We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury Hotel but very poor beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marjan Island Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Luxury Hotel but very poor beach”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We went to Al-marjan island resort on a family vacation. The front service desk were very nice and friendly. The rooms were spectacular, very spacious and modern. Free internet to keep us connected. pools were nice but the beach was awful. its about 0.5 miles form the hotel and it was not nice at all! if you are looking for a beach destination this not the right hotel for you.
the breakfast buffet is amazing!! so many food choices and lots of organic fresh juices

Room Tip: look for Groupon deal or check Hotels.com! best deal is the family premium room! always free WIFI an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeyad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island R, General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Dear Zeyad A,

Thank you for chosing Marjan Island Resort & Spa and we apologize for the inconvenience that you faced during your stay. We have taken your comments into consideration and we assure you that your next stay will be worry free enjoyable.

Looking forward to welcoming you very soon.

Thanks & regards,

Roger Tannous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    305
    191
    99
    48
    51
See reviews for
360
172
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The check in counter was disorganized. It was such a mess, the staff couldn't handle the pressure (they are not equipped) we had to check in at the concierge counter after a long wait of not knowing where to go. They had only one credit card machine and one ID scanner which added to the delay, people with kids waiting in a long queue, it was a more like a fish market than the lobby of the hotel.

• There was nobody to pick up our luggage and yet we were asked: why we didn't collect our baggage tags, no porters available even on call/ request. (We took our luggage on our own to our room, there was nobody even to direct us, lifts were not working to a particular floor and we were not informed about the same, while we waited for 20 mins until we were informed about the fact.
• The Room (so called suite) was very small and not up to our expectations and doesn’t even fit the category of a 3 star property.
• The lighting in the room is very poor or rather it is an unfinished room still under construction. (The dining area had only one small disco light over the entrance door and after that there is only a lamp near the living room close to the balcony and 2 small lights over the window. Which makes the area from the dining until the living room just DARK (it’s ridiculous)
• There was no baby cot provided even after several requests and they kept saying it’s subject to availability.
• From the time we checked-in about from 2:45pm until 5:30pm, above our room there was continuous drilling and hammering and it was getting louder, my son couldn't sleep and it was very disturbing even for us, we couldn't even watch TV (it was worse than a construction site – I guess construction sites don’t work on Fridays but the hotel maintenance site does????). We called the call center and they kept saying it will be rectified and of no use, after about an hour a motor started running somewhere, the noise was tooo bad. For 3 continuous hours, I would have called the call center 10-15 times and yet nothing was done and nobody followed up. I called the emergency number 5 times and yet nobody answered and yet what if it was an emergency??
• I asked for the GM and Duty manager they didn’t give the names and said they were unavailable.
• If the TV was switched on the sound of the hall TV would be played in the bathroom in the master bedroom and it wasn’t fixed until 01 hour. My kid couldn’t sleep at all, neither did he have his enjoyment which was the whole point of booking the resort…
• There was just one small hand towel with enough shower caps, but no soap and bath towels. Which we had to request. (this is the basic amenities to be provided in the room and not forgetting we booked a Suite Room not a standard room)
• It took us until 7:30pm to settle down after the misery, we missed going to the beach, pool, etc….our dinner was served at 11pm after a whole lot of confusion between the restaurant and room service.

Worst hotel ever and I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

As a local I paid less than 100 pound ( 550 aed ) for the rooms and I got an upgrade to suite ( even this did not change my opinion in the hotel
My car got scratched while parking it
My room has nothing in the mini bar ( mini bar is free of charge - no alcohol )
I called the room service to clean the room no one came !
I ask then to change the towels the change one and the said we don't have towels now !

Every time u call house keeping u need to wait more than 30 min

The restaurants are dirty and smiley ?


When ever u complain no one take an action

Sorry but with the same price I can get a better place in al marjan island in Rak


Hotel is not recommended at all

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dxb_essa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Staff friendly
Food is average
Indoor and outdoor pools
The indoor pool and gym are separate gender
Beach is across the road, which might seem a bit far, but they have buggy rides
Some restaurants not open yet
Dry (soft drinks only)

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Moh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island R, General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Moh A,

Thank you for choosing Marjan Island Resort & Spa to spend your holiday.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and taken advantage of the facilities we provide our guests.

We hope to welcome you very soon again.


Thank you

Roger Tannous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

It was amazing, rooms were spacious, staff was so friendly, and the Arabic guy at reception really have very good ethics and hospitality skills. I would love to go again and again if they bring more activities for kids.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imran420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island R, General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Imran420,

Thank you for choosing Marjan Island Resort & Spa.,

We are delighted to know that your stay was more than what you expected and we promise you we always work hard to even exceed our own expectations.

We hope you had the time to take your children to our very own Pirates club, where we have state of the art arcade games for our young guests along with an Italian pizzeria to serve you the freshest and most delicious home made style pizza.

We hope to welcome you and your family back real soon.

Thank you

Roger Tannous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This hotel is conveniently located just an hour away from Dubai (via E311). My sister and I arrived way too early for normal check-in hours but they accommodated us and gave us a room without any trouble. The room is clean and spacious and the staff are friendly and polite. I will definitely come back here when the weather is better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank genyvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island R, General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear genyvb,

It was a pleasure having you at Marjan Island Resort & Spa. We are always ready to welcome our guests at any time.

We really hope you will visit us very soon and enjoy the facilities we provide, like massages at our luxury Spa, get your nails done at our newly opened ladies salon, dine in one of our 3 restaurants or just enjoy a cup of Moroccan Tea while enjoying the breath taking view of the blue water.

Thank you
Roger Tannous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The hotel is really good if you want to experience an Arabic ambiance. The staff are very friendly (thanks to Hasan in reception who tried to accommodate our request of adjacent rooms) and always greet you with a smile. The premium room is spacious and the complimentary mini bar adds up to their hospitality. It's not really a beachfront hotel, you need to take a buggy for 2-3 mins before you reach the beach. They have indoor pool but for women and men separately and kids are not allowed. The time we stayed, the sauna and steam are not working, strange for a newly opened property.
We had a half board package and we chose to have iftar since we were told that it features international cuisine. However, most of the foods are Indian and Arabic cuisine and my kids got nothing to eat (they're not really fond of spices). Aside from it there's no much option which is really disappointing.
We had a premium room with a sofa bed but we were told that we cannot use it as a bed. I stayed with my 2 kids and it's hard to accommodate with only 2 single beds. So if you have kids , better request for a junior suite so you will be comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island R, General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Harlene S,

Thank you for staying at Marjan Island Resort & spa.
We apologize for the inconvenience that you faced during your stay. we have taken your comments in to consideration and we assure you that your next stay will be worry free enjoyable.

Looking forward to welcoming you to Marjan Island Resort & Spa.

Thank you
Roger tannous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
1.8 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
1.6 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
#1 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
#5 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
2,790 reviews
15.9 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
1.3 mi away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#10 of 26 in Ras Al Khaimah
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marjan Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marjan Island Resort & Spa

Property: Marjan Island Resort & Spa
Address: Marjan Island Boulevard, Ras Al Khaimah 14745, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#5 Spa Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#9 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Marjan Island Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marjan Island Resort & Spa caters to each and every member of the family, specially the little ones; we make their stay as enjoyable as yours. it house under our roof a wide variety of services including seven restaurants and cafes, an all-day convenience store, luxury spa retreat floor and a beauty center as well as a professional barber. To get the most out of your stay and soak up the Arabian sun, we have four swimming pools, private beach, water sports facilities and an exclusive Pirates Club for our young guests as well as other leisure facilities to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marjan Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marjan Island Resort & Spa Ras Al Khaimah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing