We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location right on the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Vista Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ocean Vista Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location right on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

The beach location can't be beat. One of the best spots on Amagansett and the Hamptons in general. The rooms are quite small though - more like a hotel room, rather than an apartment, unless you get one of the few bigger units.
Also, the AC was in the bathroom in the unit we stayed at. While I like that so the room does not get too cold, it might not be great for some visitors.
The pool was also not that great, being indoors. But it might be great for the weather is bad and rainy. Overall, it is well worth the price and superb location. The staff are very helpful too.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60763Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    32
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I love the location of this motel and the private beach is fantastic! The grounds are quiet, pretty and very well maintained. Be advised the units are privately owned and are no bigger than a hotel room. Some are updated and some are not. When I booked the room I specifically asked for an updated room with a new kitchen and bath and was assured that I would be getting just that. However, when we checked in to the room it was the old, dingy one posted on Trip Advisor which I specifically asked not to be in! I marched back to the front desk and was told sorry, that's not the room you booked but for some reason the manager moved you in to it and we can't do anything until she is back tomorrow morning at 9. We had to spend the night in the 1970s special and the following morning the manager gave me an apology and a choice of rooms. My advice is when you check in do not leave the front desk until you are assured that you are getting the room you booked which I recommend doing over the phone to be certain you are getting what you want. The efficiency kitchen is well stocked but the stovetop is about 3 feet from the bed so I can't imagine doing any real cooking there but judging by the smell of bacon in the morning people do! The real attraction here is the beach. Ocean Vista provides umbrellas, towels and lounge chairs which is a real plus. I like the location between Amagansett and Montauk which allows for exploring the Hamptons but you are not within walking distance of any towns. This is a great spot for a beach trip with the family or a low key friends getaway. I would definitely stay again. If you don't plan on spending much time on the beach or need to be near all the action I would suggest someplace closer to or in town.

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room to avoid hearing the noise above you. Avoid Room 217. Rooms 216, 219, 220 ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYTraveler0514
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We had a very romantic, fun time. Right on the beach. Not a very glamorous place its more of a beach house. Go off peak and avoid the noise. Check in staff was polite and friendly,

Room Tip: Second level is a little more updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTraveler0514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

I've stayed at Ocean Vista in the past and have always had a great time. Lori and her staff are lovely, the beach is unreal and you're right across from a fun bar. What else could you ask for? They're also honest and fair - when Hurricane Irene came along they offered us a year credit so we wouldn't lose our whole deposit. Great place!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBSFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dan1elleb
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We had fun and loved that the beach and Cyril's is so close. The room is a little bit stuffy and it was odd that the air conditioner was in the bathroom. For a hotel out east, it is good for a weekend but wouldn't call it fancy.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan1elleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We arrived expecting this to be more luxurious for the $340 plus dollars we paid per night. Perhaps this was our mistake not knowing how expensive the area is in summer. Our room didn't feel very private, with thin blinds on the window which didn't cover them properly and no mosquito nets. The room smelled of bleach every day after it was washed, there was no hairdryer or ironing board in the rooms and the beds were not comfy and they didn't change the linens every day so your bed can get very sandy! If you don't have car the location is not ideal unless you plan to stay the whole time in the resort. You will have to take taxis which are $15 dollars a pop (least - without tip) to Montauk and $20 to Amagansett. The priavte beach is lovely, very uncrowded but really I preferred the beach in Montauk. If you are looking for a romantic break away this is probably not the place. Better for families maybe.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

First time to the resort and had read the reviews. While each room was not updated at the same time the layout is the same. The room was comfortable, kitchenette fully equipped. and clean. Stayed in room 115 and it was ultra modern but was good. Great location to the beach, loved having the "patio" Yes you can hear the noise from above but otherwise the 50's 60's charm of the place is great. Pool was open. Loved that they gave you beach towels, chairs and umbrellas. Don't forget to utilize the tennis court.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank annaorysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
0.1 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
6.8 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#2 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
5.1 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#9 of 39 in Montauk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hartman's Briney Breezes Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Vista Resort

Property: Ocean Vista Resort
Address: 2136 Montauk Hwy., Amagansett, NY 11930
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Vista Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean Vista Resort is unique beachfront co-op located between Amagansett and Montauk, NY--one of the best values in the Hamptons. Each of its 46 units (studios and one- and two-bedrooms) offers TV, efficiency kitchen, AC/heating, wireless and maid service. The resort has an indoor heated pool, tennis, sauna and a private beach equipped with beach chairs and umbrellas. Photo courtesy of Ritter Photo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ocean Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Vista Hotel Amagansett
Ocean Vista Resort Amagansett, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing