We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best stays of our trip”
Review of Posada de la Flor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada de la Flor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2009

Clean, spacious, and very welcoming. They had a great breakfast, wonderful staff and are in a fantastic location. Our only complaint is that we did not stay longer. Our room was large with a large bath. We booked a basic room but must have been upgraded as we had air, tv and a telephone. The roof top deck is a great place for lunch. They provide us with all the plates, wine glasses and utensils we needed. We really felt it was one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank backpackingafter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 38 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2009

I spent 4 nights at this great posada right on the river bank. One block from the historic part of town. Absolutely great value. Wonderful view from rooftop. Flowers everywhere and birdsong all day long. Very friendly staff. Highly recommended. Good deals during weekdays. El Asador is a great restaurant nearby. Best value in town.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KingfisherOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

I went to the Posada de la Flor during the Uruguyana winter. My experience was great since I was able to stay in this beautiful old house. people are very nice and always trying to help. They have a nice terrace and patio were you can relax. is very nice and sweet for th eprice you pay. great location!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank carmela_diaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2008

Have just got back from a trip that included two nights at the Posada de la Flor. I booked this hotel on line after looking at many options and for price and location this seemed to be the best. We were not disappointed.

We reserved the standard room which comes with celing fan and no tv but when we arrived we were told we had been given a superior room on the second floor with air-con at no extra cost. A very good start!
The rooms are sparsely decorated but are spotlessly clean. The beds were comfortable and the shower was way better than the one I ahve at home!!!! Great pressure and water temperature. Each room as it's own water heater so you seldom run out of hot!

Not only is there the central courtyard but the room has a great terrace looking over the water. A great place to relax and wile away a couple of hours in this very laid back, beautiful town.

The staff here are friendly and efficient and I did hear one mamber of staff speaking English to an American visitor. All in all it was a great stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank santiago_ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2008

We booked at this hotel/posada which we found by googling hotels in Colonia del Sacramento. We reserved two single beds, standard room, with ceiling fan and no TV, trying to economize a bit in our accommodations since we were staying one for just one night. We were very pleasantly surprised with the place. It's a very old colonial house, with its patio in the middle, and two stories of rooms around the patio. The room was quite simple, but nicely decorated and very clean. We paid $48 with breakfast included.
Although it was low season, they had many guests from Latin America and several Americans.

Breakfast was a continental breakfast buffet, pretty good too. The wireless Internet, which worked when we arrived, had been turned off out of concern that electrical surges would damage the equipment (there was a storm while we were there).

The staff was very courteous and available. I don't believe they speak English though.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Expat-in-Cabarete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jairogutierrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cora Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
950 reviews
1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,141 reviews
0 mi away
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento Hotel
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento ...
#4 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#9 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#10 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de la Flor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de la Flor

Address: Ituzaingo 268, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £55 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada de la Flor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posada de la Flor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De La Flor Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Posada De La Flor Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing