We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, not cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Just spent a long weekend in Amagansett at the Ocean Colony. Nice accommodations, not cheap, however ( but nothing is cheap on season in the Hamptons). The units are individually owned, so some are nicer than others. The we stayed in was a large studio, very clean, nicely appointed, with a large deck, overlooking the pool and the ocean dunes (no ocean view, but still pretty). There are tennis courts on site, as well as a heated salt-water pool. Ocean is a brief walk through the dunes. No restaurant or bar on the premises, but you are walking distance to the legendary Lobster Roll(Lunch) as well as to the Clam Bar across the street (our favorite lunch place). All in all, a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor; they have better views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliftongirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

First time at the Ocean Colony & in Amagansett .Really enjoyed our ladies get a way mini vacation. Will definitely be going back with my husband and or family. Just might go midseason prices are a little bit lower July is the high season$$$$

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank happy172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is my fifth visit to Amagansett and the 3rd time I have stayed at Ocean Colony. I had very good font desk service from Celia. The location is perfect in my opinion when coming to the East End/Hamptons area. It is just 10 minutes to upscale East Hampton and the shopping and restaurants and movie theater there, and just 10 minutes East to Montauk and the horsebackriding, mini golfing, shops and restaurants in that beach/surf town. This location has a beautiful wide beach, never crowded, short walk from the condos. The pool is lovely and heated in the summer. Perfect after a cold swim in the Atlantic. They have tennis courts. The condos are townhouse style (2 story) or there are smaller apartments for rent (cockleshell, sand dollar and a few others). Yes, they were built in the 80's and they still have some 80's wallpaper and are in need of some updating. The units I stayed in were fine. Did not have a problem with cleanliness. And the current visit we are in Dunes West upper floor with 1 bedroom down, and loft upstairs with 2 twins. They put new comforters and covers on the bed which are very cozy. And there is a flat screen TV and DVD player. The view over the dunes and to the ocean is so pretty, you can spend most of your time on the balcony eating, reading, having a drink etc. We just watched the prettiest sunset and the deer came out below to eat at dusk. The unit is quiet in the Spring and Fall ( off season) but I have not been when it is mid summer and probably packed. If you are concerned about hearing your neighbors I would ask for an end unit, upper floor during summer months. The townhomes are on the smaller side, but it was fine for 2-3 people. Even a family of 4. I hate hotel rooms, so condos are the only way to go on vacation in my opinion. So even though some reviewers say the rooms are small, it is still a living room, kitchen area, and two bedrooms and 2 bathrooms!
PLEASE BE AWARE that there are TICKS in the dune grasses, bushes, and all the fields around Eastern Long Island and Suffolk County -- LYMES disease is very dangerous. It comes from a tick bite, and they are so small you might not even see one on you. Be sure to take a shower each night ( or swim), check yourself and your kids for ticks, and STAY away from the grasses and brush. I don't recommend taking hikes around the East End of LI, unfortunately. But our beaches are great! And East Hampton and Montauk are fun places to shop, eat and walk around.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ArtTeacherAmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Great location, very nice beach, mediocre accommodations. The outside of the facility is very pretty, the rooms were very average and on small. I felt that they didn't clean the rooms well because there were candy wrappers left outside on the balcony.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dgely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This area of New york has to be the prettiest place on earth. The beaches are wide and white and In September when the tourists leave only one or two other people are on the beach besides yourself. I really enjoyed my stay at this cute little bungello at this resort. It was a little noisy because it was close to the highway and not the ocean. But, every morning, I would wake up go to the beach, sit on of the resorts chairs and drink coffee and stare at the beautiful atlantic ocean. We didn't even have to go anywhere to eat unless we wanted to. Right across from the street is the best place for lobster and clams, etc, called "the clam shack" and then one block down on the same side of the street is the famous restaurant "Lunch". which is good but I like the clam shack better. So I highly recommend coming to this sweet little place.

Room Tip: Rooms closer to the ocean cost more but are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Excellent location and a nice looking complex but be careful in your choice of apartment. We stayed in Sand Dollar - tired, outdated and unpleasant decor, stained carpet, dirty chairs and absolutely no sound proofing so we could hear everything that was going on upstairs. A nice balcony overlooking the dunes but spoilt by litter. But the beds were comfortable and the shower not bad. The tennis courts on the complex are very nice and the lads on the beach helping with chairs and towels were delightful. If you can get a decent apartment, this is a great place to stay. The beach is on on your doorstep and fabulous

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P1JVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Great condos, some of which are nestled right in the dunes. They just don't make settings like this any more. Easy access to one of the nicest private beaches you will ever see anywhere (really!!) + a pool + tennis courts. You will not believe that you are still in NY. Location is conveniently located behind The Lunch/Lobster Roll and across the street from Clam Bar in-between Montauk and Amagansett. Everything here is very well maintained, beautiful, peaceful and relaxing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
0.8 mi away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
164 reviews
0.9 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#18 of 39 in Montauk
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Vista Resort
Ocean Vista Resort
#3 of 6 in Amagansett
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
360 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#5 of 6 in Amagansett
51 reviews
3.0 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club

Address: 2004 Montauk Hwy, Amagansett, NY 11930-2019
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Price Range: £145 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean Colony Beach and Tennis Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Colony Beach And Tennis Club Hotel Amagansett
Ocean Colony Beach And Tennis Club Amagansett, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing