We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Beach, shame about the accomodation”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ocean Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Vista Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Beach, shame about the accomodation”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We arrived expecting this to be more luxurious for the $340 plus dollars we paid per night. Perhaps this was our mistake not knowing how expensive the area is in summer. Our room didn't feel very private, with thin blinds on the window which didn't cover them properly and no mosquito nets. The room smelled of bleach every day after it was washed, there was no hairdryer or ironing board in the rooms and the beds were not comfy and they didn't change the linens every day so your bed can get very sandy! If you don't have car the location is not ideal unless you plan to stay the whole time in the resort. You will have to take taxis which are $15 dollars a pop (least - without tip) to Montauk and $20 to Amagansett. The priavte beach is lovely, very uncrowded but really I preferred the beach in Montauk. If you are looking for a romantic break away this is probably not the place. Better for families maybe.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    32
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

First time to the resort and had read the reviews. While each room was not updated at the same time the layout is the same. The room was comfortable, kitchenette fully equipped. and clean. Stayed in room 115 and it was ultra modern but was good. Great location to the beach, loved having the "patio" Yes you can hear the noise from above but otherwise the 50's 60's charm of the place is great. Pool was open. Loved that they gave you beach towels, chairs and umbrellas. Don't forget to utilize the tennis court.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annaorysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Love this little gem. Ocean Vista is a simple motel but it's paradise away from the city for me. Rooms are basic but have the simple ammenities one needs - and can accomodate 3 people easily. I love staying on the upper floors closer to the beach. These units are owned by other folks that rent them out over the season. Check rates as they fluctuate mid-July to end of August during peak season (sometimes as high at $425/night)

You should bring snacks and water as there is not much nearby to satisfy a late night thirst or food craving..

Pros:
fantastic location for beach lovers
simple and clean
friendly staff
small refridge/microwave/ in room
across the street from the best Happy Hour in Montauk- Cyril's!!
nearby the best lobster roll in Montauk- The Clam Bar
rent bikes at Espos Surf shop
the hampton jitney drops you off right in front if you ask nicely
parking lot
they have an indoor pool ( I never use it but siome may like that)
they have outdoor hibachi's and tables if oyu want to grill out
did I mention the BEST beach in the Hamptons is here? it is close to protected seashore which makes for less crowds and more natural beauty
and they have beach chairs on the beach for you - get there early though- they get nabbed up quickly!

Cons:
Far from town- you need to take cabs if you are drinking and it is about 5-6 miles outside of town
can be pricey in peak season- for very basic accomodations
they have coffee in the lobby- but it is not the best- would be great f they included breakfast buffet and endless coffee - or if they had a vending machine

Room Tip: ask for the upper level-
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLizaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2011

What a perfect getaway. Nothing like arriving to a place and everything is at your finger tips.
All you need to pack is what you put on your back. Steps away from the ocean, beautiful tennis court, Chaise lounges and beach umbrella's await you on the beach. Centrally located to everywhere.
Definitely would go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 221 which we loved. We saw room 214 which was also beautiful. I recommend staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank griffin2059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

excellent hotel in every way-- staff is first rate-- however, just make sure you get an upgraded room-- this hotel is one big co-op and some owers are very shortsighted and cheap-- they do not all upgrade their properties--- this siutation could make for an unpleasant stay unless you know how to rent rooms. Otherwise, this is an excellent location-- i would return!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjuan787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flushing
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Just returned from second visit to Ocean Vista. Pleased to have a renovated room with a lovely bathroom and an efficient a/c that is in the bedroom and not the bathroom. A big improvement from the older room we had last time. Room was one of the few with a large flat screen tv. Staff is very helpful and provides whatever you need. Room was lovely; took a lower floor. Only problem was noisy kids running overhead so next time we would take an upper room. Needed to purchase paper towels and facial tissues which were not supplied. Used bbq grills twice; bring your own charcoal and lighter. Last room did not provide bbq tools so we brought ours from home but this room did have them. Enjoyed the beautiful beach several days. Towels, chairs and umbrellas are provided. Resort may want to update the chairs; they are hard plastic and uncomfortable after sitting for several hours. After check out which was 11 am we were able to use the beach and shower in the pool area which was very convenient. Resort provided shampoo, conditioner and towels. It is a very good deal for a more than adequate room on a beautiful beach. You do need a car to go anywhere and it is a 10-15 minute drive into the village of Montauk or Amagansett.

Room Tip: Room 117 was nicely renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sabrams13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

clean and friendly and right on a beautiful beach. for the lower price range in the Hamptons this is great! we didn't love our original room and were immediately switched to one we liked much better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancisPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
0.2 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
150 reviews
5.0 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
288 reviews
6.8 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#5 of 39 in Montauk
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
5.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 39 in Montauk
299 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Vista Resort

Property: Ocean Vista Resort
Address: 2136 Montauk Hwy., Amagansett, NY 11930
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Vista Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Vista Resort is unique beachfront co-op located between Amagansett and Montauk, NY--one of the best values in the Hamptons. Each of its 46 units (studios and one- and two-bedrooms) offers TV, efficiency kitchen, AC/heating, wireless and maid service. The resort has an indoor heated pool, tennis, sauna and a private beach equipped with beach chairs and umbrellas. Photo courtesy of Ritter Photo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Ocean Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vista Hotel Amagansett
Ocean Vista Resort Amagansett, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing