We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,189)
Filter reviews
1,189 results
Traveller rating
592
298
153
73
73
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
592
298
153
73
73
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pirates club al liwan liwan restaurant dry hotel no alcohol marjan island indoor pool man made island lebanese restaurant superior room water sports jet ski sea view private beach special thanks all day dining duty manager
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 1,189 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2019

As usual, great welcomening and good srevices. Suites are clean and the food is perfect. One of my best destinations in the UAE. The area around is quite and good for relaxing and walking. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Ibrahim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island , General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2019

Dear Ibrahim,

It’s a pleasure to hear that your expectations were met following your recent stay with us. Thank you for giving excellent rating to Marjan Island Resort and Spa. We appreciate your kind compliments. Thank you for your recommendation.

We'd love to continue providing exceptional services to all our guests.

The team and I look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Yasser Ahmed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2019 via mobile

Unfortunately....
Hotel was crazily overpriced for the New Year, but we went for the facilities and great view...
Arriving from Oman we stuck in the traffic jam 18km from the hotel at 9:30, at 11:30 we get to the dead end 10 km from the hotel. So we left a car and walk, and walk, and walk
Al least we saw fireworks)
We got into the hotel at 2:30 AM, but one more surprise was waiting for us - the hotel was dry... Like totally dry... We couldn't even order alcohol into the room no one advised to deliver us to the nearest bar etc...

From the good side of service, hotel manager updated our room.
And now to the room: furniture looks like it 20 years old and dirty places were kindly covered with pillows
The clearness in the room wish to much better, corners of the carpet were dusty, stains everywhere and same on furniture.

Restaurants in the hotel looks fine but we haven’t had a chance to get any food because working hours are very strict, outside small coffee shops looks like in a cheap market by design and assortment.

We have decided to play tennis but have played a real quest to get a keys from the court:
Went to the court, find direction to get it at the gym, went there, was no one on the reception, went to spa across the lobby, receptionist gave us direction to the juice bar where were helpful bartender even walk with us to the shop where this key were kept, meanwhile one of the managers were walking around and talking by phone without any attitude to help us
Anyway we got to the shop where shop managed with gave us portion of the attitude that we must made reservation before!!! When we have asked him to meek reservation for now he was so kind to check EMPTY book of the reservations! And only offer they went with us an finally open court for us! That was funny and haven’t spoiled our mood, but this kind of service is totally unacceptable for the 5 star hotel.

So in total:
-Hotel was beautiful, when it was just open, but now it need a lot of reconstruction
-Service provided by line staff is great, but clearly that management doesn’t care about single guests and more concentrated on package tourist
-Restaurants are interesting but always empty, except buffet one
-Beautiful promenade
-Beach is nice, but located across the road

Oh) So sorry for such a long feedback, but it was so many disappointments for the 5 star hotel.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank irinab628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island , General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2019

Dear irinab628,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

End of the year has always been the busiest time in the island because of the spectacular fireworks display which everyone in the island anticipates. We regret to know of your experience and frustrations during the time of your visit. Please accept our sincerest apology.

Marjan Island Resort and Spa as advertised in our hotel website is a family oriented and alcohol free hotel and resort, thus, we don’t serve alcoholic beverages. However, as an alternative, we offer substitute beverages based on natural ingredients like fresh fruits, raw vegetables and cool herbal tea mixtures. We regret your frustrations on this regard.

While I wish you had a better experience, it is through feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, rest assured that concerns raised will be reviewed and appropriate actions will take place to avoid occurrence of the same in the future.

On a lighter note, we are very grateful for the kind compliments mentioned in your review.

Thank you for your patronage. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and serve you better in the future.

Sincerely,

Yasser Ahmed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2019

Smiles fill the whole place :)

Actually, they have a talented & proffisonal Team who's give the best service & great Facilites for guests ..

Marjan Team .. YOU are the best and most beautiful people that you would like to deal with especially in your journey to a new place. My appreciation to everyone in the hotel and especially the following names:

Ms.Allaa
Mrs. Anusha
Mr.Leila
Mr.Joseph
Mr.Hamada

& All Team members ;) Marjan Island Resort & Spa .

Thanks for all of you & i hope to came again in the next year isa.

BR,
Ali ElSharkawy

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Ali E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island , General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2019

Dear Mr. Ali,

We’re very pleased that Team Marjan filled you a lot of smiles during your visit!

Thank you for all the kind compliments and most importantly your special commendations to the team - Allaa, Anusha, Lila, Joseph and Hamada. Rest assured that your kind review will reach these legends. Feedback such as yours serves as an encouragement to all of us as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you for your patronage. We take this opportunity to wish you a very Happy and Prosperous New Year!

Sincerely,

Yasser Ahmed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

Currently staying here at the Al Marjin Island Resort & Spa and experiencing much more good than bad.

The Good: attentive staff; spacious public areas; very comfortable, clean room; all-inclusive offer allows for plenty soft drinks , teas and coffees, excellent food in some of the restaurants; fabulous beached area with plenty of sun loungers and a stunning location for photographing the evening sunset.

The Bad:
1) hot food in main restaurant (buffet service) could be hotter, with even freshly filled trays of food are only luke warm when brought from the kitchen;
2) an unpleasant incident reported to hotel staff 2 nights ago still not recognised by management - whilst sitting in reception area with my wife after dinner (10pm) a family (I’m assuming the father) proceeded to play HIS music loudly on his phone, then his wife proceeded to change one of their kids nappies on the carpeted floor between us.

The hotel had two opportunities to address but failed on both:

First, a member of staff serving them drinks totally ignored the music being played and the nappy changing on the carpeted floor of 5 star hotel reception area.
Secondly, my explanation to the desk staff for these two experiences being the reason my wife and myself were leaving the reception and returning to our room. I gave my room number, but almost 48 hours later I await an apology.......

Surely the hotel management should not allow such crass behaviour from guests spoiling the otherwise excellent experience in their hotel?

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank PGT5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island , General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2019

Dear PGT5,

We appreciate sharing your feedback.

We highly value your thoughts, hence, your feedback is very important to us. It is a regret that our team missed this concern addressed personally to the team. Please know that I have raised the same matter and rest assured that appropriate measures will be done. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences caused.

On a lighter note, we very grateful for all the kind compliments mentioned in your review.

Thank you for your patronage. We take this opportunity to wish you a very Happy and Prosperous New Year!

Sincerely,

Yasser Ahmed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2019 via mobile

Where to go when you want a quiet and serene location?

Marjan Island Is a good place to share dinner with people who’s life is dedicated in serving God.

Our Christmas party is made more memorable with a very sumptuous and delicious eat-all-you-can food.

The place is reasonable enough for eight of us and the surrounding is awesome. Cool winds and a very helpful servers made this a memorable dinner.

We will visit again to celebrate our next activity.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank prosf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marjan Island , General Manager at Marjan Island Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2019

Dear Prosf,

We are delighted to host your last year’s Festivity Season with the group at Marjan Island Resort and Spa!

Thank you for your appreciation to our place, the ambiance and especially with the food offers adeptly prepared by our culinary team.

We truly appreciate sharing your feedback. The team and I look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Yasser Ahmed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews