We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected”
Review of Bin Majid Mangrove

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bin Majid Mangrove
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We booked to stay here as my husband was playing in a golf tournament
The Mangrove is quite near the Tower Links. Check in was fine butthey did ask me for AED 300 in cash as a deposit. As I had already booked on line and given them my credit card details I was suspicious! I didn't have the amount in cash anyway. The receptionist said no problem. So I thought no more about it! They were very full and upgraded us to an exec room as we had booked the basic as only there for one night. The room was enormous and you could have put another bed in the bathroom it was so vast! Everything was extremely clean and it all worked perfectly with lots of hot water. The a/c was set at 18 degrees, and try I might I couldn't re set it. The bellboy tried but it made no difference . In the end I switched the whole thing off. As it was so cold in the room we were perfectly comfortable all night.
We had dinner in the Chinese Restaurant in the hotel. I don't think the chef was Chinese and it was a bit hit or miss. The soups were fine but avoid the Szechuan beef it was tough and low quality meat. However, they had a very nice French house wine which was unbelievably cheap for this part of the world. Far better to go in here and have a bottle of wine and some snacks rather than go to the Polo bar which was an appalling smoke laden hole at the end of a passage, decorated with a huge tv screen with the volume on max! However, at the end of dinner I found out out about the dhs 300 request! We tried to put our bill on our room and were told that reception said we had no credit. My other half did not take this very well and we were able to put it on in the end after a heated discussion! When we went and asked at reception what it was all about they said they ask for this deposit in cash against mini bar, meals etc rather than put a stop on your credit card. Very nice idea but actually not very convenient!
There is a swimming pool area which looked nice if a bit small, an all day dining restaurant, shisha cafe and a coffee shop.
All the staff were very friendly and tried very hard to please.
I would not choose to go on holiday here but it is a nice hotel if you need to spend a couple of nights in RAK and don't want to spend a fortune.
One of the reviews mentioned parking problems, there are none now. Drive up to the front door and valet park, which is free for residents.

Room Tip: Great views of both the sea and the mangrove lagoon from high floors. We were on 16th
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aud61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

I booked the mangrove hotel as I was participating in the RAK half marathon and I just wanted a clean bed to sleep the night before. I was very surprised with the hotel for the following reasons:
- very very good rate
- excellent location (close to the starting point and right opposite the creek)
- very spacious rooms, you have a large living room and a spacious bedroom
- flexibility, we had to leave by 6 and breakfast started at 6:30 so they moved it to 5:30 so all runners could benefit
Would definitely stay there again next year!

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Maysaa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

As we checked in we got upgraded to a beautiful big spacious room over looking the swimming pool. The service was perfect and the the staff was so friendly and helpful. We had two or three restaurants to choose from and tried them all with impressing me. Will recommend it to everybody. Thank you

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Blikkies B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This must be one of the smartest hotels "on the strip", and always busy as a consequence. The room was great and the room service fine but the manager of the front desk was a disaster - shouting and screaming at his staff, surveyor of everything bad in this hotel and generally incapable of sorting anything out. The breakfast is varied and fine, though the best bit is watching the clash of cultures between over dressed locals and under dressed foreigners - as best exhibited by the Russian and Philippino staff. The parking is a nightmare, given the forecourt is small and full of over sized 4wds but there is usually parking around a corner, 500 metres away.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lamu99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Even the pool is still under maintenance, the Hotel is clean, has a lots of service personnel, the rooms have nice equipment and are clean. The only thing that was not alright is the floor in bathroom was little dirty and the door alarm was starting by itself every day in the night once. There is an alarm at the door for the case you don't close it proper which is useful but on the other side a harder door closer like in other Hotels would do it too and avoid this nasty noise. This alarm started at 12 in the night or before or after. It is just scarry while you sleep to hear that apart that it bring you out from a deep sleep!
Free upgrade to excecutive room was very nice! Very good price and nice breakfast!
I recommend for any case this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maryamk786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos G, Manager at Bin Majid Mangrove, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Miss Marina
On behalf of all the family of Mangrove by Bin Majid I want to express my gratitude for your comments.
I would like to explain you that as you know we have been making some improvements to our new pool, new jacuzzi, gym and new decoration recreation area and now is 100% operative.
I am really sorry for the noise and although it can be an incovenience for some guest we believe it is very practical and it is connected to our alarm system to avoid any kind of problem on behalf of the privacy of our guest.
We expect to see you again and you can count with a superior upgrade everytime it may be posible and as long as we have suites availables.
Thank you very much for your feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

Our stay for 2 nights was a good one. Don't expect a 5 star service from a 4 star hotel and you will find this Hotel a pleasant one! So yes it was good value for money! and yes the staff was helpful. It was a national Holiday when we visited and the Hotel was fully booked so we witnessed some delays in room service but come on, this is normal and it was not drastic! They even upgraded us for Free as it was not a last minute booking! The rooms were fairly new and clean. They also offer access to Ras Al Khamah Beach at Bin Majed Hotel for free with your stay with a free scheduled drop off/ pick up to the hotel. Yes I recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Creek side enjoy a nice view. Rooms on the opposite side are not very cool but you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shadibraish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan Carlos G, Manager at Bin Majid Mangrove, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2012

Dear Mr. Sadhibraish

On hehalf of all the Mangrove staff we want to thank you for your kind and sincere words.

Please take in consideration that National Day is probably the busiest day in the year and some dificulties are expected, nevertheless we work with the spirit and the aim of giving all of our guest the best posible experience in Ras Al Khaima.

Thanks once again for your recomendation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We wanted to spend UAE National Day holiday in RAK, and this hotel offered good deals (AED499 B&B tax inclusive) for an executive room (sleeps 2 adults and 2 kids). The room photos looked appealing, and its location was on the Corniche Rd/ RAK Creek, so we made a booking for 1 night.

Pros:
- Staff was friendly, check-in was quick
- Upon complaining from the view of the executive room (few meters away from the adjacent residential tower), we were offered a free upgrade to a suite, facing the Creek
- Executive Rm and Suite were both very spacious

Cons:
- A/C in the room was smelly, we had to turn it off in order to be able to stay in the room. Upon complaining, front desk staff they would send someone to freshen it up, but no one showed up.
- Lighting in the rooms in not enough
- Overpriced dinner buffet (you can find better alternatives with similar or less prices if you walk out to the newly opened restaurants on the corniche)
- Poor sound isolation in the room windows
- Extremely dirty windows from the outside (which prevented us from enjoying the nice view of the creek)
- WiFi was chargeable!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pshe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
3.2 mi away
Beach Hotel by Bin Majid Hotels & Resort
Beach Hotel by Bin Majid Hotels ...
#15 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
323 reviews
12.8 mi away
Bin Majid Acacia
Bin Majid Acacia
#14 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
536 reviews
1.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ras Al Khaimah
Hilton Garden Inn Ras Al Khaimah
#10 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
134 reviews
8.4 mi away
Jannah Resort & Villas
Jannah Resort & Villas
#9 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
93 reviews
14.2 mi away
smartline Ras Al Khaimah Beach Resort
smartline Ras Al Khaimah Beach R...
#13 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bin Majid Mangrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bin Majid Mangrove

Address: Near Corniche Hall - Al Khor Road, Ras Al Khaimah 2035, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range: £31 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bin Majid Mangrove 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the creek of Ras Al Khaimah, the Mangrove Hotel provides elegantly decorated rooms and suites. It features a swimming pool, free Wi-Fi in public areas and a restaurant offering panoramic views of the creek. Each air-conditioned unit at the Mangrove has a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. All of them have a private bathroom, a safe, and a telephone. Some suites include a balcony. Guests can enjoy the all-day dining restaurant. A second restaurant serves Chinese specialties. The on-site coffee shop also has shisha pipes. The multilingual staff at the tour desk can help guests to prepare their visit to the region. Al Safir Shopping Mall is just a 5-minute walk away. A free shuttle bus to the Bin Majid Beach Hotel with free access to the facilities is available. The local airport is located a 10-minute drive away, and Dubai International Airport is an hour drive away. A shuttle service is available upon request. Valet parking costs 10.00 AED per vehicle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Ebookers so you can book your Bin Majid Mangrove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bin Majid Mangrove Ras Al Khaimah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing