We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Sad experience, location is the best thing about the place.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Al Ain
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I love the Mercure chain, I've stayed in them all over the world as I like the idea that each is of the same high standard. This place fails the standard.
Looking past the out of date decor - needs an upgrade pronto. The pool is nice, but loungers need a clean and towels are threadbare.
What really lets the place down is the rude staff. The check in was rude, pen and paper thrown at me, telling me to fill in. Once done, room card handed over in similar fashion. Room number?? Where is it located??
Once in the room, it was a smoking room, I specified Non smoking. Rang the desk who weren't happy to help, but did offer a new room, but it wouldn't be as nice!! I kid you not, that's what he said. Security came with a new card and I left to find the new room.
Next, went to the restaurant to see what was an offer, yes it was busy, some tables were reserved, but not all of them and it was only 8 pm. The lady was taking us to a table when a guy - I assume he was the manager - swept passed us, kissed the bloke behind us on his cheek and ushered him to the table we were about to sit at! Right, In front of us!! Snootily he turned to my husband and asked him what he was after, oddly enough we wanted to eat. He told us we should've booked as they were busy, we told him we were hotel guests and we could see not all the tables were reserved - like the one he just sat his 'friend' at. He said it didn't matter. So we decided to leave , as we were leaving, he then found a table for us, but it was too late, no way would we be eating anything there. All this on the first day.
We asked about WiFi, no they didn't do it - even though our IPads, tablets, phone, told us it was available, we just needed to buy it. But it was free in the lobby, great and we could use the wired access in our room on a laptop. I told him, we didn't bring one and the guy sneered and said 'You don't have a laptop?'!! I told him this is the 21st Century, no one uses old technology like laptops any more.
I've been all over the world, stayed in no star and 7 star hotels, this was the worst service I've ever had to PAY for.
It's sad because we will be staying in the area regularly, we'll be using Hilton from now on.

Room Tip: Go to the Hilton, it's only a little more expensive, but the staff there know how to treat guest...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jackiemcmorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hani A, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Ms.McMorn

First of all, I would like to apologize on behalf of all the team for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us.

I would like to thank you for your comments which have definitely driven us toward a better improvement in our service and quality, and I assure you that a meeting was held with all the Head of Departments concerned and action had taken place in order to make sure not having this repeated in the future with our guests.

I will highly appreciate to have your contact details on my email H3573-GM@accor.com, in order to have the pleasure of communicating with you and make up to you and your family after such an unsatisfying experience.

I look forward to hear from you soon.

Best regards,
Hani Al Khouly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

On a mountain with better climate than Al Ain which was very hot and humid. Can stay for a day or 2 and enjoy the hotel facilities which are excellent, especially the swimming pool and slides. The bad thing was the AC in the room which was old and was not cooling even though few technicians tried to repair it. They should not give these kind of rooms till repairs are done. The hotel staff seemed to be working mechanically.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Prashanth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hani A, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Mr Prasanth

Thank you so much for your detailed review! I am so disappointed that your stay was not a satisfactory one, we will sort out the areas that you pointed out we will work hard on your feedback to sort out services lapses and I do hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back one day – to demonstrate better service and facilities to you.

Yours sincerely
Hani Al Khouly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Wow the location of this hotel is on top of the highest climbable/ drivable mountain in the UAE. And it's the only one there. Hotel is very well positioned hospitality wise. Their staff are very educated, well spoke and helpful. Rooms are clean and spacious with amazing view where you can see the whole of AlAin city. Food with top notch quality and service. Highly recommended

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank AhmedTamerMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hani A, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Mr Ahmed

Im so glad to hear you had a’ wonderful experience with us. Thank you for your kind praise about our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerly
Hni Al Khouly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel run by the group Accor is perched on the top of the Jebel Hafeet mountain in Al Ain. It is the perfect place to unwind, rest, enjoy the true beauty and unspoiled Arabic desert. Al Ain is a quaint and quiet little town, an oasis in the middle of the Abu Dhabi region. No high rise here, no honking, no rush either and certainly no "bling bling". The hotel itself is clean with spacious rooms, with all the amenities and family oriented. The pool area is lots of fun and wherever you are the staff is smiling, courteous and helpful. We stayed for three nights and the weather although hot at this time of year is great compared to Dubai or Abu Dhabi, because not as humid! The evenings are pleasant and one can dine al fresco under the stars and listen to great music while smoking a shisha and watching a nice performance of a belly dancer. The General Manager there seems to be doing a great job! We'll definitely be back and would recommend it to our friends and family.

Room Tip: we had a room on the fifth floor at the corner.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mailotuszen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hani A, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Madam

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I’m pleased to hear that you had a great experience with our resort and enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back hopefully soon!.

Yours sincerely
Hani Al Khouly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

First week of July i stayed with couple of friends in Jebel Hafeet Al Ain and here is my review divided into 3 categories Good, Bad and Ugly.

GOOD:-
-----------
1. Located in Mountain with Amazing View

2. Hotel is big and have facilities for Squash, Large size Swimming Pool with separate Kids pool and slide, Jacuzzi, Table Tennis, Snooker all in house plus have a bar and couple of restaurants.

TV Channels are also good.

3. Staff is helpful and friendly.

4. Close to Jebel Hafeet Mountain, Park and the Natural Water Pool.

Bad:-
------
5. Far from city and happening area. You will feel isolated as you will feel stuck in one place which doesnt offer much.

6. Room size is very small and in room facilities or amenities you cant compare with Dubai Mercure (Mercure Gold).

7. No Taxi available or no transport. You need to rely on your own transport or call for a taxi which will take 20 to 30 mins.

8. Drive to the park is approx 20 mins and to city or happening place is 40 to 45 mins.

9. Nothing around the hotel so you have to depend on in house facilities

10. Food prices is reasonably high

11. Restaurants outside; only one on top of mountain or you have to go down to the park where you will find Fried Chicken, Pizza Hut etc or go to City

12. In Room Internet is chargeable however lobby internet is free. In Room internet Speed is way too slow.

Ugly:-
------
13. Lot of insects around the hotel specially pool side so you have to be very careful when you going to pool or outside hotel

14. No Food Delivery means no restaurant delivers food there

15. Room quality is very bad. Plus room rates are too high compare to the other hotel in facilities.

Summary:-
- Highly priced hotel due to the location only as its located on top of mountain.
- Dont go alone at all. Take more food stuff with you which you like so you dont need to go out.
- Only stay there if you need privacy and peace of mind as if you have some meetings in town and you staying there so its a bad choice.
- Take your entertainment with you as there is nothing there to entertain
- No Night Life just a small bar with no activity
- Everything is far, dont go without your own transport.

Caiyad Phahad - Film Maker and Event Manager from UAE

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank CaiyadPhahad-TMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hani A, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Mr Caiyad

I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you did not have a good stay with us. The Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet is truly an iconic location and its benefit is the exclusivity. I would like to assure you that we look for constructive feedback and never eliminate any comments. So we are committed to work on the areas you highlighted and hope we have another opportunity to welcome you back one day.

Sincerly
Hani Al Khouly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

i Priyanka would like to mentioned the name of the reception guy who helped me since i made my booking.i dont remember his name but he was arabic guy who check me in.he was .very helpfull..i came with my husband and stayed in 402 dont remeber exactly but it was on 4th floor i guess. ,,room was nice with such a great view.clean rooms,,breakfast was average but the guy name shyam was excellent ...he explained eveything so nicely...it was very good stay...

Room Tip: view from hotel is very nice
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Prikesh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hani A, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Ms Priyanka

I am very happy to hear your stay was an exquisite one! Thank you for your wonderful review and recommendation. My team will be pleased to know that we made an unforgettable stay especially Shyam and Front Office. Please come back soon!

Sincerly
Hani Al Khouly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spend the weekend in before flying back home for the vacation it was like a short break but very memorable it was my first time and the kids loved it the pools were very interesting for the kids and the adults the staff were really helpful upon arrival the people at the reception were really courteous and suggested the best room and an amazing view and gave us the best service ever and also the man in the reception handed over a nice souvenir to my child who's was very happy, really loved the place and have to plan another weekend after my vacation.

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rozario675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hani A, General Manager at Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Mr,MrsRozario675


We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Mercure Al Ain Jebel Hafeet. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Hani Al Khouly

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Al Ain hotels
9.0 mi away
Hilton Al Ain
Hilton Al Ain
#3 of 15 in Al Ain
1,422 reviews
9.3 mi away
Danat Al Ain Resort
Danat Al Ain Resort
#5 of 15 in Al Ain
680 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ain Al Faida One To One Hotel And Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Al Ain Rotana Hotel
Al Ain Rotana Hotel
#1 of 15 in Al Ain
1,317 reviews
11.9 mi away
Aloft Al Ain
Aloft Al Ain
#6 of 15 in Al Ain
77 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hili Rayhaan by Rotana
Hili Rayhaan by Rotana
#2 of 15 in Al Ain
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain

Address: Jebel Hafeet Truck Rd | PO Box 24476, Al Ain 0, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Abu Dhabi > Al Ain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Al Ain
#7 Luxury Hotel in Al Ain
Price Range: £36 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet with 124 rooms is a unique mountain oasis resort, located at 915 m on Hafeet Mountain, just a 2hr drive from Abu Dhabi and Dubai. With refined authentic architecture reflecting the magic atmosphere of the region, the hotel offers 2 restaurants, a coffee shop and a bar with breathtaking views of the city. There are also various meeting facilities and recreational activities available such as a health club, 3 swimming pools with water slides, mini golf and a kids playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain Hotel Al Ain
Mercure Al Ain
Accor Al Ain
Mercure Grand Jebel Hafeet Al Ain Emirate Of Abu Dhabi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing