We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gansett Green Manor...for a while”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amagansett
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gansett Green Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My husband and I have been going to Gansett Green Manor for many years -and most recently spent Memorial Day weekend there. We notice improvements every time we arrive for a long weekend or a longer stay and the owners are extremely dedicated to making their guests comfortable and stay enjoyable.

Since we last stayed here (over Christmas) we've noticed improvements on the grounds as well as our room- new art, newly painted walls, tables and chairs placed in lieu of two big armchairs that make sense for a room with a kitchen.

We had been visiting for years without a pet and now with a puppy, Gansett Green Manor continues to be our number one choice to stay in the Hamptons.

Room Tip: There are cottages as well as studios- it depends on your length of stay and whether you wish to coo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

There are new owners, not the same blonde woman from last year, she was great, (sorry she sold it). There is really no staff, I only saw one housekeeper. I think the new owners are trying to do everything by themselves. Big mistake ! They both seemed overwhelmed and I detected a slight air of arrogance. The rooms are just ok, not great, and could really use some updating. Our room smelled damp and really needed the maintenance man to spend a day or two in there fixing it up. The cement area outside one of the rooms looks like it is about to collapse into a sink hole, not safe. If this place was half the price, it might be a good deal. For the money they charge, I expected more, much more ! Seems like it's getting worse every year.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansett Green M, Owner at Gansett Green Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your stay with us.The lovely blonde woman to whom you refer, was not the owner, but the former property manager, who left Long Island to follow her heart to Georgia. While it pains us that you had an unpleasant experience, we wanted you to know, that we have been working diligently to greatly improve the property as well as to address the issues that you mention in your review. In addition to having fully restaffed with a full housekeeping, maintenance and managerial staff, we have devoted all of our energies to refurnishing and refurbishing the beautiful grounds and accommodations of Gansett Green. There are all new. beautiful furnishings,rugs, linens, towels, kitchenware and the like. There are newly installed windows and shingles in our cottages, fresh paint abounding, and even an art curator installing the works of well-known artists and sculptors, in the accommodations and on the grounds. The damaged cement area, referred to in your review, has been totally replaced and is beautifully new and not at all unsafe.
While it is a difficult job to inherit the deficiencies of former management, it is with great love and pleasure that we restore the beauty and grandeur of this magnificent property and look forward to many years to come of happy guests and the pleasure of getting to know them. Thanks again for your input and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again, Best, Leslie & Jed Feldman, proprietors

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Our third summer in a row at Gansett Green Manor was not a disappointment. Same friendly staff, pleasant accommodations and no complaints. Loved inviting friends and family to join us in the garden. I did bring my own (soft) pillows this year and slept very well. We only wish we had more time off from work and could stay longer… maybe next year! It is so great to have that Atlantic Beach pass, clean towels (beach and bath) every day, umbrellas and beach chairs. It’s so nice to be able to walk to the farmers market, Jack’s coffee and other shops and galleries in Amagansett. Did not even bother fighting the traffic in East Hampton. Returned for dinner again at Sotto Sopra and it was great too. Thank you, Narcisa, for the excellent housekeeping every day while we were at the beach! See you next year in 2014, I hope.

Room Tip: Don't forget your soft pillow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Banjoman2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

At first glance, it appears the inn is a quaint place to stay in beautiful Amagansett. Unfortunately, since it was built in the 1800's, it does not have a modern septic system. We stayed in the only room in the main house with 3 small children. Upon check-in, we were not advised that flushable baby wipes could not be used due to the fact that the cesspool is outdated and laundry for the entire property is done in the basement of the home. The entire stay, the shower filled with water as did the toilet and sink and took an hour to drain. The problem began the first time we took a shower and the toilet was only used a few times. We were only in the room from 9pm-9am each of the 3 days we stayed. In fact, we too live on LI in a home built in the 40's which also has a block cesspool. It says on the carton of thin Pampers baby wipes that they are flushable and we have used them at our own home without issue for over 6 years. The total amount of wipes flushed over this 3 day period was 3. The rest were thrown in the garbage which we personally emptied each day. Of course the manage of the inn lied given the fact that the pool was still clogged after a plumber came and verified the issue was with the pool and not the toilet! I even have a message from him on my cell phone stating this and apologizThis is obvious given that even the shower would not drain! what a nightmare this establishment created for us! Both managers admitted there is a known issue with the cesspool filling up due to the excessive amount of laundry they do everyday. It's very sad that even though we were put up with this insane imposition (all other establishments were booked for the weekend), we are told the owner will not offer us any for the inconvenience.Two days since we checked out, the inn has denied any type of compensation and blamed us for the health hazard they had the nerve to rent out! My god, not even a credit for any amount of the $450 we paid every night! We could have stayed in a 5 star hotel for this amount of money. We are truly disgusted by this unethical business. They should be ashamed of themselves and have no business renting this room. In fact, the manager suggested I rent this particular room when I told her we would be staying with our 3 small children. They obviously think that because they are located in the Hamptons, they don't have to provide customer service not to mention working plumbing!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cmcli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gansett Green M, Owner at Gansett Green Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

As of mid -October, 2013, Gansett Green Manor has been sold an is under new ownership/management. We regret that these guests suffered the problems that they mention in their review and have since addressed these issues. Many new and wonderful improvements are being made to the property and we look forward to happy guests and great success!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I stayed with some friends at Gansett Green Manor a few weeks ago and had the most relaxing and wonderful time. The owner and staff couldn't have been more accomodating and were very attentive of our needs. The grounds were well kept and though there were other people staying at the Manor you very much felt like you had the grounds to yourself. The accommodation was was beautiful and quaint and offered everything we needed. With regards to location it was very close to the coach stop, 2 mins walk from the resturants and shops of Amagansett and 1 mile from the beach.

I would recommend for friends, family and couples and will definitely be returning for another peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We rented a small cottage for our family (dog included). As several reviewers have pointed out, the grounds are stunning. The lawn is kept very clean, and there were no signs of deer poop (as one reviewer noticed). There are many lawn chairs, tables, hammocks, and places to relax on the spacious and neat property.

Our room was definitely dated. While it was very clean, the furniture seemed old and tired. I did not consider it "quaint" and "charming." The kitchenette was not updated, but the bathroom was. The rock hard pillows prevented me from getting much sleep (if you are particular about this, bring your own). We didn't even bother to turn on the clunky, old tv. The wi fi was terrible and spotty. If I am going to go unplugged for my vacation, I prefer it to be by choice.The owner (or manager?) was not particularly interested in resolving the wi fi problem. On several little things, I felt a very relaxed attitude towards customer service, that was not reflected in the high rate per night.

You can walk to just about anything in town, and the beach is about a mile away. It is a nice walk if you don't have to carry umbrellas, chairs, etc. The beach is gorgeous, and not too crowded. The hotel has a shed full of umbrellas, chairs, and a few beach toys for use by the residents. This was a huge plus for our family, as we drive a small car and did not have room to pack large items. Overall, it was okay and definitely has its positives, but for what we paid I expected better.

Room Tip: Sleep quality was good in terms of quiet. But if you are particular about the comfort of the bed, li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kag51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

It has mostly all been said by other reviewers here -- we LOVE Gansett Green Manor and recommend it highly. Unpretentious, reasonably priced, clean and friendly. Our second visit (2012) was just as nice as the first (2011) -- and we lucked-out with great weather. The beach pass alone is worth its weight in gold. Housekeeper Narcisa deserves special mention -- she is friendly and goes out of her way to be helpful. Property back garden is charming. Dog and kid friendly but very serene. Yes the furniture is a little shabby. Bed in Country Cottage (C-4) was very hard and you should bring your own pillow if you don't care for hard foam. Bikes available + beach chairs, umbrellas and clean big beach towels. Charming and perfect getaway!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Banjoman2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
6.0 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
166 reviews
8.5 mi away
Baron's Cove
Baron's Cove
#1 of 5 in Sag Harbor
250 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#4 of 6 in Amagansett
51 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
10.8 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansett Green Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansett Green Manor

Address: 273 Main St, Amagansett, NY 11930-2000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Price Range: £151 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansett Green Manor is a country Inn on a sprawling property just steps from the historic hamlet of Amagansett. We offer you the best of both worlds...solitude and beauty, beach and town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gansett Green Manor Hotel Amagansett
Gansett Green Manor Amagansett, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing