We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quantity over quality”
Review of Rixos Bab Al Bahr

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rixos Bab Al Bahr
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Ras Al Khaimah
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a weekend break from Abu Dhabi. Having only recently opened and familiar with the Dubai property, we thought we'd give this hotel a go. Upon arrival (at 3.30pm, half an hour after the advertised check-in time) we were met with chaos; the lobby was full of people checking out, checking in and generally looking lost. There were long queues, but the check-in staff were friendly enough. A general lack of signage around the hotel, but we eventually found the building our room was in. Spacious, sea & pool views, we were very happy with the room. It was clear the hotel was at capacity, as if you had not bagged a space by the pool by 8am, you were screwed. The beach is ok though, so we enjoyed lying out there. The hotel is all inclusive - breakfast, lunch, dinner, pool drinks, etc. and therefore attracted two kinds of clientele - groups of friends wanting to drink as much as they could and get wasted, and families with loads of kids. Fine if that's what you're after. The buffet restaurant was reasonable, but very busy. We tried the seafood restaurant for dinner and had very hostile service, with little about the "menu" concept explained to us. The worst bit though - our room, with it's lovely sea and pool views, was also above the beach bar which in the evening turns into a bit of a nightclub. The music drowned our room, disco lights streamed in the windows, all the furniture was vibrating, oh and the air-conditioning at this point had decided to stop working! Needless to say, not a great night's sleep. Check out was 12 noon but we were out of there first thing not wanting another day of madness. This is not the hotel for a relaxing beach break - it's drinks, food and partying all the way. Definitely a case of quantity over quality, the hotel is obviously more concerned about room occupancy as opposed to customer service. Choose your stay here wisely.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AsiaSpecialist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haytham_Omar, General Manager at Rixos Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear AsiaSpecialist,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is extremely perturbing to know that your experience was not up to your expectations. We have taken note of the inconveniences you faced at the pool and the restaurants, as well as the issue of sound and light from the beach bar infiltrating in to your room. These issues are being taken up with the concerned departments on top priority to work on permanent resolution to ensure no recurrence.

Our guests comfort and satisfaction is of prime importance to us and we incessantly work towards delivering services to the highest standards.

We sincerely apologize that we fell short on your expectations and hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you one more time and re-establish your faith in our services and facilities.

Yours sincerely,

Rixos Bab Al Bahr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,984)
There are newer reviews for Rixos Bab Al Bahr
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,964 - 1,970 of 2,984 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this wonderful hotel. From the start of our stay and right to the very end of our stay we had the most amazing experience. This hotel is so clean and the decor is just beautiful. Our premium bedroom was just perfect. Everyday we had fresh towels, our room was cleaned and the mini bar was always refilled. The seven heights restaurant was first class the service was fantastic everyone working there were so helpful, polite and had a smile. There was a great variety of food which we must say was always delicious. We also ate at the Italian which again had a high standard of service and the food was great. We enjoyed the cigar lounge which had the football and a variety of drinks and again the service was tremendous! We cannot fault anything about this hotel and would highly recommend it and we will definitely be returning. Thank you to all the staff who made our first visit to Dubai a memorable one!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haytham_Omar, General Manager at Rixos Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Linda G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that your overall experience from arrival to your departure exceptionally exceeded all expectations.

It is ineffable to read your kind comments about our resort, rooms and delightful associates who pride us on the levels they exceed to ensure that our guests receive an overall exceptional experience.

Your kind comments have been well received and shared with our remarkable culinary team who ensure that our guest satisfaction is excelled.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you to Rixos Bab Al Bahr in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Rixos Bab Al Bahr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at Rixos in the first week of July.We were a little skeptical of the all inclusive offer, assuming there would be restrictions due to the Holy month of Ramadan. There were not. We were able to select from a wide range of drinks and a good selection of restaurants. The hotel staff were friendly and welcoming and the hotel itself was what we have come to expect of the Middle East. I would definitely go back and we have recommended this hotel to all of our friends!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haytham_Omar, General Manager at Rixos Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Robz99,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to read that your experience was remarkable with exceeded expectations.

Our team is pleased to learn of your kind recognition and glad to know that our facilities, amenities and outstanding concept excelled to your overall expectations. We are also delighted that your service and culinary experience was delivered with excellence.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us and for your kind recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you to Rixos Bab Al Bahr in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Rixos Bab Al Bahr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I arranged a weekend getaway for my wife’s 30th Birthday. We had around 20 people, both friends and family join us and the Rixos Bab al Bahr hotel pulled out all the stops to make the weekend a success.

From booking the restaurants, spa treatments and the all-round service we received from the Rixos Bab al Bahr hotel was service I have not exprienced in any hotel in years.

The rooms are spacious and very modern. The overall facilities are top notch. For those travelling with kids and teenagers there is a great Kids Zone and night club for teenagers so everyone is catered for.

We also had a medical emergency with one of the people in our group 9 month old daughter who had heat stroke due to the excessive summer condition. The hotels response was phenomenal in the manner they arranged paramedics and handled the situation.
With this being the first All-inclusive hotel we have ever been too they have definitely set the standard very high for any other all-inclusive hotel / resort we will ever visit in the future. The staffs were really friendly and done their best to make sure every need and expectation was met. The food quality was excellent and the menu choices were very good.
To sum things up we will definitely be back, so thank you to all the staff at the Rixos Bab al Bahr hotel you have made our weekend truly memorable.

Thank you all so much,

Gary Burns

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and very well laid out. We had a 2 bedroom Family Unit, really spacious.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Garfish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haytham_Omar, General Manager at Rixos Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Gary Burns,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

It is pleasing to learn that your overall experience was exceptional especially during your wife’s special occasion. It is pleasing to read your kind comments regarding our outstanding resort, facilities and amenities that exceeded all your expectations.

We are overwhelmed to read your wonderful comments about our lavish room, delightful associates and our remarkable concept of all-inclusive. It is also great to know that your culinary experience was to your satisfaction.

It is pleasing to learn that the right amount of efficiency and heartfelt care was implemented to ensure the youngest member of the group was attended to.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you to Rixos Bab Al Bahr in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Rixos Bab Al Bahr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

One of my worst resort stays ever!
1. Which 5-star resort keeps guests waiting in lobby for 2 hours for check-in? I had to shout and beg to Mr. Ramy (duty manager) for a room! And i was with an infant!!
2. Which 5-star resort serves lacnor (tetrapak) juices to guests?
3. Seven heights did not have white sliced bread at breakfast time? And staff did not know what "sliced bread" is! Asking for wholemeal and brown bread was absurd!
4. Most of the food in Seven Heights buffet not labelled properly! Especially the vegetarian - hardly any vegetarian choices available!
5. Room service served Margherita pizza with a flour tortilla as the pizza base! Are you trying to fool your guests?

I can go on with my list of unpleasant happenings during my stay!

To sum it up - a horrible horrible experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LatikaChawla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haytham_Omar, General Manager at Rixos Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear LatikaChawla,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We appreciate every feedback and readily welcome constructive feedback which allows us the opportunity to improve our services for our future and returning guests.

Kindly accept our sincerest apologies for the challenge you encountered during your check-in, please be rest assured that we have addressed and resolved this matter to ensure no recurrences of the sort.

Your feedback and suggestions have been well received and addressed with the relevant departments to ensure that necessary actions are implemented. Kindly be informed that this sort of experience does not at all reflect to the quality of service we aspire to deliver.

Once again, we appreciate the time you took to share your feedback, please be informed that we are taking every measure to ensure that all the challenges you faced are addressed with immediate actions. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to deliver an experience that exceeds your expectations.

Yours sincerely,

Rixos Bab Al Bahr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

It’s definitely not a 5 star facility, quality of food ruined the experience. Overly priced for what you actually get…
Rooms were spacious and well equipped
Pool area did not have enough pool beds or waiter service
Pool restaurant did not have sufficient tables always crowded, could not find a place there to dine
Service at the pool bar and mojito bar was good
If you are a seafood lover and expert do not visit the Fish Bone restaurant. They overcooked our fish twice even after sending it back. We asked for grilled and got it fried….
When we called to make a reservation they said 22h30 was the only time they had available, We accepted as we wanted to go to a seafood restaurant. On arrival the staff were looking at their watches saying you are lat as they close at 23h00. Then why would they give reservation at 22h30?? That could not be explained by the hostess
Service following that was extremely poor as they were more interested in setting the tables around us and an argument outside between a staff member and a guest. Nobody took our drinks order until we asked. Needless to say there was only one other table inside.
We left on an empty stomach that evening. Did not even bother with breakfast
Ate lunch at the burger place – nothing to write home about either.
I feel that they have this wonderful all inclusive package with meals and drinks to attract guests yet the quality of drinks and food is so poor……What’s the point??
Wont be returning, there are many other facilities in RAK with higher quality and better service

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in block 1, other roosm are furter away
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpicyShai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haytham_Omar, General Manager at Rixos Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear SpicyShai,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We appreciate your insightful feedback which has been well received and shared with the entire team to ensure that our guests continue to receive the impeccable experience and service.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the challenges you encountered and the areas you felt we fell short in fulfilling. Kindly be rest assured that we are taking every measure to ensure that all the issues you encountered are resolved and the necessary actions implemented.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. It is with great certainty that we take every opportunity to ensure that we exceed our guest expectation. We are however saddened and apologize that we fell short on this specific occasion. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you and reinstate your faith in us.

Yours sincerely,

Rixos Bab Al Bahr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Very nice place to spend the weekend. The all-inclusive package is fantastic with no hidden extras (even included mini-bar and night room service).
The rooms are spacious and clean, and the bed is comfortable.
The buffet offered for breakfast/lunch/dinner is good, with a good selection of food and drinks, however, the desserts selection is limited. The staff at the restaurant and pool bar was friendly.
The pool area is very nice and offers changing rooms/showers/kids play area. However, the size of the pool is quite small considering the number of rooms in the hotel, and it gets quite busy during the day (specially it is difficult to get a sun bed).
Many activities are organised by the hotel (water polo, fitness classes, parties, etc.) so guests get a lot of entertainment during their stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the garden are quieter, as the pool gets very busy during the day.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haytham_Omar, General Manager at Rixos Bab Al Bahr, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Merlulus,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to have exceeded your expectations with our resort and our all-inclusive services.

It is a delight to read your kind comments about our clean and spacious rooms which all contribute to a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere for our guests.

Your suggestion to have more selections of desserts has been well received by our culinary team who exhaust every effort to ensure guest satisfaction is excelled. We are however pleased to learn that your culinary experience and service provided was exceptional.

The time you took to share your experience with us is highly appreciated and hope to have another opportunity of welcoming you to Rixos Bab Al Bahr in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Rixos Bab Al Bahr
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ras Al Khaimah hotels
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort & Spa Marjan Island
2.1 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
Waldorf Astoria Ras Al Khaimah
#1 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
3,405 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Al Hamra Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bin Majid Beach Resort
Bin Majid Beach Resort
#12 of 27 in Ras Al Khaimah
519 reviews
16.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Ras Al Khaimah
16.6 mi away
Hilton Ras Al Khaimah Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rixos Bab Al Bahr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Bab Al Bahr

Address: Al Marjan Island, Ras Al Khaimah 14744, United Arab Emirates
Phone Number:
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah > Ras Al Khaimah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#4 Spa Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ras Al Khaimah
Price Range: £198 - £708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Bab Al Bahr 5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the pristine white sands of Ras Al Khaimah’s tranquil Marjan Island, Rixos Bab Al Bahr enjoys the beautiful beach, stylish rooms, upmarket restaurants, stunning views, and comprehensive amenities you may expect from a five star beach resort in the Middle East. But what really sets Rixos Bab Al Bahr apart is the all-inclusive concept of this Ras Al Khaimah hotel. A resort with a difference: at Rixos Bab Al Bahr, guests can indulge in a variety of restaurants at no additional cost. With few exceptions, everything is inclusive from the kaleidoscope of cuisine in Seven Heights and the delicious selection of unlimited beverages in See & Sea, Mojito Bar and Inferno night club, to the diverse choice of entertainment and nightlife, kids clubs, spa, sports, and recreational activities. Five delectable a la carte restaurants, including a steakhouse and a seafood restaurant, offer a more diverse dining experience some at just a small supplement per person. The spectacular pyramid design of the resort ensures that nearly every one of the resort’s 650 rooms and suites enjoys a view of the crystal blue Arabian Gulf. In addition to being the ultimate getaway for families, one of the resort’s three pyramids is a dedicated adults-only zone and configured into suites to suit larger parties of friends and couples. Decorated in cool, sophisticated hues of azure and bronze, the rooms feature a wealth of comfort and convenience while the marble-clad bathrooms add an extra touch of luxury. As the perfect ultra all-inclusive resort for families, you’ll be spoilt for choice at Rixos Bab Al Bahr. At the heart of the resort, surrounded by waterways, is Seven Heights, our all day dining restaurant and one of the UAE’s largest buffet restaurants that features an array of world cuisines. Throughout the day, guests can enjoy breakfast here followed by lunch and dinner or they can snack on a variety of drinks and poplar dishes from the many poolside and beachside outlets - including a 24 hours Toast'n burger bar and Aisha lobby lounge Bar - all inclusive in the package. By night, the entertainment square opens up to a magical amphitheatre of five world-class a la carte restaurants*, including the popular Mojito Bar. Here guests can enjoy drinks and dinner against the beautiful backdrop of Marjan Island and spectacular entertainment show of international proclaim. Please note: ultra-premium food or beverage items may be subject to a surcharge. A la carte restaurant bookings are essential and can be made at the resort’s interactive kiosks adjacent to the lobby. DAY & NIGHTLIFE Whether it's winter or summer, Rixos Bab Al Bahr will keep you entertained. Our host of diverse entertainment options changes on a seasonal basis and offers options perfect for families, groups of friends and couples. During the winter months, the entertainment at our hotel focuses on the great outdoors. Organised fun and games in our temperature controlled pool make up the majority of the daytime activities, as do our weekend beach parties. Those looking to relax and enjoy the view will love the beachside adults-only Infinity Pool with its own bar. The cool winter nights are marked by live music, dancing, famous shows and breath-taking acrobatics at Entertainment Square, our purpose-built amphitheatre. Revellers can party late into the night at the nearby nightclub, Inferno. As the temperatures rise during summer months, the evening entertainment moves indoors. Guests can still enjoy daytime activities, which revolve around live music performances at Seven Heights. Evening entertainment includes live music and jazz nights, karaoke, quizzes, retro parties, and theme nights continue at Mojito Bar, before the action moves to the nightclub Inferno. LEISURE Take your beach experience to a new level of luxury with Cabana Oasis at Rixos Bab Al Bahr. Select from one of four unique packages and enjoy a day lounging by the pristine shoreline. Guests can also wander the numerous pathways that wind around the resort. Studded with upmarket boutiques offering a range of enticing retail options, the souq-like paths offer a shady retreat from the daytime sun or a beautiful location to enjoy a star-lit evening walk. For those wishing to venture a little further afield, the resort is located just ten minutes away from the shops and facilities of Al Hamra Mall and Al Hamra Golf Course. Also just a few minutes away is the Ice Land Waterpark – fun for all the family – and many of Ras Al Khaimah’s cultural and heritage sites. SPA & WELLNESS Take a deep breath and relax with Rixos Bab Al Bahr Spa. Two ultra-luxurious Ottoman spas – one for men, one for women – are the largest spas in Ras Al Khaimah and provide everything you need to achieve a state of complete and utter relaxation. Whether you have selected a spa vacation, or are simply enjoying a respite from the excitement of the resort, Rixos Bab Al Bahr Spa is the ultimate haven of serenity. Each spa has a secluded private swimming pool area – perfect for sunbathing or enjoying a cool water dip whereas the most enchanting area of the spa is undeniably the traditional Turkish Hammams, where you can embark on the time-honoured ritual of deep cleansing scrub, undertaken beneath the decorative architecture of the Hammam’s central dome. Guests can also enjoy unlimited access to the steam room and sauna and quiet reading and relaxing areas. In addition to the wide range of complimentary facilities, guests can indulge in a host of pampering spa wellness therapies, beauty treatments and a beauty salon. MEETING & CONFERENCE FACILITIES Home to one of Ras Al Khaimah’s most prestigious event halls, the dedicated Conference Centre is the ultimate destination for business meetings and corporate events. The flexible size of the main hall – accessed separately from the main hotel entrance - can accommodate more than 880 people, ideal for weddings, conferences, seminars and product launches. Three distinct meeting rooms provide a capacity ranging between 58 and 120 people, perfect for smaller business events and special receptions. A spacious lobby in the conference centre doubles as a reception, breakaway and refreshments area. The hall and meeting venues are all equipped with all the conference facilities you need – including cutting-edge audio-visual equipment and high speed internet access. Our team of expert event specialists can take the hassle out of organizing corporate events, whilst our all-inclusive F&B offering makes life easier! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotelopia, LoveHolidays, Prestigia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rixos Bab Al Bahr reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rixos Bab Al Bahr Ras Al Khaimah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing