We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place right on the beach”
Review of Ocean Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Vista Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place right on the beach”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

clean and friendly and right on a beautiful beach. for the lower price range in the Hamptons this is great! we didn't love our original room and were immediately switched to one we liked much better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancisPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    32
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Ocean Vista, while dwarfed by the more updated neighboring property, still holds its own as a destination due to its location on the beach and its great deals for early and late season rates. The hotel and rooms have a nice feel, by no means luxury or fancy, but rather friendly and modest. The purpose of my trip was a 35 Mile bike ride, and the establishment provided the opportunity for a good nights rest at a good value. I did take their rate card and saw that the prices almost tripled for peak season, which to me seemed overpriced for the property, but again, its all about taking advantage of their seasonal deals and specials!

Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BeachvsMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

The location was great if you're going for a beach location. We travelled there for a sightseeing trip by motorcycle. We could not see our parked motorcycles from our room. We went to dinner in a car with friends and we came back around 11pm. The maintenance man did check us out to make sure that we were in fact guests. The next morning we did walk on the beach, it was a beautiful beach.

Because it's on the east end the whole area tends to be pricey. The room was OK, The TV was secured to a wall mount with bungee cords and was precariously perched. The bedspread was sandy and it was a very uncomfortable bed, The room only had cheap blinds and no curtains, so bring eyeshades if you like to sleep in a dark room. The bathroom was nice, but it was strange to see a small window mounted air conditioner in the bathrroom and no air conditioner in the main room. Wi Fi internet worked intermittently.

It was an efficiency, but they didn't leave any coffee in the room for you to make when you get up. The office did not open until 9am so we had to drive to seven eleven to get coffee @ 8:30 when we got up. Also the indoor pool which was the gem of their website was closed that weekend which was a disappointment

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank electr_glide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2010

My husband & I spent a very enjoyable long weekend at the Ocean Vista this past summer. Our room was clean & comfortable. We especially liked that it was an efficiency set up so we could have breakfast and lunch right there. Nice tables with umbrellas outside for cocktails in the evening with lots of lovely flowers all around . The staff was friendly and accomodating. I would recommend this hotel for those looking for a quiet beach getaway that is also conveniently located to a variety of restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachbums14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Our family had a wonderful experience at this well located and affordable inn. The vibe is relaxed and super family friendly. If you are looking for overpriced and pretentious, this is not it. I have summered in East Hampton and Montauk for the past twenty years. It was nice to spend time at an inn that harkens to the days when families returned to the same beach-side inns and hotels year after year. Perfect distance from East Hampton, Sag Harbor, Montauk, and oh lets not forget the beach, the rooms provided all the necessary amenities for a family vacationing with two young children. We are planning to return next summer.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onetime999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2010

A little unprepossessing, the Ocean Vista was a pleasent surprise on many levels. Our room had been redecorated by someone who knew what they were doing and it was very comfortable. The best thing is that you are only a few feet from the ocean and an absolutely lovely panaromic view all the way down to Montauk. Time did seem to slow down while we were there and the people we met were friendly and looked to be enjoying themselves as much as we did. Excellent place for a get a way and a trip back in time to a motel like atmosphere from our childhood.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank search_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larchmont, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We had a very comfortable room that had obviously been just redone. Great care had been taken to insure comfort. The room was clean, the bed linens and towels were new, the bathroom was roomy and lovely. This is a great spot, only a few steps from a gorgeous beach. I highly recommend Ocean Vista for the ideal weekend getaway with great value.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slugger1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
0.2 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
157 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#19 of 39 in Montauk
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.1 mi away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#3 of 6 in Amagansett
50 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Vista Resort

Property: Ocean Vista Resort
Address: 2136 Montauk Hwy., Amagansett, NY 11930
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Vista Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Vista Resort is unique beachfront co-op located between Amagansett and Montauk, NY--one of the best values in the Hamptons. Each of its 46 units (studios and one- and two-bedrooms) offers TV, efficiency kitchen, AC/heating, wireless and maid service. The resort has an indoor heated pool, tennis, sauna and a private beach equipped with beach chairs and umbrellas. Photo courtesy of Ritter Photo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vista Hotel Amagansett
Ocean Vista Resort Amagansett, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing