We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in town, but with pricey breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Continent Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Uzhhorod
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel in a superior standard, b/c it was the only non-smoking room in the hotel. We were very satisfied with the quality of our room - great modern style, comfortable bed, pleasant staff, everything you would expect from a good 4 star hotel. The only two things that we didn't like was extremely expensive breakfast - $45 and it was pretty pathetic too. For this amount of money you can have a dinner for 4, including drinks, appetizers and main course in the best restaurant in Uzhgorod. Also, the restaurant is smoking, they do have non-smoking room, but it's tiny and with no windows, and of course the terrace is also smoking. BTW, if you need a recommendation - the best restaurant is in the hotel Ungvarskiy - the food is just heavenly and it has a very pleasant non-smoking area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KASvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

I recommend this hotel for those who appreciate cleanliness, comfort and service. The high level for a high price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LenaWithFamily18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Stayed here on buisness for most of the summer on and off in 2011.

Rooms are very nice, stayed in most of them.

Breakfast is excellent.

Resturant is also very good, have eaten most things from the menu.

Great location as well, just next to the river and there are some lovely bars and resurants located in the town.

Staff are also very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Depending on your tastes there is an old part (more classic easten european decor) and a new part (m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamesh1000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Helpful staff , cleanness ,it is rich in a restaurant choice , be same quality like in Europe !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2010

I'm surprised this hotel is only rated #4. My stay there was a thoroughly delightful experience. The room was clean and tastefully decorated. The beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was huge and sparkling. The one meal I ate at the restaurant was quite nice and quite plentiful. The only slight drawback was that our room was right on the front where young men gathered each night to show off their cars and the volume of their sound systems.

The hotel's advertising literature says that service is very important to them, and they demonstrated that repeatedly. The desk clerks all spoke excellent English, and helped us get drivers to and from the train station and for touring, and helped us solve all sorts of challenging problems about train schedules and finding a translator to accompany us to a small village some miles away.

If I ever go to Uzhgorod again, I would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bdinmadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We arrived at this hotel expecting a typical, post-Soviet hotel with sad furnishings and less-than-stellar service. We were pleasantly surprised by the Old Continent Hotel--the furnishings and decor were on par with western Europe, and perhaps better, and the service was superb! The room (suite) we stayed in was cozy, with a very comfy bed and a nice bathroom with high-end toiletries. The non-suite that a colleague stayed in had an enviable balcony overlooking the main square. Everything from the towels and sheets to the wood panelling were upscale. All of this for reasonable prices. They even let us check out 2 hours late for no charge on our final day there.

I also highly recommend the restaurant--some great fish and salads! The only complaint is that the extensive wine list is a little pricey.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BackintheUSSR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

The Old Continent Hotel located next to the pedestrian bridge in downtown Uzhgorod (I wonder why the city is spelled here Uzhhorod...). It is easy to find since thanks to the Ukrainian signs indicating the hotel.

The hotel itself is modern, clean and it has got an excellent restaurant, which I enjoyed four times during my short business trip to the city. The restaurant offers both Ukrainian and European specialities. I presume that during the summertime there is also a terrace. The breakfast (only 100 hrivnas or approximately 9 €) is served in the same restaurant and is very basic, but it includes a breakfast plate or eggs made according to your wish.

Having lived and travelled in Ukraine for three years, I was truly surprised by the excellent standards of this hotel, not to mention its price level (only 770 hrivnas or approximately 70 € for a double standard room with 24 sq m and a truly luxurious bath, excluding breakfast, whereas a similar room in Kyiv could easily cost 250 € or more)! My room had even a private balcony which I would have been happy to enjoy in summertime.

My room had a lot of space and it was overall clean, very well maintained and equipped. In the bathroom the toiletries were of Pascal Morabito, Paris. The air conditioning and room temperature are easily adjustable. My only negative remark would be about the television: the hotel television offers more than 60 channels, but they are all either Russian, Ukrainian or Hungarian. The only English channels are BBC World and Deutsche Welle. There is no pay tv. Also the minibar could be better equipped: in my room there are only water, soft drinks and some beer, along with chocolate.

As to the Internet, all rooms have wi-fi and there is a separate "business center" with (regrettably) only one computer, which is available for a symbolic fee of some 7-8 hrivnas. As far as I could notice, there is no fitness center in the hotel.

During my stay the personnel was very helpful and courteous, including the concierge who was present in the small lobby. Next to the lobby there is also a small albeit dark bar. The personnel made a point to answer to my questions and needs. They all spoke English and were very friendly. Also the security in the hotel seems to be in order and there is even a private garage for hotel guests (which I didn't use).

I would certainly return to this hotel and wholeheartedly recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DiplTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uzhhorod
0.8 mi away
Emigrand Art Hotel
Emigrand Art Hotel
#1 of 13 in Uzhhorod
19 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Uzhgorod
Hotel Uzhgorod
#3 of 13 in Uzhhorod
73 reviews
1.9 mi away
Praha Hotel
Praha Hotel
#12 of 13 in Uzhhorod
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Bogolvar Eco Resort & Spa
Bogolvar Eco Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Antalovtsi
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Izumrud Hotel
Izumrud Hotel
#5 of 13 in Uzhhorod
27 reviews
0 mi away
Zolota Gora Hotel-Rancho
Zolota Gora Hotel-Rancho
#6 of 13 in Uzhhorod
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Continent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Continent Hotel

Address: 4, S Petefy Square, Uzhhorod 88000, Ukraine
Region: Ukraine > Zakarpattia Oblast > Uzhhorod
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Uzhhorod
Price Range: £59 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Continent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Old Continent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Continent Hotel Ukraine/Uzhhorod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing