We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has potential, falls short of the promise...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2012

I stayed here for two nights and will not willingly return until the potential this hotel offers is met.

Check-in was delayed because rooms weren't cleaned which was a big inconvenience and the staff weren't apologetic.

In the villa, water was leaking over the bathroom floor from the hose. To the hotel's credit, they fixed it promptly, but having just had the room cleaned, this shouldn't have happened.

There were ants in the kitchen and no bottle opener to enjoy items from the mini bar.

Like many hotels in the region, this one is spaced out and requires a buggy to get around from the lower levels to the reception up the hill. Calling a buggy doesn't guarantee its arrival, sometimes you have to call twice because the message wasn't passed on.

Internet is not included and needs to be purchased separately at a high rate.

Breakfast is the best buffet of the day. Otherwise, the food is no different to any other buffet. If dining at an outdoor buffet, the food isn't hot, rather it is warm.

The resort is a relaxing place with nice surroundings, a good beach and a nice beach bar, but for my money, I won't return until the service improves. There is potential but poor service had a huge impact on my stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool villa
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citisurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2012

Dear citisurfer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback in regards to your recent weekend stay at the Cove Rotana Resort.

With much regret we learnt that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. All you comments and suggestions are duly noted and be assured that we are taking steps to resolve these matters. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience or discomfort caused.

Once again, we would like to thank you for sharing this matter with us and for giving us the opportunity to improve further our standards.



Sincerely,



The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,324)
There are newer reviews for Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,762 - 1,768 of 3,326 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

I only stayed one night but I would sure go again for a longer break and stay at one of their villas with private pool, I had a deluxe twin which had a balcony over looking he sea, the room was well equipped with everything you needed. The hotel is a huge compound with private beach and 2 large infinity pools, 2 restaurants and a gift shop. Friendly staff willing to assist you at all times. There is a buggy service to take you to and from wherever as the hotel rooms are high up and there are a lot of steps to climb, bear this is mind when your are booking if you don't want to be climbing high to your room.

Room Tip: Request for a seaview and if you don't have any walking disabilities asks for a room high up the...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyC1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2012

Dear JanetCoulbeck,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive review on TripAdvisor following your short break at The Cove Rotana Resort.

We are truly delighted to note that you and your family sincerely enjoyed our facilities and services. With pleasure we noted that you plan already another trip to our resort to try one of our villas with private plunge pool.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Cove Rotana Resort soon.

Kind regards,

The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Apart from forgetting to have us collected at the airport , which the hotel manager personally apologised for, the hotel was a great escape for a 4 day break. Not much to do outside of the complex but then we didnt got to look around , we just wanted to stop ! The staff were all extremely friendly and polite, the buffet food was well presented, interesting and varied each day.
The room we had was a premium sea view room with a large balcony, great view and big bed. (no Bath ) the lagoon pool was massive and quite. Couldnt fault it , highly recommended.

Room Tip: No ideal if you want to do stuff outside of the complex, i may be wrong, but it looked pretty desser...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eatinginbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear eatinginbath,

Thank you very much for your very positive review of your recent holiday with us at The Cove Rotana Resort. I am happy to read of your experience with our resort facilities and services and it is very pleasing to read how much you have enjoyed your time with us.
With much regret, however, I read about the failure to collect you from the airport for which we sincerely apologize. Be assured that this does not reflect our usual standard and your willingness to share offers us the opportunity to improve our services.

Whereas Ras Al Khaimah certainly cannot be compared with buzzing Dubai, it offers interesting historical sites as well as several museums with amazing exhibitions. For further detailed information please visit the website rakpedia.com.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and recommending us on TripAdvisor and look forward to welcoming you back to the Cove Rotana Resort in the future for another relaxing stay and to further explore Ras Al Khaimah and surrounding.


Sincerely,

The Executive Assistant Manager of
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Stayed here more than a year ago. The Classic King Room was nice and had a good view. They also gave us a cake for our anniversary.

I just wish the room locations and distance from the beach were somehow described online.. It was a little tiring to go around. We requested for sea view, so we were given a room in 9th level and it was hard to climb uphill from the beach because golf carts were not easily available. If you don't wanna walk far or have to wait for a golf cart, ask for a room in the lower area (closer to the beach).

Lastly, I was horrified because at the time we went there, there were too many bird feathers scattered all over the shore. Hundreds of it! i had to literally tiptoe to avoid stepping on them.. it was terribly disgusting for me because I'm scared of birds and was anxious the whole time that i would see or step on bird carcasses. I barely swam. I hope this isn't the case anymore.. maybe the migrating birds got heatstroke or something that summer.. ugh! :(

Anyway, the resort is really nice, the food was good too.
Try to check out Bab Al Shams too as an option.. I like it much better..

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsItchyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear MrsItchyfeet,

Thank you very much for your review of your stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort in spring 2011. Whereas we are glad that in general you enjoyed your stay at our resort, we regret to read about the bird feathers on the shore and wish to apologize for the discomfort caused. Please be assured that this was an exception, as we did not experience any re-occurrence of such matter on our beach. Further, a team of efficient beach cleaners are daily assigned to ensure that the beach is in good condition and free of debris.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and recommending us on TripAdvisor and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Cove Rotana Resort in future.

Sincerely,


Executive Assistant Manager
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

I have visited the Cove twice, with fantastic results, the accommodation, suroundings and beach bar are excellant, I would say this was the best Dubai experience for me. The Pool, service and staff were 10 our of 10 at all times. The restuarants and food were 5 star at all times. I love this place - !

Room Tip: ground floor villa near the beach, but all are excellant
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Judith L,

Thank you for your valuable time in posting your review and for recommending The Cove Rotana Resort on Trip Advisor.

We are extremely happy to hear that you once again enjoyed your recent visit to our resort. Thank you also for praising our service team which is highly appreciated. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with them!

Again, thank you very much, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sunny regards,


Executive Assistant Manager
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Having read the reviews on TA, I was a bit worried about giving The Cove a try. It was in-fact amazing!! Truly beyond my expectations. We booked a 2 bed villa and got a free up-grade to a 3 bed so loads of space, wonderfully cool plunge pool, very clean and comfortable. We live in Dubai so understand how the local "service" sometimes can be an issue but not at The Cove. From the wonderfully calm Abdulla at reception, Dani at the Sunset Pool and Rajesh at the Beach Towel Cabana, all staff were attentive, charming and delightful to be with. The atmosphere is one of gentle relaxation, take it easy and chill. There is masses of wildlife in the lagoon, great for inquisitive young lads, the beach is also great for collecting shells and pebbles and seeing all sorts of fish and crabs. Room service is pretty quick, inexpensive and good quality. If you want new and sparkly go to somewhere else, if you want charm, character and staff that have a desire to please then really, give The Cove a try. We will definitely be going back. Only a few minor points to mention - the Bascillico restaurant is nothing to shout about, standard Italian food but not expensive. The guy at the water sports hut is to be haggled with, just push him a bit. A later check-out can be arranged very cheaply. I can't wait until our next visit!!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for a Premium villa, great views and close to the beach.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estherjon5jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Dear Estherjon5jon,

Greetings from The Cove Rotana Resort!

I am very pleased to read your positive review from your recent stay with us at The Cove Rotana Resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and recommend our Resort on TripAdvisor.

With much delight we read that you were overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and service. Your gracious comments will serve as an added inspiration to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Cove Rotana Resort in the near future!

Sincerely,


Executive Assistant Manager
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at the Cove Rotana, a small group of mums and kids for a few nights of the school holidays.

Myself and my 6 and 8 year olds stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. When we arrived it took us some time to be allowed into the entrance area with the car as only so many cars fit (hard to understand until you are there, but it is a limited area). Our check in was smooth as we were dealing with one of the managers. We were then taken to our room by a mini van which the kids thought was very fun with the tight corners.

Upon walking into our 'suite' I was terribly disappointed. We are UAE residents and stay at beautiful hotels around the world and within the Middle Ease and are used to the high standards that are set here.

Our suite was over DHS 2000 per night and for that kind of price you should be staying in a 'luxurious' room. However there were no luxurious touches, everything was very ordinary. The only positive I can say is that the suite was very spacious and contained a kitchenette. However the only thing you can use in the kitchenette is the fridge and tap in the sink as there are no utensils, plates, bowls etc.

We had our own private pool, but didn't even use it. It is not an inviting area, just cement and a small pool. We may have used it if we hadn't been traveling in a group.

If you are booking a 2 or 3 bedroom suite you really must be aware that you are actually getting either 2 or 3 '1 bedroom' suites. There are 3 x 1 bedroom suites contained in each villa complex. If you have small children then you may be totally freaked out that your kids are essentially in their own separate suite and could do anything without you knowing (not good when there is a pool outside). If you book a 3 bedroom suite the only saving grace would be that you could leave each front door open so that you can at least hear each other.

By far the worst part of our stay was the service. Us mums were looking forward to a few cocktails at the pool and beach, but there was simply no service. We had to go back and forward getting our own drinks.

Breakfast was not a very impressive buffet and we were shocked when we arrived to find it was not included as we had thought it was and really, at these prices should be. All other food that we had though was very nice.

My only other petty issue was we ordered latte's on the beach because the coffee at breakfast was so bad. We received it in a take-away cup (which is fine with us), however the cup was only 1/3 full and the staff didn't understand that a latte is meant to be a long drink and stated that this was how much the machine made when they pressed the button. Clearly the machine hasn't been set properly by the F&B management team. We love our coffee so were quite annoyed at this.

The beach was not fabulous and the pool area not fabulous either. We enjoyed our stay in as much as the kids had a fun time on the beach and in the pool and us mums enjoyed each others company, but for a DHS 5000 stay I was really disappointed.

The Hilton up the road we now hear is way better, so try there.

Room Tip: Don't think your location matters much.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LelaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coveresort, Manager at Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2012

Dear LelaAbuDhabi,

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort on TripAdvisor.

We are sad to read that our resort did not meet your expectations for which we sincerely apologize.

Your comments in regards to our food & beverage are assessed, and please be assured that we are taking steps to resolve these matters.

Once again, thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback with us and for giving us the chance to improve further our standards.


Sincerely,

Executive Assistant Manager
The Cove Rotana Resort - Ras Al Khaimah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
10.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
8.0 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
#1 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,406 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#5 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
2,980 reviews
9.3 mi away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#12 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
518 reviews
6.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah

Address: P.O. Box 34429, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#3 Business Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range: £101 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah 5*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove Rotana Resort is located on an idyllic water inlet on the Ras Al Khaimah beachfront, offering spectacular views over the Arabian Gulf. Just 8 km from the city centre, 20 km from the Ras Al Khaimah Airport and an 87 km drive from Dubai, The Cove Rotana Resort is an ideal destination for leisure travellers and weekend breakers. 204 rooms and 78 one, two and three bedroom Villas, 3 fully-equipped and flexible meeting rooms with the latest audio-visual equipment, 6 attractive choices of restaurants, bars and lounges, the fully equipped Bodylines leisure and fitness club, 600 metres of pristine beach, 2 swimming pools and 7 exquisitely designed massage treatment rooms are among the many facilities offered at The Cove Rotana Resort – Ras Al Khaimah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cove Rotana Resort Ras Al Khaimah Hotel Ras Al Khaimah
Cove Rotana Ras Al Khaimah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing