We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For the Money You spend ,Its Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resort & Spa
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
414 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“For the Money You spend ,Its Awesome”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Booked a family trip to Golden Tulip khatt springs ,purposefully seeing some bad reviews of the resort in tripadvisor,but let me tell u for the amount you pay its a very good resort to spend some relax time,frst ill point out some problems, the resort is bit old, it was called al hamra khatt springs before ,and is located in a rural place called khatt in ras al khaimah sandwisched between small path of fujairah near to rak airport,the resort is located above a small mountain or hill,its is said to have natural geothermal springs on bottom of the hill,the parking is a major problem,if you come early morning for check in ull get space near reception or else u have to walk little,the food is good, respose time little less but ok, all things in hotel are bit old so doesnt work so well still for a eid trip i enjoyed well especially the pool facilities and the spa package

Room Tip: choose the room facing the rak view ,night view is excellent you get to see a good sunset also,examp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arun Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    105
    113
    45
    52
See reviews for
150
103
19
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

It was nice experience overall. Nice isolated spot away from city heights. I found service & staff behavior good.
Best time to be in this place is Winter as it offers mountain hiking, hot spring etc. which are difficult in summer of July to enjoy.
Pool timing in summer is too short as it end only at 9:00 PM and there's nothing else to do for kids. This is help yourself kind of hotel/resort which is OK for me. It's 1 hour and 15 minutes minimum from Dubai Airport.

Room Tip: Don't take room on the pool side - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miansalmananjum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This should not in any way qualify to be called a hotel! Grossly un-professional and understaffed; hardly enough parking space for guests; stale and distasteful meals; dirty and poorly maintained swimming pool! My advice to anyone, do not be caught with the error of paying to lodge here. Kindly go online and read user reviews before making any decision and that will not be a bad advice for any hotels being considered. I for one will definitely not return!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tunde3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ras Al Khaimah hotels

Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile


Stinjy management & poor service which had no sense of hospitality at all.
Internet connection was bad & room service was
The springs water place was neat & new but im sorry to have to say one thing that describes it:
Unfortunately, some local people who come for the waters, specially on weekends, turn the place into a public bathroom. U can imagine the rest. Real gross stuff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hayoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Where do I start! There is so much to say that I am at a bit of a loss on this review…

Right here goes:

There was a great comedy show in the UK called Fawlty Towers (starring John Cleese). Welcome to the UAE version of this!

The advertisements for the Hotel declare it is a 5 star Resort and Spa with spectacular views of the Arabian Gulf and is set at the foot of the Hajjar Mountains… Firstly this is not a 5 star resort, lets be clear it is not even a resort, it is more like an old prison that has been converted into a cheap hotel… and that is being kind. The rating of this hotel is around a 1.5 to 2 star at best.

The views, are to say the least, uninspiring! The Hajjar Mountain view is like looking at a Quarry and the Arabian Gulf is nowhere to be seen!

The hotel is marketed as being 20 minutes from RAK and 45 minutes from DXB Airport - These statements are completely true should you:

A - Own your own helicopter
B - Driving a car that can break the sound barrier with no traffic on the roads you use
C - Have a watch that moves really slowly….

On arrival to the hotel you are greeted by no-one, not a soul, no valet, no bell boy, nothing. You may say: well just deal with it and sort yourself out, we totally agree with this sentiment when I have not booked and 5 Star Resort and Spa stay! When we have booked a 5 Star establishment though we do feel that, at the least there could be a bell boy to collect the luggage. This becomes more critical when staying during busy periods as there is only 6, (yes I did just say 6), parking spaces at the hotel… The rest are set at the bottom of the entrance to the hotel which if you had luggage, (let alone children), to manoeuvre up the hill in 50 deg celsius heat would be a nightmare in itself. In fact it would actually put me off even checking in to be honest. Luckily when we arrived it was off season and quiet so we could park at the entrance.

We duly parked and entered the hotel and were greeted at the reception desk by Lyn. “Good Afternoon - Checking in?”. The response she should have received was “No I just randomly drive around with a suitcase and stop by hotels to chat to the reception staff..” I duly held my tongue as sarcasm is generally lost in this part of the world…

The check in process was smooth for us, as we were the only visitors - this was very obvious by the lack of staff in the hotel entrance area at all…It kind of felt a bit like checking into a horror movie hotel. The whole place felt “creepy”. While the process was smooth we were charged our entire stay upfront there and then… Again, this is not normal for a 5 star resort but I suspect is done as a lot of people probably leave, refusing to pay their bill due to the atrocious facilities and accommodation (as you read through this will become more obvious why).

During check in, Lyn informs me that there will only be Spa facilities available on the weekends as it is Ramadan. Now this has me majorly confused, if it is due to Ramadan that the facilities are closed then they would be closed at the weekend also so it cannot be due to Ramadan that the facilities are closed… I suspect it is due to the fact that they have no staff as it is Ramadan, that they close the facilities during the week. This has and always will irk me about the the service in some hotels in the middle east - they give an excuse and hide behind it without actually knowing or being honest about the real reason why…

Duly checked in and now on our way to the room - again no assistance at all, (A bell boy had arrived but seemed more interested at staring at us than actually helping). We reached the elevators and discovered that the button for the up function was crossed over with yellow electrical tape. On asking if the elevators were actually working we were told just use the down button only… Ok. Now things do break so benefit of the doubt here for now (Note: 2 days later and this had still not been remedied).

We did notice on arrival at reception that it was particularly hot in the hotel… We were on the 3rd floor and the heat only got worse - basically the entire public area AC was not on at all during our stay. When it is 50 degrees outside AC is a must regardless of how much money you are trying to save…Again a 5 star resort this is certainly not.

We found our room and discovered the door was wide open so, now all the heat in the main area has transmitted to the room we are in - the AC was on in there but the thermometer was showing it as being 28 degrees… So far I am, as you can imagine not feeling particularly relaxed at this Spa Resort…

The room itself was what I would describe as “quaint”. The decor is so far out of date it is woeful… There is a lot of green, carpet, curtains, bedding etc… Not a nice green but that horribly snot coloured green! The bed folds in the middle and you get one pillow each - ask for another and you are told "none available” - There were 3 guests from what we could tell staying, the hotel has 125 rooms but no spare pillows!

Now as previously mentioned it was Ramadan and we did expect things to be shut down but in a 5 star resort and Spa you do not expect this. This was part of the reason for booking. The Golden Tulip staff seem to relish the “it is Ramadan” opportunity and use it as an excuse to do as little as humanely possible. We attempted to phone room service for food but each time we dialled room service the line went dead. Eventually we called reception and were told to wait and they would have room service call us back. 20 minutes later we called reception again and the same line was given… Eventually 30 minutes later someone from room service called back. We ordered a club sandwich and a chicken and avocado wrap and it was in fairness promptly delivered and fresh. The reason for using room service is the restaurant is closed during the day in Ramadan. This is a hotel that is 35 minutes from anywhere so you are stuck eating in your room basically.

Please note that we are not suggesting that Ramadan is an issue to us, merely that many other hotels and resorts have a designated area to eat and drink for those that wish to and understand that when staying in a hotel you are a captive audience, even more so during Ramadan as you cannot, eat or drink in public, out of courtesy for those fasting. This was something we wholeheartedly wanted to abide by and ensure we gave local customs and traditions their full respect during this holy month and time.

Now duly fed we looked at the options for our stay. We decided to quickly look at the Spa to see if there was anything we wanted to do but on arrival at the reception of the Spa - which was in complete darkness, we immediately noticed how grotty and unclean the entire area looked. We both about turned and left post haste deciding never to subject ourselves to anything available for fear of catching some horrendous disease.

Back in the room we had chance to relax slightly and truly take in the surroundings.

The bathroom facilities are in a word “crap” and yes that is the nicest way I can put it! The glass shower door nearly broke every time we opened it as it is misaligned and is scraping off the floor - sometimes jamming in the process. The Hydro Shower had a weird box below it that covers the taps to power it - We suspect that you are supposed to remove said box to use this but on doing so (see attached picture) we quickly put it back for fear of catching some disease of the dirt and detritus contained in this area! The toilet itself is not aligned correctly and you end up sitting at a 45 degree angle to be able to use it.

That evening we decided to review the options at the hotel for eating… We did not have many options to review as there is only one restaurant. Needless to say we about turned, jumped in the car and headed off to RAK. Some 35 minutes later we arrived in RAK, clearly not the 20 minutes advertised. There we found ourselves at the Cove Rotana, a 4 star resort. Which not only has multiple eating options open all day but is clean, and has Spa facilities open. The atmosphere was jovial and much more relaxing. We duly ate dinner and then headed back to our hotel.

When we left it was sunset and the lights around the hotel came on. We arrived back around 3 hours later and all lights were off - we initially thought there must have been a power cut but alas no! They just switch them off at 10 pm…Again I suspect this is a cost saving exercise. We promptly fell in to bed and soon were awoken drenched in sweat and with our phones beeping at us to tell us that there was no charge left… Why because the hotel had promptly switched the power off to our room in the middle of the night…An attempted phone call downstairs duly failing as the phones were not working again resulted in me having to get dressed go downstairs and ask them to put the power back on to the room. This was achieved within two minutes so it does beg the question why switch it off!

At this stage, with one more night to go we seriously considered saying thats enough and going elsewhere.

This is not a 5 star resort, this is not a Spa it is a rundown cheap hostel, that deserves a complete renovation (note that the hotel was allegedly renovated in 2012 - I would dread to think what it was like before that time).

Over the stay we cannot fault the wildlife encountered but would recommend that it is not contained within the bedrooms next time. The main species encountered were cockroaches and there were plenty - climbing the walls and over the units in the bedroom, this combined with the fruit flies was sufficient enough to make you feel at one with nature.

We will certainly not be back and in actual fact you would need to pay us to stay at this hovel of a place… Our custom will be taken to those who actually know what a hotel is and how to run one. We would seriously warn anyone before booking this to consider all other options including the local farmers stables!

As for the hot springs - we did not even venture near them as we had such a horrendous experience in the hotel we daren’t have subjected ourselves to any further potential dirt.

Room Tip: No good rooms - avoid hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014

You really get your money worth with the Stay at Golden Tulip Khatt. It is one of the best places where you can get away from the busy city life and relax along with your family. The staff were nice and helpful during our stay. The Khatt Springs is a highly recommended place to visit and it is unique in UAE with no other Hotels offering a Natural Hot Springs. The Hotel has an excellent spa. The rooms were confortable. However, the TV needs to be changed.Rooms were clean, spacious and tidy. We ordered room service for Dinner and the quality of food was really good. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast as well. The hotel offers some excellent deals on food at very competetive prices. Considering the price we had to pay for the rooms, we would rate the hotel 8.5/10 and recommend the place as a perfect weekend getaway.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the swimming pool with the mountains on the backgroud is the perfect choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betty V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Considering the extended weekend that just went by, we too wanted a getaway from Dubai. Having decided last minute and most places already booked or expensive, we came across Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resort and Spa, Ras Al Khaimah. My husband and I, along with another couple, booked 2 standard rooms at the hotel through agoda.com for dates 23rd May – 25th May, 2014. We were looking forward to this short holiday.

We arrived at the hotel around 6 PM on Friday. Check-in process was smooth and we were soon in our rooms. Rooms were clean, spacious and tidy. We were pleased what we received for the price we paid. We settled in our rooms and decided to go for a swim. Since the hotel was fully booked, the outdoor pool was crowded (considering the number of rooms and people it accommodates, the pool was small). Whilst the boys went for an outdoor swim, the ladies passed and went to the GenX bar for some drinks during happy hours. Was nice, and the boys joined in a while. We then headed to our rooms to freshen up.

We ordered for an ice bucket in the room (after calling SEVERAL times, someone finally answered). Waited for 20 minutes, before 3 of us headed for the buffet dinner downstairs – leaving one of our companions for the ice & then join for dinner. Another 20 minutes later with no sign of ice he called again, and they said they would send it right away. Another 20 minutes later (ONE hour since we initially called), still no sign of the ice bucket. By then we finished our dinner, and our poor friend was still in the room.

Whilst at the dinner buffer another unfortunate incident occurred. My friend spotted a LONG hair in the mixed grill. She informed the restaurant supervisor about this – who at the buffet table itself brought a plate, removed the hair and walked with it away. ‘GOOD’ restaurant etiquette, would take that dish away and have it entirely replaced. I do not say the hair would have come from the kitchen, must be from the guests please 2 things could have been done here: 1) Restaurant staff constantly supervise the food 2) When you spot a hair, or anything unpleasant, replace the entire dish and not just publicly remove what is unpleasant.
I did point this out to the supervisor and refused to eat that dish, he then offered to get me some A La Carte from the kitchen, but I didn’t really have much appetite by then. The supervisor was however kind enough to waive off 1 buffet price from the 3 of us. And also send some food to the room for my friend who couldn’t join us for dinner due to the delay in ice.

No, my review does not end yet. The ice that was sent to my room was sent in a ‘plastic bag’. Wow, what service of a 5* hotel (at least as I see it rated on agoda.com). Later that night, we ordered for some more ice, this time it came in a mini ice bucket (at least better than a plastic bag). We chilled in our room chit chatting and enjoying the silence around the hotel. My friend got hungry and decided to order from room service. He ordered a Pizza for himself. Sadly, the WORST he has ever tasted. Not only worst in the category of pizza, but generally in food. Do not offer 24 hours room service, if you cannot keep up to standards. Unfortunately he was too hungry to not eat it or get about complaining – anyways it always took ages for someone to answer the phone (be it reception, ice or room service).

The next day (Saturday). My husband decided to order for some breakfast in the room. He ordered for ‘Two Eggs to Order’ and the person on the other end was not even aware this was in the menu. They had to call us back to confirm. And then he placed his order (with difficulty when the other person understood what a sunny side up egg meant). The breakfast was finally sent to the room – voila, without any butter (least did I know 5* hotel standard included serving breakfast without butter). Had to call room service again to request for butter. We had only 1 mug for coffee in the room, we requested for another one which we were refused. So, the hotel expects my husband and me to share from 1 mug or if our drink differs, we wait for our turn when the former finishes – interesting….

Oh well, then we were out and about for the day returning only late evening. This time we ordered for ice again. Came within some time, in a plastic bag again. Later, we ordered for some more ice, which finally came in a proper sized ice bucket (wow, so much of inconsistency before we receive something proper).

Anyways, to summarize my experience, the hotel premises and room atmosphere is good and I would rate it about a 6.5/10. Whereas the staff and service is concerned, a mere 2/10.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anisha8188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
13.8 mi away
Acacia by Bin Majid Hotels & Resort
Acacia by Bin Majid Hotels & Res...
#13 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
12.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
11.5 mi away
Ras Al Khaimah Hotel
Ras Al Khaimah Hotel
#20 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Mangrove Hotel by Bin Majid Hotels & Resort
Mangrove Hotel by Bin Majid Hote...
#14 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
17.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
15.7 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resort & Spa

Property: Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resort & Spa
Address: Khatt Rd | PO Box 16000, Ras Al Khaimah 16000, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resort And Spa
Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Hotel Ras Al Khaimah
Golden Tulip Khatt Springs Resort & Spa Ras Al Khaimah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing