We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Bangkok Town

Bangkok Town
Ranked #9 of 1,207 Restaurants in Sharjah
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

To be honest, I was pretty disappointed. My expectation was pretty high after reading all the reviews here. The papaya salad was very mild and too watery. The chicken sate was served with a measly amount of peanut sauce. The peanut sauce was very disappointing.

The main dish, seafood with chili paste was average. And I definitely wasn't impressed with the green curry with chicken. It was watery.

We ordered deep fried tofu with peanut sauce. It definitely wasn't what we expected. The tofu was dry and hard to chew, and once again they left out the peanut sauce. We expected the dish to be served with the peanut sauce, but that wasn't the case.

The only thing decent was the fried rice. I don't plan to go back there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank gee1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    23
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty Tranquil Thai”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

What a find Bangkok Town restaurant is. The very best of Thai food in a delightful, peaceful surrounding with charming service. Can't live without a weekly visit when in Sharjah.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best thai in UAE, period!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

Well, we go to this restaurant almost every other week and that should say it all. But that would not do it justice and a proper review would help others go there and enjoy the amazing thai food.
What I love:- the interiors are true and authentic with proper thai staff welcoming you with a smile and "swadhikaaaaa". Fresh fish can be selected from the fish tank and made however you like. The mango and papaya salad are fresh and spicy. An array of soups on offer will leave you wanting to have a spare tummy to gobble it all up.
Red, green, yellow curry are all fabulous, and the fish cakes in pandan leaves are aromatic and delicious.
What I don't like:-nada, zilch :-)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Muzzo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good option if want to try Thai”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Worth trying provided you are not regular thai food eater :). The interiors are superbly done, with a good privacy option. The papaya salad was amazing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaziah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bangkok in Sharjah”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The interior is definatly give feeling to be in Bangkok. Food quality is good but little over priced. Some how they are using philipine as Thai. But's it's ok. Food quality is good but not similer as in Bangkok.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dipanjandebnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bangkok Town also viewed

Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
 
Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
 
Sharjah, Emirate of Sharjah
 

Been to Bangkok Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing