We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel stay of my life!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I had booked in for three days and nights and at the end of my stay wished I could have stayed longer. Every single element of this hotel is fantastic! Every restaurant, Umi (Japanese), Lexington Grill (Steakhouse), the lobby cafe - was incredible.
The hotel room was above and beyond beautiful! The beds; perfect, the pillows; plentiful, the carpets; hypoallergenic! No, seriously, the entire place was/is gorgeous.
The spa was phenomenal! I'd recommend booking the VIP couple room - what an experience!
The swimming pool and beach - clean and we'll kept.
Above all, my most favourite part of this stay were the staff! Never have I come across such a detail oriented and dedicated staff - ok I well maybe one exception - the Raffles Singapore!
This by far has been the best overall hotel stay I've ever had! Well done to the management and the staff! Well done you all!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dubai A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Dubai A,

Thank you very much for sharing your very kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

We are very pleased that you had a most enjoyable stay with us. We learn from your comments that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay; be it the attentive service from our team members, the rooms and quality of the food.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another memorable stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,236 - 2,242 of 3,480 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2014

the hotel is very nice , the rooms are very comfortable and well furnished, but the staff attitude is bad , especially at the reception and the open buffet restaurant.... at the reception when a guest signal a problem and it goes completely ignored by the receptionist, it's a bad thing to happen in a 5 stars hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
1  Thank Walid A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Walid A,

Thank you very much for sharing your review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

We are delighted to read that your overall impression of the hotel was marred by the team members at reception and in Qasr al Bahar. I would like to express my sincere apologies for your experience but appreciate that you have brought this to my attention. All feedback we receive is taken seriously and we will certainly look to improve.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another memorable stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Beautiful newly opened hotel . If you fancy 5 or 6 days of luxury in a nice climate , this is a great place . The food and service are absolutely fantastic. The location ( ie RAK ) hasn't really got anything going on so don't expect to be able to travel extensively, although it looks like they are adding more attractions to develop the place .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Waldorf Astoria
Thank Julian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Julian H,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

From your comments I understand that you were delighted with your overall stay at the hotel. Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another memorable stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We've stayed many times in different properties in RAK, and this was by far our favourite. It is achingly stylish with a nod to local design; it's very luxe and the staff were always helpful. It's a large property but has more than enough communal areas, lounges, pools, chill-out zones and beds around the pool and on the long, natural beach to accommodate everyone. There were also plenty of shaded gazebos for 2 or 4 people around the pools and grounds - very nice touch, and plenty of gorgeous double recliners around the lap pool.

A couple of nags though: 1) They charge for Internet use - AED 80 per day (£13.70). While this doesn't break the bank, it leaves a bad taste in the mouth in this day and age. Seriously? I would have thought a property of the standing of WA would be above such penny-pinching. 2) Ditto - a "tray" charge of AED 25 (£4.50) for delivering room service. I don't think I've been charged for that for years. 3) Checking in on a Friday around 2pm when the hotel was struggling with MANY check-ins and check-outs handled only by four staff, was a zoo. We waited in line for over 30 mins just to get to the counter. I would have thought they could make this procedure more slick.

In terms of rooms, we travelled as a family with two children. We chose a Junior Suite - this has a balcony - important if you sit outside once the kids are in bed - but no separate bedroom (the kids sleep just through an archway from you). They had to sleep on the sofa bed, which was narrow, thin, sagging and uncomfortable.

In a way, I wish we had chosen the One-bed King suite, which has a separate bedroom, but it does not have a balcony. You have to choose what's more important to you: a balcony or a separate bedroom.

Kids Club was great. Staffed by very warm-hearted, engaged ladies. It was arts & crafts orientated, but the crafts were original and fun. My kids loved going there. There's also a cinema room, a playroom for toddlers, a small, shaded outdoor play area, a sandpit (I believe this may be a swimming pool in summer), fussball, and a grassed football pitch.

All in all, it was a great break in a luxe hotel on a nice beach. But it didn't come cheap, and the extras added up fast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellsDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear BellsDubai,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah. From your comments I understand that overall you were pleased with hotel and its facilities.

I have shared your compliments with our Kids Club team members; they were delighted that their service and efforts were appreciated.

Thank you for highlighting your thoughts on the internet and tray charges, this is something that we are currently considering to ensure that our guests have the most positive options available to them. I would like to extend my apologies for the delay that you received upon check-in during a very busy weekend.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another memorable stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I have stayed at some extraordinary hotels, including a deluxe suite at The Belagio in Las Vegas. However, this hotel certainly out rivals The Belagio. All the staff provided an impeccable service, and all our needs and wishes were fulfilled during our stay at this hotel.

We went with our 3 and 1 year old, so we were very keen to use the Kids Cub. So far this is the best kids club I have seen from all my hotel stays. The staff were very proactive and attentive to the children. There were plenty of activities to keep the little ones occupied.

The breakfast and dinner buffet were outstanding, and being a vegetarian family, I felt we were catered for very well.

I am not the type to comment over beds and bath robles. However, the beds and pillows were very comfy, not to mention the soft and fresh smelling bedding. The bathrobes were truly lush and so soft, I have never worn such wonderful bath robes in my life....if only I knew where they got them from.

The reason I did not give it 5 stars is because a couple of things let it down:
- Paying 40aed for 1 hour internet usage (this is a basic necessity that should be provided to all staying guests)
- Food at the Azure restaurant was a big let down. Cold fries and sweet pasta dish, containing chunks of cauliflower....I say no more!

Room Tip: Check with the hotel if there are any big events i.e weddings or other celebrations. Going during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Sonal S,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

We are delighted to read that you had a great stay with us and that your children enjoyed our Kid’s Club.

I have noted your comments regarding wifi internet charges, we are currently looking into this matter as we strive to provide the best option for our guests. We were not aware that you had a disappointing meal in Azure, I will personally look in to this. We do our utmost to ensure that quality food is delivered consistently.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be delighted to welcome you back for another memorable stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Wow this new residence is magnificent. The room was on the top 10th level of the left wing and had a huge balcony and wad very spacious. The facilities were very good and the buffet was excellent (but a bit expensive). 3 Other restaurants are available on the property.

The pool are and beach are perfect with good heating and surrounds. No catamarans at water sports but plenty of other options.

The hot water system let us down for a great shower and our room phone was faulty so each time I tried to organise something I would get crossed lines making it difficult.

The shops are slowly being occupied and the overall feel is super high quality in and arould the public areas.

The corridor around our room had a bad smell but it seemed limited to that location only.

The hotel is definitely worth a stay and we liked the overall feel of RAK.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Mrtracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Mrtracy,

Thank you very much for sharing your review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

Your valuable feedback is important to ensure that we continually deliver a high standard of service at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah. Thank you for highlighting the areas which did not meet your expectations including the faulty telephone and the lack of hot water. Please rest assured that every point in your feedback had been duly noted and will be actioned.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another memorable stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We recently stayed at the Waldorf for two weeks and had an amazing holiday. The best hotel we have ever stayed in. We were greeted by Cleatus on arrival and he and Shiny were always available in the lobby to help out with any info we needed about the hotel or surrounding area. We were on half board basis therefore always ate in the Qasr Al Bahar reataurant. Being greeted by name by the smiley faces of Millicent and the girls was very welcoming and the food was amazing, the chefs were excellent. We were well looked after on our special table exceptionally well by Kumar, Sanjay, Ashraf, Alexander and the rest of the team all who took great pride in their job. We were upgraded to a sea view suite which was stunning. Housekeepers Kirti and Kamla kept us amused with our house quests (towel animals, the monkey being the best). At the pool and beach we were again very well looked after, great pool. A truly amazing hotel and holiday made possible by the lovely smiley happy staff. Look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186361Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreHerrenschmidt01, General Manager at Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Dear 186361Ann,

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review about your recent experiences at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your two weeks holiday with us and were able to appreciate the hotel fully. I have shared your compliments with Cleatus, Shiny, Milicent, Kumar, Sanjay, Ashraf, Alexander, Kirti and Kamla, they were delighted that their service and efforts were appreciated.

We are glad that you were impressed with the friendliness of our team members who strive to ensure that the services are impeccably delivered to each of our guests in order to create unforgettable memories.

Please let us know when you plan to visit us again, we would be very happy to welcome you back for another memorable stay at the Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Yours sincerely,


Andre Herrenschmidt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
2.1 mi away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#5 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,032 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
1.5 mi away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#13 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
530 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Address: Vienna Street | Al Hamra Village, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range: £176 - £446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah 5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inspired by the palaces of the Arabian Peninsula, Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah, ideally located 50 minutes from Dubai International Airport, will bring the legendary true Waldorf service to one of the most alluring beach front locations in the Middle East. An 18 hole championship golf course and a 350 metre private beach are set against the blue water of the Arabian Sea. The Waldorf Astoria Ras al Khaimah, will be a true luxury resort. The setting of this magnificent hotel will be matched by the unparalleled facilities with its stylish dining and entertainment venues, sophisticated conference and event facilities and its luxurious spa experiences available to guests. The 346 deluxe rooms and suites reflect the palatial surroundings and offer the luxuries of space and tranquillity. Each room extends over at least 72 square metres and offers panoramic views of the Arabian Sea, championship golf course and the impressive Al Hajjar Mountains on the horizon.Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah is home to ten bespoke restaurants and bars, offering an exclusive range of dining and entertainment experiences to suit every mood and flavour. From signature restaurants with succulent steaks and grills at the US steakhouse Lexington Grill, Japanese cuisine with sushi and teppanyaki at UMI, Middle Eastern flavours at Marjan and international dining experiences at Qasr Al Bahar to open air pool and beach side restaurants, elegant tea and coffee lounges serving light meals and traditional high tea and the vibrant night club, 17squared, on the 17th floor. A place of relaxation and restoration; the hotel's spa will offer signature treatments combined with exceptional care to create a place where guests can surrender and restore personal well-being. The gymnasium will feature an extensive range of Technogym equipment as well as a whirlpool and a sauna. Guests can relax in the two outdoor chilled pools and one the 350 meter white sandy beach. Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah offers a unique and timeless setting for gatherings and events of all descriptions. With the personalized service by dedicated event team this luxury property is the perfect location to host spectacular private celebrations, corporate conferences, team building activities, intimate beach weddings, cocktail parties, product launches and executive meetings. The hotel features a VIP arrival hall and multiple pre-function spaces, making it a spectacular venue for weddings, galas and high end corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing