We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fort in RAK”
Review of Dhayah Fort

Dhayah Fort
Book In Advance
More Info
US$258.00*
and up
Private Full-Day Ras Al Khaimah Guided City Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Of the two forts we saw in our afternoon trip, this was by far the better one.
Don’t expect any grand structures or military insights but it’s certainly a good view at sunset and a fun thing to do if you’re in RAK.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank JoyBrowce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"the main road"
in 6 reviews
"guest house"
in 4 reviews
"rest house"
in 4 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 6 reviews
"turn right"
in 2 reviews
"interesting place"
in 2 reviews
"an oasis"
in 2 reviews
"al khaima"
in 2 reviews
"climb"
in 19 reviews
"war"
in 3 reviews
"history"
in 10 reviews
"oman"
in 4 reviews
"rak"
in 15 reviews
"mountains"
in 11 reviews
"century"
in 2 reviews
"sights"
in 2 reviews
"ras"
in 3 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2018

The well-preserved Dhayah Fort, that was still in use in the 19th century during battles against the british, is nicely located on a hill which provides an amazing view on a natural mangrove and the Arabic sea. A perfect spot to watch the sunset.
It is 20 km north from the town center but it really worths the trip!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

It is a very small old fort that was kept without restoration, in fact some walls and two small rooms. Reaching the fort is through a long stair build by rocks, the stair is new but still difficult to climb.
don't expect alot at the top, you can take some nice photos of the palm trees and nearby city, but you will need more time to rest first.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank arqabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

We'd arranged our own half day trip for 3 of us with the cove rotana hotel tours office...as we didn't fancy the camel farm and museum that was part of the regular tour. So we wanted to do the fort, ghost city, fish market and spice shop. Our guide took us round the deserted city first which was pretty good as it looked like a post war film set! But then we spent nearly an hour on the road looking for the fort... He said it had been there a year ago when he had last been there!!! I couldn't believe he didn't do any research before taking us afterall we paid £100 for this 4 hrs tour! He said that major road works had stopped access... Funny that other reviews are on here for it then!! Eventually he gave up and took us to the damn... Which is empty until the winter rains come... But at least it was interesting to see! The fish market was excellent though... Just wish we'd had a bbq for all those prawns!!
So the lesson is... Check your driver actually knows where he going first ok!!!

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

We stopped by coming back from Fujeirah. Pretty interesting and thanks to the poor Indian guide stranded here in the middle of nowhere for showing us around outside opening hours.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank leprotto1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dhayah Fort also viewed

Ras Al Khaimah, Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah
Ras Al Khaimah, Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah
 
Ras Al Khaimah, Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah
Ras Al Khaimah, Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah
 

Been to Dhayah Fort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing