We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very respectable hotel”
Review of Al Sharq Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Al Sharq Hotel
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in Sharjah
Muscat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very respectable hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2010

It is very respectable hotel and offer excellent services with reasonable prices. I recommend it for whom looking for peace of mind.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badar_Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
8
10
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2009

Average Hotel

Pros: Good location, Good service, good price
Cons: Croweded area, not so spaceous

Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank skmish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2009

This is the cheapest hotel in the metro Dubai area. It is located in the center of Sharjah, across from Rolla Park. It is convenient to most services you would need. The staff was very friendly and helpful, letting me check in at 6:30 AM. Excellent value for your money.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoglets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2007

I was promised an upgrade through Expedia but the hotel didnt honour this (strike one)
The first room they showed me had a single bed and a toilet with no seat (strike two)
The next room they gave me had a leaky toilet (strike three)
To be fair it is quite clean (but the leaky toilet!!??) but never felt very clean to me perhaps because of the toilet. The breakfasts in the hotel were ok but nothing particularly great. I would recommend making good friends of the reception staff, they can really help you out when it comes to booking drivers and tours etc. The hotel itself is in Sharjah and is some distance from Dubai itself, something to bear in mind if you intend to hang around in Dubai alot. On the plus side, there is lots of local culture to consider. Firstly, the hotel faces Rolla Square and there is a market there on Fridays and plenty of interesting bargains to be had. A short walk away is the Hatta Fort and of course the blue souk. If you really dont mind roughing it for somewhere relatively cheap to stay then this is the place. If not, save up more money and stay in Dubai itself.

  • Liked — the proximity to the blue souk and rolla square
  • Disliked — leaky loo, shabby room, uncomfortable bed, thin walls
  • Stayed January 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Quirkychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sharjah hotels

HyderabadChick
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2007

GOOD POINTS:
Very clean hotel, friendly, knowledgable staff, reasonable distance away from Dubai. Rooms spacious enough for 3 or 4.
Budget prices
Continental breakfast available.
Decent shopping available in the area.


BAD POINTS:
Due to traffic, it can take a HOURS to get from Dubai to Sharjah. Even legit cabs are expensive.
Buses are not frequent and routes are confusing.
Items on menu are not necessarily available.
Lots of men and almost no women hanging out in the streets around Al Sharq hotel. They stare unblinkingly at even the conservatively dressed non-Indian women.

  • Liked — Clean rooms, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Far from Dubai when traffic is high
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank HyderabadChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2007

Stayed in the hotel for an overnight break en route to Europe from Australia. Thought we were in for problems when the customs officer at Dubai Airport had never heard of the hotel. Had to arrange (and pay for!) transfer from the Airport to the hotel and return the following morning.
Reasonable check in, but a fairly ordinary room that looked very tired and shabby. The area does not live up to the hotel's description of it, as it is dirty and dusty, with the supposed park that is opposite being mainly bare dirt with a couple of sad looking trees. My wife and daughter weren't game to go out of the hotel because they didn't feel safe, and the very early morning call to prayer through nearby loud speakers doesn't help tired travellers.
Food in the restaurant was OK but very basic, and don't expect to have a drink at the bar after a long day of travel, you won't get alcohol at the hotel or in the surrounding area

  • Liked — Somewhere to sleep
  • Disliked — The surrounding areas.
  • Tips/Secrets — Use taxis to get around, petrol is cheap so the taxis are too.
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank TripMember073020151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 September 2005

This is a nice hotel though in a dirty environment.
Nice Egyptian receptionist on night duty but nasty Indian receptionist on day time duty.
I forgot some things in the Hotel lobby in my hurry and called the hotel later to tell them the items and te exact location where i left the items but they said they could not find anything. i know that is a lie.
This makes me wonder if I can ever stay in this hotel again.
I want to stay where my things are safe and I am treated with respect as obtains in some other hotels i have stayed in Dubai

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharjah hotels
0.3 mi away
Al Salam Inn Hotel Suites
Al Salam Inn Hotel Suites
#52 of 79 in Sharjah
6 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crystal Plaza Hotel Sharjah
1.2 mi away
Loyalty Inn Al Maha Regency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah
Swiss-Belhotel Sharjah
#15 of 79 in Sharjah
212 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Majaz Hotel Sharjah
Al Majaz Hotel Sharjah
#22 of 79 in Sharjah
65 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nejoum Al Emarat
Nejoum Al Emarat
#27 of 79 in Sharjah
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Sharq Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Sharq Hotel

Property: Al Sharq Hotel
Address: Al Arouba St, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Sharjah > Sharjah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 79 Hotels in Sharjah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Al Sharq Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the heart of the city, Al Sharq is one of Sharjah's leading First class hotel renowned for its Services. The hotel is Ideal for Business and Leisure travelers alike. The perfect location for your stay. It is situated just in front of Rolla garden, opposite to the main shopping centers, and surrounded by government departments and close to the Corniche. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Al Sharq Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Sharq Sharjah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing