We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service. Food just ok”
Review of El Torreon

El Torreon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Bainbridge Island WA
Level Contributor
226 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great location and service. Food just ok”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

The service was very friendly and far more attentive than anywhere else we went. The location is very attractive near the water with a lot of tables. Both steaks we ordered, while cooked correctly were of a lower meat quality than other places (excessively chewy and fatty)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kat&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    129
    151
    104
    110
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg
2 reviews
“Best sunset view, low average food and service, high price”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

The headline sums it up. Plus the waiting time was 40 minutes for grilled vegetables and a simple pasta. "Because the vegetables need to be grilled on point". Yeah... If you do not want to lose your appetite, don't go to the toilet before eating. You'll pass the kitchen which looks super dirty plus the toilets are disgusting. But this restaurant seems to thrive on his perfect location. So best choice is to come just for a couple of drinks and enjoy the sunset. Ah, and it's super expensive. And make sure to bring your credit card or US dollars. As Argentine pesos or Uruguayan pesos will raise your bill by up to 50%.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice location, but expensive”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Fairly nice place but the seanic view adds a toll to the prices. I havent had a proper dinner as we stopped by for a lunch. Food was avarge and no complaints about that, but you can find more value to your money elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mantelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
On the move
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Good location and views, average food”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Perhaps not the best venue for really good food, but it is not bad either.

Main attraction is its location and the building itself. It is an old tower with dining area half way up affording excellent views across the bay and River Plate and, because it is by the shore edge, even the outside seating on the ground floor offers good views.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank madmikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Views, Relaxing Atmosphere, Food is OK”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I've read the other reviews and I agree on the service issue, but we weren't (and most people) in a hurry. We actually ate here twice because of the outdoor setting, cold beer, sunset and seabreeze. First was lunch, my husband and I had the best salads ever! We came back for dinner and I had ravioli and my husband had fish and rice. I can't complain about the meals. Staff does not speak english, however one waitress came over and assisted a little. It wasn't bad, it wasn't great, but the cold beer sitting by water was worth it

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Torreon also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to El Torreon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing