We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Dhayah Fort
from US$258.00
More Info
from US$200.00
More Info
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
21
32
22
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
32
22
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house the main road rest house google maps worth a visit sunset view turn right interesting place follow the signs an oasis al khaima climb war history resistance century oman
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2019

Most visitors will be underwhlelmed by first impressions.
However I recommend that one does a bit of historical research to appreciate what went on here during its occupation. - Then it becomes all so meaningful. The view - The battles - The hardship
Also it is sad to see the walls damaged by thoughtless visitors who scrawl their names on the compacted mud walls. - Senseless attitude
Worth a (pre-informed) visit

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank env300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Of the two forts we saw in our afternoon trip, this was by far the better one.
Don’t expect any grand structures or military insights but it’s certainly a good view at sunset and a fun thing to do if you’re in RAK.

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank JoyBrowce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

The well-preserved Dhayah Fort, that was still in use in the 19th century during battles against the british, is nicely located on a hill which provides an amazing view on a natural mangrove and the Arabic sea. A perfect spot to watch the sunset.
It is 20 km north from the town center but it really worths the trip!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Benjamin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

It is a very small old fort that was kept without restoration, in fact some walls and two small rooms. Reaching the fort is through a long stair build by rocks, the stair is new but still difficult to climb.
don't expect alot at the top, you can take some nice photos of the palm trees and nearby city, but you will need more time to rest first.

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank arqabat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

We'd arranged our own half day trip for 3 of us with the cove rotana hotel tours office...as we didn't fancy the camel farm and museum that was part of the regular tour. So we wanted to do the fort, ghost city, fish market and spice shop. Our guide took us round the deserted city first which was pretty good as it looked like a post war film set! But then we spent nearly an hour on the road looking for the fort... He said it had been there a year ago when he had last been there!!! I couldn't believe he didn't do any research before taking us afterall we paid £100 for this 4 hrs tour! He said that major road works had stopped access... Funny that other reviews are on here for it then!! Eventually he gave up and took us to the damn... Which is empty until the winter rains come... But at least it was interesting to see! The fish market was excellent though... Just wish we'd had a bbq for all those prawns!!
So the lesson is... Check your driver actually knows where he going first ok!!!

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews