We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“White 4WD and camels”
Review of Camel Souk

Camel Souk
Book In Advance
More Info
US$147.00*
and up
Make Your Own Al Ain City Tour - Private Tour from Abu Dhabi
Ranked #9 of 48 things to do in Al Ain
Attraction details
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
151 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“White 4WD and camels”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As the last camel souk in the UAE, it is interesting to have this authentic arabian experience and see camels and camel trading first hand, even if it is now staged at times from gleaming white 4 WDs. We were told that these camels are bought for food or transport and not for racing.

The souk is about 1/2 hour taxi ride from Al Ain's city center and a 15 minute treeless walk behind Bawadi Mall -- beyond the guard and fence and past the industrial park of camel feed and other wholesale shops. In addition there are adjacent areas with other livestock to buy, such as, goats.

I recommend going as early as possible in the morning and be prepared to pay for taking photos of the camels, or to be hassled if you do not pay. Dress conservatively and for the heat. I think the souk was worth seeing, yet no need to spend more than 1 hour.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank activechica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    73
    46
    14
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Loved this visit.

One of the last surviving in the UAE we were there at the wrong time of day to watch any trading but there were hundreds of camels there including many babies between a day and a week old.

We were surprised at how their colours varied from light to very dark. Although in pens they appeared well cared for and nobody approached us for money when we took photos. This may have been because we were part of a large group so there were lots of us walking around, plus guides. We were not hassled at all as we wandered around and nobody seemed to mind us taking photos of the camels although we tried to avoid taking photos of actual people.

There were also sheep and goats in a different section.

Definitely worth a visit especially if you can time it for when there is some actual selling going on.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank edinburgher2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeuwarden
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“not very special”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The market is huge with different animals. We wanted to see the camels and there were a lot, also with babies.They take good care of the animals, it was clean and water was available.It is a typical male event, there were no women. Be sure to be dressed decent as a woman, I had a not so nice experience with one of the locals, allthough I was dressed decent.
It happened several times that a man wanted money for taking a picture of his camel. Nobody speaks Englisch so difficult to communicate.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mims florida
Level Contributor
803 reviews
386 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
“no longer a special experience”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We originally went at 7am to see the Camel Market 5 years ago , and had a marvellous experience. The camels were in the desert, and loosely tethered together. We spent hours visiting them. We were looking forward to showing our grandaughters the same site today, so up very early we drove to area, but it is now an enclosed market with the camels in cages.No longer special. Disappointing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank gwgMimsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Must see”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We seemed to have been the only tourists there and it appeared to be an authentic camel market. Nothing touristy or fake about this. It was a huge newly built market, lots of camels, goats and other animals and other stands/stalls too (plants, etc). you could get yourself a bargain!
It was a bit difficult to find but worth the trip!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lmvz2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Camel Souk also viewed

Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
Al Ain, Emirate of Abu Dhabi
 

Been to Camel Souk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing