We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marjan Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Having stayed at a number of luxury hotels here in the UAE I can confirm that for me Marjan Island Resort was one of the best. From the moment you arrive at the hotel you are made to feel welcome & the staff really go out of their way to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.

The hotel itself is located on a man made Island (much like the Palm Jumeirah) and it is a very quiet and serene place to be. The hotel itself is decorated in traditional Arabic style & is beautiful - you really do feel that it is a luxurious place to be. The rooms are huge & contain all of the facilities you would expect. It is ultra modern with touch screen controls for the rooms & large balconies to relax on. Our room looked out over the pool & the sea - it was amazing.

The hotel has a large outdoor pool, two indoor pools, a spa, children's playground, and a boardwalk area that looks out to sea - with an amazing sheesh a bar from which you can experience sunset over the Arabian Gulf.

The beach is a short walk away or the hotel can provide golf carts to take you there. The water is shallow & calm making it an ideal place for families with children. Sun lounges are in abundance & always available.

We ordered room service which was reasonably priced & arrived promptly - the service in the room was impeccable. We also had breakfast in Al Liwan restaurant which had a very good Buffett selection including, pancakes, French toast, pastries, fresh juice & much more.

I have seen a lot of negative reviews on a trip Advisor & I struggle to see why. There may be teething issues due to this being a newly opened hotel, but the only negative we encountered was allow check-in.

I really recommend the Marjan Island resort & definitely plan to return in the near future.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island R, General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2014

Dear tapleysphotography,

Thank you for your feedback and recommendation.

We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your stay with us and taken advantage of the facilities we provide to our valued guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in your future visit.

Best regards,
Roger Tannous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Marjan Island Resort is a unique place for vacation in Al Jazeera Al Hamra which by itself is another marvelous place. We booked one night and we regret not booking longer!!
My personal advice is to book not less than two nights if planning unforgettable weekend, where you can enjoy the best of the place and hotel location.
In will would like to repeat my stay once more in summer season and one more experience during winter time to experience the beach.

Resort's staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the swimming pool are nice in view. Side rooms is more quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Khalaf K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island , General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2014

Dear Khalaf K,

Thank you for your review and it was been our pleasure having you. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcoming you again at Marjan Island Resort & Spa very soon.

Best regards,
Roger Tannous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We got upgraded to a suite upon arrival which was a very welcoming. In general the stay was very nice and relaxing exactly what we wanted from a getaway weekend. But there were many issues too: Some staff members were confused showed lack of communication or training but otherwise very helpful and sweet. Our system information was not updated to show that we had already paid for our massage and dinner. Both times we had to wait for over minutes to have an argument with restaurant or spa Manager. The restaurant manager was sweet but the spa manager was very rude when. She just wouldn’t listen and would not even call reservation to confirm if what we are saying is true or not. She did not even bother to tell us that she had indeed confirmed with reservation and we got no apology either. Lights in the room had to be pressed repeatedly but sometimes some worked sometimes they didn’t. Air conditioning functions were touchscreen but were very delicate and would switch themselves off. Even the room service staffs were confused on how to use it. Many parts of the hotel had their wallpaper coming off. In some places the roof was taken off and we could see the water pipes. Would understand if it was a 3-4 star hotel but a 5-star should be top notch. The toilet used to keep rumbling every time we used it and an odd odour would fill up soon after. A loud siren noise kept us awake during afternoon nap which later we found kept coming from the Spa on the 1st floor. We could not see even 1 world cup football match. World cup being such a prestige event was not shown on any television in the rooms or even the restaurants or pubs - Highly disappointing. In fact we were told to go to another hotel nearby to watch it. Dinner at Liwan was highly disappointing. The taste was not at par of a 5-star hotel. Drinks menu too had only limited cold drinks; about 4-5. Dishes were cold too. Turtle Beach the second day was very bad. The beach was so dirty with plant bits flowing all around even plastic bag and chip packets - Very unhygienic and disgusting. Beds were not that great even though the pillows were. The mattress gave us back and neck aches. Overall nice place but has a long way to go in becoming the best in the business. Probably will not be going back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VickImu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island , General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2015

Dear juljes81,

Thank you for your review and we apologize for the inconvenience you have faced during your stay.

We had noted your comments and suggestions into consideration to improve our services for you and our future guests.

We look forward to welcome you again and to truly enjoy the Marjan Experience.

Thank you.

Roger Tannous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I stayed one unforgettable night in the this real five star hotel
every thing is excellent
the front desk staff
the porters
room service
house keeping
the restaurant for break fast
also the room was marvelous
over looking the beach and the swimming pool

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bnghanem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island R, General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear bnghanem,

Thank you for your review about Marjan Island Resort & Spa.
We are delighted that your family and you had an amazing stay at our resort.

Your satisfaction is what we aim for and we work hard to exceed your expectations.
On your next visit, take the time to enjoy our Moroccan Cuisine made by our culinary experts at Casa Maghrib as well as relax in the ambiance of true luxury of Lamar Spa.

Hope to see you again very soon.


Regards,

Roger Tannous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

In short , bad customer service - bad management - bad beach - very small resort with nothing to do

We traveled there for our anniversary and even though i contacted them numerous times prior to our through email and phone and let them know about our room preference and reason for our travel they hadnt taken any of our request in considerations. I had asked for a place quiet place away from the pool area with a nice view and our room was right next to the pool with almost no sea view. I understand kids come to resorts but this place was like a kindergarden and the pool was full of kids without fully dressed with shirts and pants.

I complained to the manager numerous times and all he had to say was that he is sorry. he offered to change our room to a better room and then he took us to a smaller room with a much worse view, unbelievable. After complaining to him again he said he cant to anything and promised us a fruit basket that i really could care less about, and he never sent it anyways.

the beach is really small, far from the resort and very choppy waters with bad harsh sand.

there is no alcohol permitted on the resort if that is something that matters to you.

such a big disappointment in every way possible, ruined our anniversary weekend. i suggest the cove rotana, rixos or the waldorf if youre going to RAK.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erfan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island R, General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Erfan H,

Thank you for writing a review about Marjan Island Resort & Spa,
We are saddened by your unpleasant experience at our Hotel.

We have taken your comments with serious consideration and guarantee that your near future visit will be more satisfactory.

Looking forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Regards

Roger Tannous
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The staff at the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and a high standard. We enjoyed the water sports on the beach and staff there were excellent at organizing shade and serving food and drinks. Food in the international Resturant was great and the baked sushi was amazing. The best I have ever tasted.
The pirate ship play area was great for kids however benches to sit on while watching them play would be preferable to sitting on the ground.
The pool is extremely crowded on a Friday but as this was when we enjoyed the beach facilities it didn't affect us.
As we knew in advance that the hotel was dry it didn't spoil our break.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms were lovely. Ours looked directly on to the sea and was lovely to sit on in the eveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marieviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island R, General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Marie,

Thank you for your review of Marjan Island Resort & Spa.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, we hope to see you again at Marjan Island Resort & Spa very soon.

Thank you

Roger Tannous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Crowded, took us more than 2hours to check in, the pool was full and noisy, noise can be heard From my room, you need a ride to the beach across street and it was small area and crowded due to holiday- had to check out a night early- hotel was nice enough not to charge an extra night! Never going back

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank a_ebaidli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island R, General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear a_ebaidli,

Thank you for your review about Marjan Island Resort & Spa.
We are saddened to know that you did not enjoy your stay at Marjan Island Resort & Spa.
We aim to satisfy our guests through our services and Staff.

Do Accept our sincere apologies about the difficulties you faced throughout your stay, Your comments have been taken seriously in to consideration; and on your next visit in the near future we assure you 100% satisfaction.

Regards,

Roger Tannous
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
1.6 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
#1 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,612 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#5 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,145 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#13 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
581 reviews
6 mi away
Jannah Resort & Villas
Jannah Resort & Villas
#11 of 28 in Ras Al Khaimah
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marjan Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjan Island Resort & Spa

Address: Marjan Island Boulevard, Ras Al Khaimah 14745, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#5 Spa Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#10 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range: £84 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Marjan Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marjan Island Resort & Spa caters to each and every member of the family, specially the little ones; we make their stay as enjoyable as yours. it house under our roof a wide variety of services including seven restaurants and cafes, an all-day convenience store, luxury spa retreat floor and a beauty center as well as a professional barber. To get the most out of your stay and soak up the Arabian sun, we have four swimming pools, private beach, water sports facilities and an exclusive Pirates Club for our young guests as well as other leisure facilities to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Travelbag, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Marjan Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marjan Island Resort & Spa Ras Al Khaimah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing