We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shockingly grotty for the UAE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel Ajman
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Ajman
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 643 helpful votes
“Shockingly grotty for the UAE”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Hello? Herr Kempinski. Are you awake? Have you ever been to the edifice that is called the Kempinski in Ajman, one the less rich United Arab Emirates? The hotel was built in the late 1990s and there isn’t a square inch that has any class or style. Everything about this place was quite shocking - shocking for the UAE, that is, and in a year or so new next-door hotels from Sheraton and Fairmont will probably put an end to the Kempinki’s long phoney reign of being Ajman’s finest. I don’t think Kempinski will care much. Seventy percent of the guests are Russian and they’ll still come here. And also, Kempinski has the uber-luxury Emirates Palace down the road in Abu Dhabi to burnish the brand.

Our room, on the fourth floor, had a good view of the beach. The balcony was small with nasty little chairs and you couldn’t keep the door open and thus get fresh air into the room. The room itself was of adequate size, bright and white, with decent quality fittings and an extremely comfy bed. The bathroom was a big letdown, pokey and dark and with a weird dove grey suite. Overall the room was of the quality you’d expect at an airport hotel at Gatwick.

We had dinner in the main restaurant where they served a mean, penny-pinching buffet for about £40 per person. Just salads and precooked stews. A nasi goreng was 99% rice with a few bits of gristle thrown in. Desserts were slightly better but this was way below the standards you’d expect at this price level. Breakfast the next morning was similarly disappointing and had the atmosphere of a package hotel in communist-era Bulgaria.

The hotel’s own literature promises the finest private beach in the UAE. Well, it is pleasant grey sand but nowadays it’s your typical UAE building site at both ends. When we checked in one of the first things we were told is they don’t let you take a towel for the pool or the beach without handing in some special card and if you lose the card or the towel they fine you £20. Trusting lot, aren’t they?

And then there’s the internet. No wi-fi in the rooms, only in the public areas and the business centre. It was free down there, we were told. Then it wasn’t. Finally someone said the hotel has to pay the Ajman telephone company so they must charge the guest. Apparently £10 an hour. It’s this sort of thing that really marks a hotel down for me. They assume their guests will steal their beach towels and they rip them off for using the internet.

For these reasons alone, this place is an absolute disgrace for the UAE and for Kempinski.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    279
    124
    41
    23
See reviews for
323
488
39
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

No matter what the service in hotels me and my husband stay at is, we always say we will return. Usually we don't because we want to experience other places. Kempinski Hotel in Ajman is just the place we need. Check-in was in the middle of the night (e-mails about late check-in were exchanged) was fast and that is always appreciated, especially after a long flight. Staff is kind, effective, approachable, understanding and professional. My husband was sick for the most of the time and housekeeping brought complete new bedding in the middle of the night, we got everything we asked for. A Doctor was called (German Clinic is nearby) and the Hotel has a Nurse that was of great help, too.
You have to try out the massages!!! They actually listen to you and adjust everything to your needs. A lady from Bali works there (I'm so sorry, I'm soooo bad with names!) and my husband is not easy to impress but this time he was.
Beach is private, clean, so is the pool with some of those big chairs that allow you to stretch all over the place.
Laguna Poolside room was worth the money. I don't care so much about the size of it as I do about the cleaninless and this place IS clean, believe me.
Buffet breakfast (you can eat inside or outside) was really good. Coffee was hot and after staying at so many Hotels I had the impression that was something that cannot be achieved but Kempinski Ajman excelles at it. It might seem to you that I'm easily impressed and a bit of a hillbilly but just think how important it is to get a smile, clean bed, hot and tasteful first coffee in the morning and somedoby that is willing to listen to your concerns. I got all that at Kempinski Ajman.
When we were leaving I really felt they were sorry my husband missed out on it so much and wanted us to come back. I booked laguna room again 2 days ago. Wooohooo! Kemppinski Ajman, here we come!!!
One complaint only: please arrange for internet codes to be used multiple time and not just in one go.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brgitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiAjman, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ajman, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Brgitka,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Ajman and we would like to thank you for your valuable comments. We work very hard to ensure each and every one of our guests have a memorable experience and are very grateful that you’ve decided to share your experience with others. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kempinski Hotel Ajman soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crespina, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I'm running business near Ajman, U.A.E. and my favourite place to stay is the Kempinski Hotel. The building and the rooms are very nice, the facilities quite good. A huge pool, a long beach, gym, sauna, massages parlours, restaurants ... perfect. But what's really makes the difference is the people who work there: incredibly kind, caring, gentle, attentive. All of them: I don't know who's in charge of the HR at the Kempinski network of hotels, but this person really does a great job: only the best work at the K ! If you go there, don't miss a dinner at Sabella's, the Italian restaurant: Giancarlo, the chef, will pamper you with his lovely dishes ... and his personal fantastic mood. Ajman Kempinski is a lovely place indeed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpinningMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiAjman, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ajman, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear SpinningMax,

Greeting from Ajman and thank you for your positive feedback about Kempinski Hotel Ajman! It is our goal to provide all of our guests with an unforgettable experience and we’re glad to see that you’ve had a very memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you have back to Kempinski Hotel Ajman soon.

With sunny regards from Ajman,

Nicholas Labhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We stayed here for a weekend break and it was just what we needed. The hotel has one of the best beaches in Emirates that stretches along the coast. The hotel pool and beach were both clean and suited to our needs. The room was perfect, not to flashy but they had everything one would need for a weekend away.

The hotel restuarant were fine but the main buffet restaurant was a little outdated.

Overall, a nice stay and very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiAjman, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ajman, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Shaun R,

Greeting from Ajman and thank you for your positive feedback about Kempinski Hotel Ajman! It is our goal to provide all of our guests with an unforgettable experience and we’re glad to see that you’ve had a very memorable stay. We look forward to welcoming you have back to Kempinski Hotel Ajman soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 January 2012

It was a relaxing weekend. The best part was having a Kids Club open all day where we kept our little girl. They were very friendly. The worst is the food. Although there is a number of restaurants, you're quite limited. The breakfast buffet was the best though!
Rooms were beautiful though...

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InBahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

+ very nice hotel and helpful hotel stuff
+ 5 different restaurants to choose from
+ very nice beach
+ excellent spa treatments

- room was ready @ 3 pm only (arrival was @ 9 am), but hotel was fully booked
- beach canvas have to be reserved in the morning (because everyone does)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_K_Brunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KempinskiAjman, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel Ajman, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear M_K_Brunner,

Greetings from Kempinski Hotel Ajman and we would like to thank you for your valuable comments. We work very hard to ensure each and every one of our guests have a memorable experience and are very grateful that you’ve decided to share your experience with others. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kempinski Hotel Ajman soon!

Nicholas Labhart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadillac, Michigan
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I was disappointed from the time I arrived. I got there at 2:00AM and was the only person to check in and it still took 30 minutes. The desk person seemed more concerned about trying to find my missing reservation than actually checking me in. When I got to my room it was nothing special - I'm sure the appeal of the location is the beach but traveling for business there was no time beyond looking out the window when I got up 5 hours later. The breakfast was ok - things were looking a bit rough from previous guests with no one trying to straighten them up. They charge for internet access which seems to be nickle and dime considering what the cost of the room was. Overall it was not worth the money. The impression might be different if it was a vacation with time for the beach.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phantom_49601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ajman
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Ajman
Fairmont Ajman
#2 of 27 in Ajman
806 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ajman Palace Hotel
2.2 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Sharjah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ajman Beach Hotel
Ajman Beach Hotel
#9 of 27 in Ajman
49 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Sharjah Beach Resort & Spa
1.2 mi away
Ramada Beach Hotel Ajman
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel Ajman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Ajman

Property: Kempinski Hotel Ajman
Address: Kempinski Hotel Ajman Shk Humaid Bin Rashid Al Nuaiemi St | P.O. Box 3025, Ajman, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ajman > Ajman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ajman
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ajman
#4 Spa Hotel in Ajman
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ajman
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Ajman 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel Ajman is situated in the United Arab Emirates right on the shores of the Arabian Gulf, 25 km from Dubai. Offering 180 sea or pool view rooms and boasting a private white sandy beach, which is classed by many as the best private beach in the UAE. Dining options range from traditional Indian and Chinese cuisine, to rustic Italian and themed international buffets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Ajman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajman Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Ajman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing