We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We had a wonderful respite from NYC at the Sea Crest. The setting is perfect. The grounds are so well maintained and landscaped. Our 5 year olds loved both beach and pool options. The recently remodeled room was very nice and well appointed. The service and staff were so friendly and helpful. Thank you Harold, Jessie, Michelle, Courtney! We will absolutely return.

A few wishes: Allow food and drink in the pool area. Pool could open earlier and close later. Coffee in lobby or rooms would be nice. A playground structure. Stepping stone pathway from the boardwalks over the rocks so we don't need shoes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poolsideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Sea Crest on the Ocean
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 164 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

This place was great! The rooms are clean, and the staff was very helpful and attentive. However, the best part of this hotel was the location- especially since taxis/ cabs are so hard to find in the Hamptons (and you often have to pay per-person). The property is located between the water and Cyril's (home of the famous/amazing BBC cocktail), so you don't have to go too far for daytime activities, which is a huge plus! You're also close to both Amagansett and Montauk, where the nightlife is perfect.

I definitely recommend this place :) I visited with friends, and we split an apartment with kitchenette. We had plenty of space, and our friends who were staying in the region had no problems visiting us. My friends and I are already planning our trip back for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rafaella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This place was the perfect choice for our 3 day get away in September,2013.
There was a very well equipped small kitchen where we made 2 diiners, a small terrace/porch for sitting outside ,a TV with a DVD player and a comfortable bed a nice small bath.
The place is located half way between Amagansett and Montauk, so it's only a 10 minute drive to either town.
I would stay here again by all means.....oh, and right on the ocean!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank occasionaltraveler19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Montauk has always been a favorite destination of ours but never found anywhere we liked to stay or could afford for that matter. We usually spent way too much money renting a house but this time decided to go for a hotel. It took us a lot of research and deliberation to choose Seacrest but have to say WE COULD NOT HAVE ASKED FOR MORE. Our room (#14) was clean and spacious. The kitchen had everything we needed to make some meals. The location is close to restaurants. And Seacrest is right on the beach. The staff was nice and Rosemary in the office was awesome. We actually loved it so much we went back for a short weekend getaway just one month later. The bedroom is nice, the queen size bed was very comfortable, the furniture in the family room and dining room was so cute. Each unit even had balconies with comfortable furniture. The towel service and chairs/umbrellas on the beach was also and HUGE bonus. If you made me say one not so perfect thing I'd really have to think very hard and I would say there was no bathtub, shower only. But even that didnt bother us, we just gave our son a bath in the sink =) The parking lot was always full indicating a lot of other guests but the property was so quiet I really felt we had it to ourselves. I actually dont want to say too many good things because I still want it to be available next year when we return.

Room Tip: We didnt pay extra for the ocean view room (from inside) because we could walk out our front door to...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank THIS_IS_STAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Our family of 4, including 2 kids ages 17 and 21 shared a 2 BR, 2 bath unit for 5 nights here in August. We booked late, so we got the last 2 BR available, which was #5, a duplex unit right above the office. There was no real view from the lower level bedrooms, but there was sort of a view toward the pool from the small upper level balcony. Each unit is individually owned, so they vary. Our unit was clean, with tile floors throughout, and there was plenty of space for us. The beds were very comfortable. An ocean view would have been nice, but we did not spend much time in the room other than evenings. Sea Crest is all about the beach, which is right out the door no matter what unit you are in. Lounge chairs, umbrellas, and towels are provided and set up on request for no extra charge, other than tips to the beach guys. There is no lifeguard at the beach, so parents of youngsters have to keep watch. The beach goes for miles in both directions, so it's perfect for long walks or jogs, and there is plenty of room for ball games, sandcastles, or kite flying without bothering others. One evening, we got some firewood from a local store, dug a pit, and had a bonfire on the beach with s'mores after dinner. We got the idea from others doing the same on our first night. We walked by the pool, which has a lifeguard, but we preferred the beach. We made b'fast and lunch in the kitchenette each day. There is an IGA supermarket in Amagansett and another in Montauk. We tried local restaurants most evenings. Our favorites were Surfside Inn in Montauk and Indian Wells Tavern in Amagansett, each was about 10 minutes away by car. Across the street from Sea Crest is Cyril's, a laid back beach bar/restaurant with outdoor seating that attracts a young crowd of revelers at dusk, although the noise never reaches the hotel. In fact, for a large place, Sea Crest was fairly quiet, other than a few kids shouting for joy as they leapt in the waves. That's a nice noise, and I can't wait to hear it again next summer.

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have better views, and some are facing the ocean.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golf24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Basic, but nice place to crash on the beach. The rooms are pretty outdated (bright orange bathroom anyone!), and if you get stuck sleeping on a pull-out couch, be prepared for springs in your back and a bad night's sleep. The guy who manages this resort (and the neighboring ones) is a real jerk, so don't expect any favors if you want to have friends meet you on the beach. He's a jerk about parking passes, etc. Be warned there is a 4-night minimum in the summer, and some of the hotels nearby are about the same quality and do not have the same minimum.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FromNYCtoTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our family rented many units at the Sea Crest Resort this past July. Each unit is individually owned so they varied but on the whole we all enjoyed our stay. The beach chair and towel service is a reason we chose this resort and was well done. The resort is quiet which is a plus and the service offered at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The weather during our stay was unseasonably warm so we did not make use of the charcoal grills and the pool area seemed warm given it's enclosure. Pool temperature also seemed too warm but I assume if the ambient temperature was cooler it would not have seemed so uncomfortable. The towel service at the pool was excellent.

Room Tip: If you are interested in an ocean view choose a room on the top floor of the Rapallo and St Tropez b...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELER540000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
0.1 mi away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#18 of 39 in Montauk
138 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 39 in Montauk
362 reviews
2.2 mi away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Vista Resort
Ocean Vista Resort
#3 of 6 in Amagansett
82 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#4 of 6 in Amagansett
51 reviews
5.0 mi away
Montauk Blue Hotel
Montauk Blue Hotel
#10 of 39 in Montauk
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Crest on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Crest on the Ocean

Address: 2166 Montauk Highway, Navajo La., Amagansett, NY 11930
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Amagansett
Price Range: £122 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea Crest on the Ocean 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Sea Crest on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Crest On The Ocean Hotel Amagansett
Sea Crest Amagansett
Sea Crest Hotel Amagansett
Amagansett Sea Crest
Sea Crest On The Ocean Amagansett, Hamptons, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing