We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, old fashioned rooms and amenities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sea Crest on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Great location, old fashioned rooms and amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We wanted a place on the ocean, near the Hampstons and we did not want to pay a fortune. In the end, after a long search, we decided on this place.
I understand from other reviews, that all units are privately owned and look different. We stayed in the Rapello building, unit 32, an upper level Ocean view.

We wanted upper level and ocean and that is what we got. The unit fulfilled that desire. The location, right on a beautiful, white sandy stretch of beach, cannot be beaten.

But our unit was old, smelly after years of threading on the carpets, musty old couch, manky furniture, rusty fridge, old cooker. It just looked tired and sad. There was nothing cozy or welcoming about it. My husband said: the bedroom is like a prison cell.

As I said: it did the job but at 257 $ a night, it could be a bit nicer.

Room Tip: Call and ask for a newly renovated unit, upper level nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chocolate74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    47
    12
    4
    11
See reviews for
63
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Islip, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Have visited Seacrest several times and have always enjoyed a wonderful ocean view from the deck overlooking the ocean. We always stay in the Rapallo building second floor. My last visit was in the off season (fall of 2012) we enjoyed a quite weekend and East Hampton Village is nearby and without the summer crowds you can enjoy the shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Units on the second floor Rapallo. Last stay was in unit #33
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville Centre, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We just returned from a beautiful fall weekend in Amagansett. We stayed at Seacrest and were lucky enough to get #37. The unit is beautiful, clean, comfortable and has an amazing view of the ocean. It looks to be recently renovated, especially the bathroom, which was pristine. The deck was perfect to watch sunrises, sunsets and to enjoy an meal outside. It was a short walk to the beach. We also loved the location of Seacrest; it was in the middle of the Napeague Stretch so getting to Montauk or East Hampton was quick. Great weather, lovely accommodations and beautiful scenery...a perfect getaway!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lynn995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

We booked with Expedia and stayed in unit #35, upper floor with ocean views, owned by Roz and Bill, on October 22nd. From some of the reviews we had read, we expected pleasant views and merely adequate accommodations at Sea Crest. Well, what an impressive surprise to see a beautiful unit that was way beyond expectations, an incredible value for these off-season prices. Very clean and well-equipped, the rooms were small, but bright, and the views took our breath away. Large private beach with super-easy access right outside the door and down the stairs. Plenty of chairs and loungers provided. At night the access over the dunes is well-lit for star-gazing on the beach.

Two flat-screen tv's in the unit, dishwasher, toiletries, everything you would need.The bed was very comfortable, and the linens and pillows fantastic. A small suggestion would be to have better blinds over the bedroom windows, as the property lights are quite bright. One other caution is that many of the restaurants and businesses close up for the winter, so you are limited as to where to eat. We will definitely return here in off season, though, as the slight inconvenience of fewer dining choices is more than made up for in deserted gorgeous beaches and parks, traffic-free roads, and million-dollar views at bargain prices. Great, great mini-vaycay!

Room Tip: At a very small additional price, it is well worth the cost to take an oceanfront unit on the upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BestAlsFan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freeport
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We have been going to Seacrest in early off-season for years. The view from the second floor privately owned condo is outstanding! The terrace of the condo is perched just above the pine, beach rose dunes.
It is a very quiet reflective experience, as it is situated next to the western end of Hither Hills State park.
The condos vary by ownership, though my experience has always been pleasant. Our 4 day mini vacation proved to be a well needed break.

Room Tip: second floor- best views! also ask to see the condo before checking in as they are privately owned a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeportLisa_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012

Love Sea Crest! Simplicity at it's best! Shout out to Rosemary,Yvonne and Molly! who were so sweet and accommodating ! Hope to return next year! One tiny complaint, not enough rooms with king-size beds!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, ny
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We luckily rented a renovated 1 bedroom condo which had a fabulous view of the ocean despite being on the first floor. Unfortunately, we could not remain there for fourth night so we looked at several other condos that were available. Put simply, we would not have been happy staying in any of the others as they were not renovated and smelled musty, had worn furnishings and some of the kitchen appliances were chipped - making preparing a meal very unappetizing.. And, to top it off, the Manager would only give a 5% discount to stay in one of these unappealing condos! This is during the off-season when many other rentals in Montaulk are advertising stay 2 nights, get one free! Bottom line - the views are spectacular but be sure to ask for a renovated room!

Room Tip: Make sure its a renovated room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianaRhinebeck_ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
6.7 mi away
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
Kenny's Tipperary Inn
#6 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#2 of 39 in Montauk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Vista Resort
Ocean Vista Resort
#5 of 6 in Amagansett
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#3 of 6 in Amagansett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Atlantic Beach Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest on the Ocean

Property: Sea Crest on the Ocean
Address: 2166 Montauk Highway, Navajo La., Amagansett, NY 11930
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Crest on the Ocean 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Crest on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest On The Ocean Hotel Amagansett
Sea Crest Amagansett
Sea Crest Hotel Amagansett
Amagansett Sea Crest
Sea Crest On The Ocean Amagansett, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing