We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best experience at Waldorf Astoria!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This stay made me feel like valued guest. This hotel is designed for all the tourist categories, which makes it universal and unique. Stuff is excellent,first class service, fashionable rooms and exclusive balconies.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Emma A,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

I am delighted to read that you had a best experience with us and enjoyed the team members and hotel design

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,408)
There are newer reviews for Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,304 - 2,310 of 3,408 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

I visited the WA in RAK with my wife and 2 children aged 10&12. The hotel is spectacular and the rooms as good as anything I've seen including the Burj Al Arab
The pool facilities are great and we had an amazing holiday.
Downside food and drinks aren't cheap so book the highest tariff you can. ie. half or full board. During our visit the staff were still in training mode so service wasn't quite up to scratch but it is improving and once to full speed the whole experience will be fantastic. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Visit Iceland water park as well. Tickets are free from the hotel and it is a great day out

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank phileasfoggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear phileasfogg,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

I am delighted to read that you and your family had a happy experience during your stay; especially you enjoyed the pool facilities.

I have noted your valuable comments with regards to food and beverage prices and the team’s training, thank you for bringing this to our attention as through similar feedback we can enhance our services to meet our guest expectations.

Your recommendation of our hotel to other travellers and is appreciated and I hope that you will keep the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah as your first choice on your next visit to Ras Al Khaimah.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another holiday at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hotel is recommended, needs more activities for kids and more pool facilities, slides etc...activities at the beach are good, restaurants were also quite nice, but still lacks system, few teething problems, overall excellent hotel for a quite area like RAK...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Hisham Noor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Hisham Noor M,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

I am delighted to read that you and your family enjoyed the Eid holidays with us, especially the activities on the beach.

I have noted your valuable comments with regards to the children’s activities and pool facilities, thank you for bringing this to our attention as through vital guests feedback we can enhance our services to meet our guest expectations.

Your recommendation of our hotel to other travellers and is appreciated and I hope that you will keep the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah as your first choice on your next visit to Ras Al Khaimah.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you and your family back for another stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

after reading these reviews i am so disappointted and hesitating to go over there for this weekend as i just booked the room. i was trying to book at Baneeyan tree but unfortunately no room available . i had friends staying in the Waldorf hotel on eid holidays , and they were saying the same things about the food and services. so i really deceide to grab some cold sandwiches to have while i am there since it is not a long time and it will be only for 2 days.
i really hate to pay this amount of money and then in return get a low quality food and services.
anyways , let see what will be our experience .

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank mah817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear mah817,

I am delighted to read that even though you read some less positive reviews about us, you still plan to come and stay with us. I hope that you change your perception to Waldorf Astoria during you stay.

Your feedback is indeed very important for us and I can assure you that our F&B team are working to rectify the shortfalls in service while coping with such high occupancy.

Please feel free to contact me through your personal concierge and I would be delighted to meet you.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Should improve staff response to the guests requests and if something is promosed to be looked upon for the next day then followup or courtesy call should be given e.g better view of the room. and Ensure the bathrooms have all accessories like mats else it is cold... Gyms are poor, the kids club should avoid using scissors for children use plastics or fibre could cut.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear TripAdvisor member,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

Please rest assured that we have taken the issues mentioned in your feedback seriously and have also shared them with the appropriate departments to handle accordingly.

Once more, we wish to thank you for your feedback and we do hope to have the chance to welcome you back in future to show you our improvements.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Whilst I have to confess we are somewhat biased as we love the Hilton chain (Diamond members) this is a very good hotel, and has the potential to be a great one.

It is early days and they are running a big operation with new staff and logistically its a huge effort and yet I think given all those things, there is very little to complain about - and much to applaud.

We've stayed in hotels all around the world (for decades) and yet I rarely write reviews unless there is some element that needs commending or was very special or deserves a special mention.

We live in Dubai and decided to check out the new Hilton property for a night as a "taster" and used points for this stay. It was a Friday and very busy, and this would be a time when staff are pushed to the limits (and to observe how they perform under pressure), but they came through with flying colours. It was a seamless and co-ordinated service delivery from check in to check out - and very gracious as well.

We were upgraded (thank you) and although this is often customary for HH members, HH Honors "honours" guests in this regard and it always sets a great "scene" and a nice welcome. The warm welcome commenced from the minute we got out of the car, escorted to reception, introduced to our concierge, checked-in and then escorted to our room. It doesn't get any better than that and it is highly personalised and very gracious.

The room was quite beautiful, gorgeous bathroom and the bed linen and pillows and bed wonderfully comfortable - hence a great sleep - that is always important in a hotel.

I've read some negative comments about service, but we had a great service experience overall, at reception, at the pool bar, then at dinner and finally at the Cigar Bar. At the pool bar we observed the Manager was running around filling the air-condioner with ice to ensure seating ambience was comfortable (it is outdoors after all) and discretely directing staff, a good sign.

While we were having a dip in the sea, a jet ski came in towards shore and another supervisor ran down and shooed him away as he was getting a bit close to the swimmers. There is attention to detail and service everywhere you look and every effort is constantly being made. All the staff nod and acknowledge you politely in passing and one member of management asked how were were enjoying our stay.

It was a tad quiet at Lexington Grill, but that will change, but the quality of the food was excellent and it's a delightful setting. We were also the only ones in the Cigar bar and that often results in poor service as staff become complacent through boredom, but it was among the best service experience we've had (and as we live in Dubai and go out a lot, that's saying something).

The staff member was super professional (he knew exactly when to come over and when not to) and whilst we've forgotten his name, I'm sure management will know who it is - and you've got a great member of staff in that one!

It was a superb end to a very enjoyable stay, albeit a very brief one.

We had to leave quite early around 8am (and so can't comment on the breakfast) but in doing so left some items in the room. So a very special mention to our concierge Cleatus George, a highly personable and efficient young man, who made a number of calls and personally followed up our items (and we retrieved them last weekend).

It's a super idea to have a private concierge who can arrange dinner bookings and follow up left items, and we were most impressed by how it was handled.

I reiterate it is a beautiful property, with delightful staff who are very eager to please and has all the hallmarks for being a great hotel. We'll be back, which is always the litmus test of any hotel.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to use the services of your Concierge, it will make your stay even better. The to...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobalGal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear GlobalGal5,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind feedback regarding your stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

I am glad to hear that you had a positive experience with our team members from the moment you arrived in the hotel, we take great pride in our team members and we invest heavily in training each and every one of them to ensure our guests are truly taken care of.

Thank you for highlighting the benefits of being a Hhonour Diamond Member.

I have passed on your compliments to all the team members, especially to Cleatus and everyone is delighted to see that their efforts are appreciated. Our team is committed to ensuring that every guest is happy and strives to meet their expectations.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you and your family back for another unforgettable stay at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are based in the UAE and do a fair amount of travel internationally and within the country. You can check my other reviews on tripqdvisor... I only write one when I come across an amazing property or a shocking experience.
Unfortunately, the Waldorf at Ras al Khaimah was a shocking experience. I think if you read other TA users reviews on the hotel you'll start to see the common threads:
- unanswered phones
- delayed response
- rooms with issues
- untrained staff
- mediocre quality food
All hallmarks of a 3* hotel that should never be associated with a 5*, let alone a Waldorf Astoria or any beach resort in the ultra luxurious and competitive UAE market.
Some might call it teething problems, but I think its the local management greed to charge premium prices, hire average/sub-standard staff, skimp on training, and take bookings during busy times (weekends and holidays) despite the fact that the hotel is clearly not ready to deal with the crowds..
I blame management because they responded to my requests during my stay in the same cut and paste, dry manner they are responding to the feedback of all the reviewers on trip advisor!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
6  Thank bayass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Bayass,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback regarding your stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

I was most disappointed to read that you were not completely satisfied with your experience during your recent stay with us. It is with regret I learnt of your disappointment about the service you had experienced, and I would like to assure you that this is not a true reflection of our usual high standards. It can sometimes be quite challenging when the hotel reaches a high occupancy especially during UAE holidays; however, the service to our guests is of paramount importance and I am sorry that we have not met your expectations on this occasion.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in the hotel if you would like to share detailed feedback during your stay with us.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
2.1 mi away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#5 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
2,984 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
1.5 mi away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#12 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
519 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Address: Vienna Street | Al Hamra Village, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range: £157 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the palaces of the Arabian Peninsula, Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, ideally located 50 minutes from Dubai International Airport, will bring the legendary true Waldorf service to one of the most alluring beach front locations in the Middle East. An 18 hole championship golf course and a 350 metre private beach are set against the blue water of the Arabian Sea. The Waldorf Astoria Ras al Khaimah, will be a true luxury resort. The setting of this magnificent hotel will be matched by the unparalleled facilities with its stylish dining and entertainment venues, sophisticated conference and event facilities and its luxurious spa experiences available to guests. The 346 deluxe rooms and suites reflect the palatial surroundings and offer the luxuries of space and tranquillity. Each room extends over at least 72 square metres and offers panoramic views of the Arabian Sea, championship golf course and the impressive Al Hajjar Mountains on the horizon.Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah is home to ten bespoke restaurants and bars, offering an exclusive range of dining and entertainment experiences to suit every mood and flavour. From signature restaurants with succulent steaks and grills at the US steakhouse Lexington Grill, Japanese cuisine with sushi and teppanyaki at UMI, Middle Eastern flavours at Marjan and international dining experiences at Qasr Al Bahar to open air pool and beach side restaurants, elegant tea and coffee lounges serving light meals and traditional high tea and the vibrant night club, 17squared, on the 17th floor. A place of relaxation and restoration; the hotel's spa will offer signature treatments combined with exceptional care to create a place where guests can surrender and restore personal well-being. The gymnasium will feature an extensive range of Technogym equipment as well as a whirlpool and a sauna. Guests can relax in the two outdoor chilled pools and one the 350 meter white sandy beach. Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah offers a unique and timeless setting for gatherings and events of all descriptions. With the personalized service by dedicated event team this luxury property is the perfect location to host spectacular private celebrations, corporate conferences, team building activities, intimate beach weddings, cocktail parties, product launches and executive meetings. The hotel features a VIP arrival hall and multiple pre-function spaces, making it a spectacular venue for weddings, galas and high end corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing