We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amagansett
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gansett Green Manor
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“All around great place to stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

My wife and I took our first trip out to Amagansett and were able to get a last minute, two night reservation at the Green Gansett. We stayed in a studio with an updated kitchen and bathroom. Behind the rooms, there is a humongous backyard with plenty of private spaces to sit and eat your meals. The Gansett provides beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, and toys for kids which makes packing a whole lot easier. Our only complaint is that in most cases, a 7-day reservation is required. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rawgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    7
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
14
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I've stayed at the Gansett for years now and it just gets better and better! It's a hidden Gem that I can't picture my summers without! The staff is attentive and sweet, they even take my dog Jordi out for a walk while I work long hours in East Hampton. The Landscaping is also amazing, I always feel a million miles away from the city while staying here. Very relaxing and clean place to enjoy the beauty of the Hamptons.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjohanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

We stayed for 3 nights in the largest cottage, with 3 bedrooms, in September 2007 -- my husband and I, our two toddlers, and my parents. We loved it! Easy walk to the beach, nice in-town location for picking up breakfast. The kitchen came well equipped with pots, pans, dishes, etc. The property has beach towels, chairs, and umbrellas for guest use, and a beach pass in case you want to drive. It was quiet, clean, and well run. Many guests seemed to be repeat customers who come every year. I think we may try to do the same.

  • Liked — Comfortable home-like accomodations with living room, dining area, etc.
  • Disliked — No bathtub -- showers only
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTraveler39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

The cottages are extremely well located, right in town and easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. The grounds were very well kept and quite beautiful. Extensive lawn in the rear of the property. I was disappointed with the extremely outdated and almost shabby interior, especially as the grounds looked so well maintained. The interior furnishings/paint job/etc were very run down and it looked to be about 25 years or so since the interiors were touched. The pictures look much better than the reality.

That said, we did have everything we needed and the grounds/location kept us satisfied. The desk staff were not very friendly and barely helpful. No one ever offered to help with bags, open a door, etc. I know this wasn't the Ritz, but it wasn't exactly dirt cheap either with the average rate around $300/night.

All and all I would say it is a good option as long as your expectations and needs are in line with what is provided. Also, pay attention to the details and ask questions. No house phone in rooms, in the suite the TV was in the main room- no tv in the bedroom. No bathtub etc.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank travlinglight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 June 2006

We brought our dog along with us for a week at the Gansett Green Manor. It was the most relaxing wonderful vacation we've ever taken. We took advantage of the "mid-week special," so had a chance to be in the Hamptons for part of the time without all the weekend NYC traffic. The apartment-like rooms are not the Ritz, but they are clean, very comfortable, and have everything you need, including a kitchen. The grounds are beautiful and peaceful, and there is a huge lawn for dogs to play, and places for sitting around and bringing back breakfast from the farmers market just down the street. We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 451 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2005

This was our second visit to the Gansett Green Manor. We are from out of state so we take the Hampton Jitney from NYC and get off right at the door. There are a number of room/cottage options here and the midweek special for $175 was a good value. Would recommend trying to visit Sun-Thurs. not just for this price but everything is so much nicer with less crowds. Made reservation on phone with Ian who was very helpful and professional and staff at the Manor was great. Any request was responded to with a smile. This is a very rustic place but clean and maintenance seemed overall good...grounds well kept and everything private. Most guests came with pets but not a problem as they were leased and well behaved. Would not go here if you do not like dogs! Do not go here if you want everything modern and upscale...not that kind of place...very rustic and in keeping with the low key atmosphere of Amagansett. Do try Gordons and Pacific East for dining and take out from the famer's market just down the street. In order to do much you will need a car or you can rent a bike nearby (as we did). The restaurants mentioned are walkable as Gansett is right in the heart of the village. Nice escape from NYC with good accessibility to visit East Hampton, Montauk etc.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
6.0 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
161 reviews
1.6 mi away
East Hampton House
East Hampton House
#1 of 2 in East Hampton
106 reviews
8.2 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#4 of 6 in Amagansett
51 reviews
8.8 mi away
Topping Rose House
Topping Rose House
#1 of 1 in Bridgehampton
114 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ocean Vista Resort
Ocean Vista Resort
#5 of 6 in Amagansett
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansett Green Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansett Green Manor

Property: Gansett Green Manor
Address: 273 Main St, Amagansett, NY 11930-2000
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansett Green Manor is a country Inn on a sprawling property just steps from the historic hamlet of Amagansett. We offer you the best of both worlds...solitude and beauty, beach and town. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gansett Green Manor Hotel Amagansett
Gansett Green Manor Amagansett, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing