We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Narbona Wine Lodge - Relais & Chateaux
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Carmelo
Certificate of Excellence
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Sensational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

Narbona Wine Lodge has just joined the Relais & Chateau group for good reason as the setting, building and amazing attention to detail are second to none. Our room, Rose, overlooking the vineyard, was wonderful as is one of only 5 bedrooms. The Argentinian owner has splendid style and amazing attention to detail such that the atmosphere, fixture and fittings are period but it all works as it should. The pool area is very nice and the new winery with entertaining space is impressive. Gabriela, the guest relations manager looked after us very well and nothing was too much trouble. Her English is also good. There is a new chef who promises a new menu which should improve the current good standard to something special. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take one overlooking the vineyard - worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    215
    25
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
40
166
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed overnight in one of the rooms on the property. The room was huge with a very large bathroom. The food was fabulous in the restaurant. We also did a wine tasting with the sommelier which was fun and informative as we hadn't ever tasted tannat before. We were actually really surprised at their rose as well - a great option in the hot weather for lunch. It is a remote location, so besides the pool and wine, there isn't much else to do but relax. Only downside, they can arrange a wine tour at another vineyard, however, for 4 times as much as if you book it directly. That was kind of a disappointment. Otherwise, a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Narbona Wine Lodge was the highlight of our two week trip to Argentina and Uruguay! To begin with it has the most amazing setting. Right off the scenic country roads from Colonia, you pull in to an amazing finca with vineyards surrounding you. It is a small property that is set within the old bodega so you are surrounded as well by the history of the place with old cars and original features from the bodega. The tannat room up a flight of stairs must have the best views over the vineyards and new bodega. Sunsets from the room are just picture perfect. It is a huge suite with early 20th century furnishings but all the modern amenities you need. One of the highlights of the trip was the wine tasting we did with the winemaker. We also enjoyed a picnic and bike rides. We were sad to leave!!!
Some small opportunities for improvement. We found that while the food in the restaurant was very good, the menu could do with some variety. Three nights there got a little boring for us. The staff provides fantastic service but can sometimes be difficult to locate. Small wrinkles that are easy forgiven.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jezzabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I ventured here for a romantic vacation. Everything about this resort was amazing. The service was perfect, atmosphere was truly romantic, and the grounds were gorgeous! I wish I were still there.

Room Tip: Stay in the bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelemkaplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uruguay
Level Contributor
110 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

Narbona Wine Lodge is 7 kms more or less West of the Four Seasons Carmelo hotel, down the same freeway. You won't find signage along the road, pretty much you know it is in that location on freeway 21. It is a lovely winery, decorated with a mix of the old and the new, all put together to exquisite detail. The rooms are fantastic, if you like the old decorated with the new and comfort, and huge bathrooms, with antique appliances, wooden floors, 4 legged bathtubs or super antique toilets. One of the bathrooms has a huge shelving structure full of white teapots and similar, and another bathroom a collection of old iron irons! The place has a small restaurant, with a limited but attractive menu. They make their own breads, wine, marmelades, cheeses, pastas and olive oil. The grounds are lovely and a lot of work has been put there to make it look like it is now. It is hoping for a Ralais Chateau approval, so hurry and visit before the prices sky rocket. Regardless, Narbona Wine Estate is a place to visit if you are in the area and looking for some peace and quiet in the middle of the country side. It also has a pool, a small gym, a collection of antique cars laid out around the property, lots of details that turn it into a museum of an era gone by. The winery dates back to the early 1900's and was the home of the family who owned it prior to it being sold. I din't have a chance to stay at their property, but would have liked to. Maybe some other day, no time this time.

Helpful?
Thank Latitude33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmelo hotels
1.6 mi away
Casa Chic
Casa Chic
#4 of 8 in Carmelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
7.4 mi away
Los Muelles Boutique Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hotel Playa Sere
Hotel Playa Sere
#6 of 8 in Carmelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Posada del Navegante
Posada del Navegante
#5 of 8 in Carmelo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Casino Carmelo
Hotel Casino Carmelo
#8 of 8 in Carmelo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
3.0 mi away
Carmelo Resort & Spa, A Hyatt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Narbona Wine Lodge - Relais & Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Narbona Wine Lodge - Relais & Chateaux

Property: Narbona Wine Lodge - Relais & Chateaux
Address: Ruta 21 Km 268, Carmelo 70100, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Carmelo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Carmelo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Narbona Wine Lodge - Relais & Chateaux 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Narbona Wine Lodge, naturaleza pura dentro de la ondulada campina uruguaya. Una bodega, una finca, un restaurant y 5 habitaciones de lujo hacen de este, el lugar ideal para el bienestar de nuestros huespedes. La bodega es una de las mas antiguas del Uruguay. Consta de 15 hectareas de vina y elabora pocas producciones de alto nivel. A lo largo de estos ultimos anos la calidad de nuestros vinos ha aumentado por demas a tal punto de haber obtenido el mejor Tannat del ano 2011. Nuestra finca elabora distintos tipos de lacteos. Yogurt, dulce de leche, conservas, aceite de oliva y quesos finamente elaborados, manteniendo antiguas recetas artesanales. El restaurant es un antiguo almacen de ramos generales que conservo sus estantes y mostrador principal. Hoy en dia tiene una capacidad para 50 comensales. Su carta consta de comida campestre, casera, basada en productos regionales, muchos de ellos provistos por nuestra propia huerta. Nuestro Lodge cuenta dos tipos de habitaciones, aunque todas ellas comparten el mismo ambiente y el mismo espiritu. Banos amplios y completamente equipados, sofa de lectura, escritorio, televisor LCD, minibar y una decoracion refinada selecciona por su propio dueno. Las suites con vista a los vinedos (120 metros cuadrados) contienen una gran terraza con chimenea y una magnifica vista de los vinedos, especialmente al atardecer. Las nuevas suites (70 metros cuadrados), con vista a la nueva bodega de piedra, rodeada de un patio con olivos, durazneros y vehiculos antiguos. La decoracion es mas moderna, con mucha luz natural y una terraza para sentarse a disfrutar de la tranquilidad del campo. Sin duda, Narbona Wine Lodge es una experiencia unica que te trasporta al pasado, con el confort de nuestros tiempos, siendo el unico hotel Relais & Chateaux de Uruguay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Narbona Wine Lodge - Relais & Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing