in Donetsk
7 reviews
2.3 mi away
Dominik Hotel
Dominik Hotel
#18 of 20 in Donetsk
8 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ekonom
Ekonom
#7 of 24 in Donetsk
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donbass Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donbass Palace

Property: Donbass Palace
Address: Artyoma St., 80, Donetsk 83001, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Donetsk Oblast > Donetsk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Donetsk
#3 Luxury Hotel in Donetsk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Donbass Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Donbass Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donbass Palace Donetsk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing