We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sweet place”
Review of La Casa de Teresa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Casa de Teresa
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A sweet place”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed one night and found it to be a lovely spot. We had everything we needed, the shower was fine, bed comfortable enough and a room big enough to sleep 8 ppl, even though we are only a couple! Teresa the host was especially helpful, she went out her way to encourage us with our spanish and looked after our bags while we explored the town before our bus came. There were minimal supplies in the kitchen but Teresa was happy to give us everything we needed to make a quick meal so this was not a problem. It is about a 15 minute walk from the old town area which is good to note but we never minded this. We arrived at night and found the streets to be a little dark getting to the house but felt more reassured once we settled in. I might have felt less safe walking at night if i was a female travelling by myself though. I would certainly recommend this place, we enjoyed it despite it being off season and winter at the time of our visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-Ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    11
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Changwon, South Korea
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My mother and I stayed here for a couple of nights. I thought it was alright, the host was very helpful, and the garden was nice. The beds were uncomfortable though, and it was about a 20 minute walk to the touristy area. As a hostel I think it's quite good.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank snailbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valenzuela, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

we have a sumptuous breakfast, egg and dried fish, no choice, we dont have water to take our bath after going for a swim, i dont want to go back there again! when we arrive we book for two double bed, they gave us a single bed and one bed on the floor, what a service they have.If anyone of you heard of the Travelwhiz Travel dont get them as your tour agenda, bad people, they only get your money, but when you get to your destination, they dont answer any of there phones!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank norms188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Colonia del Sacramento hotels

Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

A little hut-style property located in the quiet back garden of the owner's residence. The bathroom was very small (door hit the toilet when opened) and the shower water pressure was virtually non-existent. The room was not cleaned once during my stay (4 nights). No breakfast was provided either. About a 20 min to the old town. If I was to return to Colonia I would pay a little more to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

La Casa de Teresa seems to me to be an ideal place to spend your nights in Colonia, as it is one of few places not overpriced, and because it is a charming little property. The room we stayed in was clean and comfortable--plenty of space, nice bed-- and our only trouble with it was the shower (which for a while only put out cold water). The owner is very friendly, helpful, and prompt. Breakfast consisted of juice, a thermos of coffee, fresh bread, medialunas, and butter/jam, which we ate in an enclosed patio space, where there was also a parilla available for use.
Also, La Casa is located just a 10-15 minute walk from the Historic District --a refreshing remove, after spending entire days exploring the cobblestone streets there.
The property is covered in lush plant life, including lovely grape vines. A friendly dog and kitten sometimes greeted us as we entered through the driveway, which was delightful and very home-like feeling.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73Lis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Not sure what to say about this one, not good and not bad.

Good:
Nice family who are nice and helpful
Not far from the ferry port
Private, quiet and warm
Not so good:
Accomodation a bit cramped and tired
Breakfast nothing to write home about, in fact I forget what it was
20-30 minute walk into town centre from residetial area located in
No shops or resteraunts very close by

It is what it is a bed for the night

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
750 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

That is what the owner said to us when we asked for some help with our luggage when leaving through the pouring rain...her son was very nice when we got there and had helped us with our bags (we have extra because we are traveling for 3 months). he was the only one who could actually speak any English and was quite helpful...it is about a 20 minute walk to old town...nothing much to see in between...it was too cool for any beach time so I can't comment on that...I do think that anyone looking for a quaint B&B would not be please...it is basically a few rooms added on to the back of the house...the bathroom was not nice at all...poor water pressure and you couldn't open the door and not hit the toliet...also we inquired as to why the rate was quite a bit higher than we found on the internet (a booking site, not direct as we had booked) she said we had gotten a bigger room...because our room had a double bed and bunk beds in it...obviously one couple did not need the bunk beds...so evidently we paid for additional beds we didn't ask for...breakfast is coffee, tea and some cake and rolls...she was nice and brought it to the room to eat...as it was pouring and there was no where else to eat it (they have an outside eating area that wasn't good in cold rain). Not sure why this is listed as a B&B here and under some booking sites...but also under hostel booking sites...maybe they should clarify that for people...there must be nicer places to stay...and they should keep with backpackers and the lower prices...

Room Tip: Have no idea...but clarify what you are booking...it was quite noisy in the rain
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.7 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.6 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#7 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.9 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Casa de Teresa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa de Teresa

Property: La Casa de Teresa
Address: Domingo Baque 571, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Casa de Teresa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa De Teresa Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing