We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grand Excelsior Sharjah
Ranked #9 of 79 Hotels in Sharjah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We stayed at Holiday Inn Sharjah for two nights and from the moment we arrived to the moment we departed the hotel we received impeccable service. Check in was quick and we were thanked for being Platinum Ambassador members and we were also thanked on numerous other occasions too. We were given an upgrade from a standard room to a One Bedroom Suite on the 11th Floor, also given 15% discount on food and drinks purchased and also free internet for the duration of our stay.

The suite was spacious, bright and airy with the entrance from the corridor leading on the right to the kitchenette and to the left into the sitting room then through to the bathroom and onto the bedroom.

The sitting room was comfortable with kitchenette with mini fridge containing a small selection of drinks and snacks and also tea/coffee facilities. There was an oversized TV with a large selection of domestic and international stations, a large table and 3 chairs and surrounding a coffee table were three armchairs and a sofa; and a writing desk. Also plenty of storage space for cases. The bathroom was large with a powerful shower, midsized bathtub and ample toiletries provided and a bathrobe hanging on the door.

The large bedroom had a large wardrobe with a lot of storage space and there were slippers and a safe stowed inside. There was a large TV with large selection of channels, also a clock radio, writing desk and King Size bed. Another bed was brought in and made up and was extremely comfortable.

We had room service on two occasions which arrived quickly and the food was tasty. The pool area was well maintained and got very busy during the day but the staff were friendly at all times.

A wonderful stay and we hope to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank paullegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 383 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Don't get put off by the location in the inside street where you access this hotel or the missing lobby as you enter thee hotel where in you have a few sofas for visitors to sit. The Hotel lobby is located in the 3rd floor and the rooms are situated in the floors above it. The rooms are spacious as that has been the trade mark of all Holiday Inn hotels. The morning break fast spread is adequate but since there is no demarcated space for the restaurant the morning buffet tables spread out in the lobby of the hotel. The check was a bit delayed and the room service seemed ages to come. Has lot of eating options all varieties right from Saravana Bhavan, the restaurant offering standard south Indian fare, The Choitram's the favorite restaurant for North Indians or Eat Max which is bang opposite the hotel which offers the favorite fast food of middle east and is a 24 hours open restaurant and many more. There is even a E Max the famous electronics show room next to hotel.The hotel also offers complimentary shuttle services to the beach to preregistered guests.

Room Tip: Take the rooms where in you have the view of back water creek next to the mosque which is sight to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranjalrajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Hello All,

I had been to Holiday Inn in the month of September 2012. I stayed there for 3 days and enjoyed every moment of it.. The Breakfast was delicious and the service was awesome. What i like the most was the hotel and the people in it... The room service was good and they attended to the customer with a warm welcome. They were helpful when i wanted to see the place around..

Over all the experience was awesome.

Room Tip: Rooms with non smoking area is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank milli_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night following our arrival late in the evening. Sharjah is closer to the airport and it was a logical choice, as I did not want to later waste an entire day on the trip to Sharjah. I was curious about Sharjah and also wanted to check out the Sharjah Art Center the next morning.

This hotel stands in the middle of a rather business-type city district. There were small convenience stores across from the hotel that were open late into the evening.

To get to the hotel reception, the elevator has to be taken up to the lobby from the ground floor. They were welcoming, and actually very helpful in giving directions and tips.

The hotel room was nice and had chunky large furniture pieces, the bathroom was clean and nice, had quite a bit of marble. The night table had an arrow pointing to the direction of Mecca.

In the morning, we went out for a walk to check out the neighborhood, and did not find anything remarkable within walking distance. We came and had breakfast - a vastly overpriced affair that had to be paid for separately. Having said that, there was tremendous variety of foods available for breakfast.

We then took a taxi to the Sharjah Art Center and really liked it, as both the art exhibit and the overall complex were very remarkable. Then we came back to the hotel and hightailed to our hotel in Dubai, feeling relieved that we were in Sharjah for such a brief period of time. This hotel served its purpose, but would not want to stay here for a vacation for an extended period of time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasmineMarti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2013

Dear JasmineMarti,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Terrible hotel.It is in the back streets.Staff were pleasant but not enough staff to provide a reasonable level of service.Traffic is shocking from here to Dubai city. It would be far better to stay at one of the airport hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GAV273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Dear GAV273,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family for 4 days and 3 nights. Hotel was very clean and beds were very comfortable! The only bad thing about hotel was that it is only 10 miles away from Dubai yet it would take 35-45 minutes to get to Dubai because of traffic. In addition, there isn't a whole lot to do in Sharjah since there are no bars or hookah joints to hang out at since Sharjah is supposedly a strict city. Also most taxis charged an extra 20 dirhams to drive you to Dubai and another extra 20 dirhams to get you back to hotel. Since this Hotel is located in Sharjah, only specific taxis can take you back to Sharjah from Dubai. If possible I would suggest renting a car and driving everywhere. It is just like driving in the USA but you have to deal with traffic. If you rent a car, be careful about speeding because they have speed cameras everywhere and you won't know whether or not you got a violation until you see a big charge on your credit card bill. We rented a car for one day and regretted not renting the car for our whole stay. Plus free parking at hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atoolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

One of the worst hotels I have seen in the region, and certainly the worst Holiday Inn I have ever stayed at. Room was large but poorly furnished with inaccessible power plugs. Temperature control didn't work and I was actually cold! Internet requires a prepaid card every day and one for each device (rip off), and wireless connection is difficult to access. Lifts too busy for number of guests, and very few staff around. Breakfast fruit from a tin. They forgot to send a car to the ariport.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Excelsior Sharjah, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2012

Dear Steve S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please accept my sincerest apology for the issues you had with your room accommodations and our WiFi affected your stay negatively. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with our breakfast options and our Airport Shuttle service did not live up to your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sharjah hotels
4.8 mi away
Coral Beach Resort Sharjah
2.1 mi away
Hilton Sharjah
Hilton Sharjah
#2 of 79 in Sharjah
1,430 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Sharjah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sharjah Grand Hotel
Sharjah Grand Hotel
#11 of 79 in Sharjah
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Holiday International Sharjah
4.7 mi away
Sheraton Sharjah Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Excelsior Sharjah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Excelsior Sharjah

Address: King Faisal St, Sharjah 61191, United Arab Emirates
Region: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Sharjah > Sharjah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sharjah
#4 Business Hotel in Sharjah
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sharjah
Price Range: £46 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Excelsior Sharjah 4.5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Excelsior Sharjah enjoys one of the most central locations in Sharjah, ideally located just 10 minutes from Sharjah International Airport, 15 minutes from Dubai International Airport and 25 minutes from Dubai International Convention / Exhibition Centre on Sheikh Zayed Road , subject to traffic. The Five star hotel is ideal for both business and leisure guests featuring 180 spacious rooms including one and two bedroom suites, all rooms are equipped with high-speed internet access and living area. Other facilities include an outdoor rooftop swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. A complimentary shuttle bus is available on a daily basis to the beach. Our all day dining restaurant Al Dana is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. WIFI is available in the lobby lounge which is open round the clock for meals and refreshments. 24 hour room service is also available. For business meetings, the hotel has two meeting rooms with natural daylight that can accommodate up to 220 people. Executive and suite room rates include complimentary high-speed internet access in the rooms, and breakfast. Other famous attractions in Sharjah include the Blue Souq, City centre Mall, Sharjah Business District and The American University of Sharjah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Excelsior Sharjah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sharjah Hotel Sharjah
Sharjah Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing