We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marjan Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“family Hotel”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I spent two nights with my family at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates. It is a beautiful new hotel located on a small island in Ras Al Khaimah. The rooms are very clean and spacious with new furniture and even a smart TV. The staff was very helpful and smiling all the time. I booked one night and was offered another one for free. Additionally, when we checked in, we were upgraded and offered a more spacious room with a large balcony. My kids were also offered a 30-minute bike ride each. The swimming pools are large and clean. However, the adult's pool is not deep enough. The hotel has a lovely beach in front of it which can be reached by foot or by the hotel's buggy. Breakfast was varied and plentiful.
The only inconvenience we experienced was that the room service didn’t clean the room till we came back from downtown at 11:30 pm. We had to call the reception over and over again till they finally sent somebody to make up the room. Later in the morning they apologized profusely and ascribed that to the shortage of staff. I recommend this hotel for Muslim families because it doesn't serve alcohol in its premises.

Room Tip: premium room number 306 that has a breathtaking view of the pool and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khaled A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    195
    100
    50
    51
See reviews for
368
174
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We had planned to stay here as a 2 day getaway with the family. Although the hotel looks good and the rooms are comfortable, it is let down by the fact that the pool is completely shaded for all but 2 hours of daylight and is not temperature controlled to compensate, the hotel beach is 500m from the hotel and you have to reach it by buggy and you feel like you are surrounded by a building site.

This would have all been manageable but for the fact that we were kept waiting for hours to check in and actually get to our rooms (and they were not clean when we got them), the bathroom flooded and the additional beds for my children were not ready at 10:30pm despite asking 3 times. The staff seem stressed by the continual stream of guests wanting to complain about something or other and in the end we only managed the one night before checking into the Double Tree just down the road to salvage what would otherwise have been a disaster.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We booked a hoilday for 2 adults and 2 kids to find out that the beach is not as good as expected and it was 5 min going by car!!
Also, it was not totally clean and full of rocks and debris and my 4 yrs old hurt his knee after arriving there by 5 min!!!

Although the rooms are kept really clean and comfortable but there's no good sea views as the hotel is still under construction!!!

I'd recommend this hotel if your're interested in staying in luxurious room with very good breakfast and if you're not a beach person or a person interested in room view.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lailaj80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It was a very bad experience staying in Marjan Island Resort, we reached @ 1:30 pm for chick-in we got our rooms @ 5:30 pm, in one of the rooms there was a water leak in the bathroom, and the other one the room controller was not working, and sped more than an hour for fixing the problem.. and the problem come again at the midnight (No AC and no access to the room door from out)
The swimming pool water was freezing and the beach is too far from the hotel (I don’t know why they call it RESORT!!!!!!) and there is no activities.
In the next day the maintenance team come to fix the room controller and spend almost 2 hours and the end they said we need to keep your room door opened otherwise take your luggage outside the room. and they don’t have another room available.
While checking out we spent more than 2 hours to complete our check-out as we complained about the issues we faced and refused to pay the full amount.
The staff need to be trained as they are unprofessional at all.
Room size is very good as it’s big enough

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahmad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, UAE
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night and have to say it is lovely. Very grand looking. The check in staff are efficient and friendly as was the manager. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite which was by far the best hotel room we have stayed in for a long time. Perfect with children as has a double pull out sofa bed in lounge. As all new very modern with high tech features. Also free wifi in hotel which was another plus point.
The downside - indoor pool was overrun with children all day long. We tried several times to go for a swim but not a chance. When I asked the desk attendant if they had an adult time I was told no. It is not advertised as a kids pool but maybe it should be. The outdoor pool water was freezing so not an option to go there either.
The hotel has no atmosphere and only 1 restaurant was currently open. We drove to the Hilton Doubletree, a 2 min drive away and what a difference. The outside area was buzzing at night with entertainment and music. And very busy.
For me personally I probably wouldn't return here but glad I tried it out.

Room Tip: I would suggest the suite if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1jax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Let me preface this review by saying that this hotel will undoubtedly achieve a 5 star rating, however, as it was only open for about 20 days when we stayed, they obviously were feeling the teething pains of being newly opened. So please don't let my 3 star rating dissuade you from booking this hotel.

As of this review, they only had 1 restaurant open (all day dining and international cuisine) which was more than adequate. The outdoor pool has no temperature control so the water was freezing. There are 2 indoor pools, but they are gender separated, which isn't conducive for family fun. The outdoor playground was wonderful and a lot of fun for our 3.5 year old daughter.

I had a few issues and I spoke with the Hotel Manager Mohamed and he was very interested in my feedback and even compensated us for some of the observations we made about various things, so this is good customer service indeed.

All in all, this was a good experience, but I do have to rate them lower based on our experience and again I stress that this shouldn't dissuade future bookings by people because they are working hard each day to be the 5 star hotel they are launched to be.

Room Tip: Be careful as the "Family Rooms" don't include breakfast, though all the other rooms d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sdemiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Got told we were upgraded but found out was only because the room we booked wasn't ready. Half eaten Mars bar in the fridge on arrival. Twin beds instead of double and staff very unhelpful when asked to change - got told no room even though hotel pretty empty. Phone rang after midnight and fire alarm rang at 3am with no apologise being given.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatiana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
1.6 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
#1 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,275 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#4 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
2,836 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#10 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
488 reviews
15.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marjan Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjan Island Resort & Spa

Property: Marjan Island Resort & Spa
Address: Marjan Island Boulevard, Ras Al Khaimah 14745, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#5 Spa Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Marjan Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marjan Island Resort & Spa caters to each and every member of the family, specially the little ones; we make their stay as enjoyable as yours. it house under our roof a wide variety of services including seven restaurants and cafes, an all-day convenience store, luxury spa retreat floor and a beauty center as well as a professional barber. To get the most out of your stay and soak up the Arabian sun, we have four swimming pools, private beach, water sports facilities and an exclusive Pirates Club for our young guests as well as other leisure facilities to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marjan Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marjan Island Resort & Spa Ras Al Khaimah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing