We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Property, Fantastic Setting, Amazing Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Carmelo
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, Fantastic Setting, Amazing Service”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I spent 2 nights in a 'loft' 2 story room with family. Carmelo is a total gem, particularly a few miles out of town in the area of the Four Seasons. We used their bicycles for perfect countryside rides though horse country and fields, swam at their indoor pool in the spa, enjoyed their fitness center, beach, and amazing restaurant! Totally recommend for a relaxing recharge! We were there in August, in the middle of the Uruguayan winter, and the weather was great. My only caveat for those not accustomed to heat would be to avoid their high season (Xmas) as we are told it gets REALLY hot then!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DickSimonPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    144
    37
    17
    11
See reviews for
241
470
9
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It's a nice enough property in a relaxing setting but I felt it wasn't on the FS level due to service and ambiance. It's a beautiful setting but also remote so it would have been nice to organise events at the hotels so guests could relax and not stress out about planning things. Perhaps golfers would enjoy it more but we felt a bit bored.

I did like visiting the farm with kids and there is an quaint, very atmospheric restaurant "Narbona" nearby we ended up eating several times at - this I do recommend very much, it was outstanding.

Took a little plane to BA from a nearby village airport - very handy and fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsPapercut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSCarmeloManager, General Manager at Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Ms. Papercut,
I am so sorry you were bored here. We don't hear that comment usually. We offer polo lessons, horseback riding, golf, spa, tennis, kayaking, indoor/outdoor pools, tours of UNESCO World Heritage Site Colonia de Sacramento, winery tours, wine tastings, and intermittently or on request spa classes, cocktail classes, pastry classes, and more. Something for everyone!
If you had told us you were looking for more to do, I would have been happy to help! Sorry it turned out that way for you. Hope you will come back someday and give us another chance!

Best Regards,
Mark Bingle
mark.bingle@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed three nights with our daughter, son in law and three grandchildren (aged 6 and 3 years and 4 months). We rented a very spacious cabin for ourselves and a two-level suite for the young ones, both were very comfortable and superbly equipped. We enjoyed family nights in our rooms, both large enough living rooms for the adults to share drinks and dinner (excellent room service) while the young ones played, watched TV or slept. The ladies made good use of the spa and everybody spent good times at the indoor pool. Beautiful surroundings, good for peaceful walks among the pine trees.
Service at the restaurant was excellent during breakfasts and a late night dinner with a complete menu and a wide list of local and imported wines. Unforgettable family days!!!!
.

Room Tip: Cabins are very spacious, comfortable and quiet and ideal for couples of any age, with good views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We spent 4 days here and were blown away by the level of service we received right across the whole resort. Within an hour of us arriving, the bar and restaurant staff were acknowledging us all by name. After our first meal, they were recognising our drinks of choice! The concierge, Santiago, had planned our itinerary before we had arrived. Meals and activities all sorted - complete with transport. We really didn't need to do a thing. Horse riding, canoeing, wine tasting and a private tour around Colonia as well as all our meals. We had such a wonderful visit. The only mildly negative thing I can say and it's more an observation than a criticism - it's going to need a bit of a spruce up sooner rather than later. Some furnishings eg blinds in the cabin, were a bit tired - but if that's the worst I can say, there's not too much to fault!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuincyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked one night while driving around Uruguay and instantly wished we had more time.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly but relaxed. The newly updated lodge was stunning.

The restaurant and bar were both very good

Room Tip: duplex rooms are nice for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena_M99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Everything was perfect, since the arrival with hot tea waiting for you until the check out. The forest bungalow is very comfortable, spacious and clean. Silence allows you to disconnect from the world and relax deeply! The breakfast and the restaurant are very good and varied. The staff are extremely attentive and are always on hand to meet your requests. The spa area is very good and winter makes all the difference! Would definitely plan to go back sometimes!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vsalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We were coming from BA after staying at FS there. Wanted a quiet place. I wish I had spoken more to the front desk about what kind of room was available because I didn't really care for the 2 story suite. They need some updating and I would have preferred a single cabana with no upstairs. I wanted to do yoga but that was not offered but for 1 day and not at a convenient time. So that was out. The spa we had booked a couples massage and we were separated. The food is always good at FS but it was limited options and we had been traveling and breakfast was not served all day. When you have captive audiences, as you are because there is no where else to go, the dining facilities should be open all day.
Interesting resort. Great pool. Lots of kids :-(. A little updating is needed. It rained and it was leaking everywhere. And private dip pools offered en suite for couples who don't want to be near kids would make this place much better. Not sure I'd revisit unless there were was some updating and more private accommodations for couples. This place is screaming for private cabanas with dip pools.

Room Tip: If you want privacy ask for a room away from the noise of children
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dvswank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmelo
4.5 mi away
Casa Chic
Casa Chic
#4 of 8 in Carmelo
189 reviews
4.4 mi away
Los Muelles Boutique Hotel
23.1 mi away
Colonia West Hotel
Colonia West Hotel
#1 of 1 in Conchillas
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ah'lo Carmelo Hostel Boutique
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puerto Dijama
Hotel Puerto Dijama
#2 of 7 in Carmelo
31 reviews
2.5 mi away
Posada CampoTinto
Posada CampoTinto
#1 of 7 in Carmelo
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt

Property: Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt
Address: Ruta 21, Km 262, Carmelo 70100, Uruguay (Formerly Four Seasons Resort Carmelo)
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Carmelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Carmelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consistently gold-listed as Uruguay's top resort, we offer 20 bungalows and 24 bi-level luxury suites. Located 30 minutes by plane from Buenos Aires or 2 hours by boat. Enjoy world-class golf, wine-inspired spa treatments, and dedicated service during your stay in Carmelo, Uruguay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Carmelo Resort & Spa, the Unbound Collection by Hyatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Carmelo
Four Seasons Resort Carmelo Hotel Carmelo
Four Seasons Hotel Carmelo
Four Seasons Carmelo
Carmelo Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing