We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff but average food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pulperia de los Faroles

Pulperia de los Faroles
Price range: US$15 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

The food here was pretty average but the staff made up for it as they were attentive and accommodating... The roast chicken was bland and the kids who are pasta monsters... Seem indifferent about their dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EkeneE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    446
    261
    108
    101
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Compared well to the other restaurants”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We eventually ate here despite some of the reviews, as we'd tried many of the other restaurants in Colonia del Sacramento during the 6 days we spent in this town. I wouldn't describe any of them as excellent, and we tried 12 (Lunch and dinner)!

It's in a lovely position, and the food we had was equal to any that we ate in Colonia. The waiting staff were extremely friendly and cheerful, and we certainly felt that they cared about all the customers. The menu and the prices were the same as everywhere else.

It's a lovely spot to sit outside at sunset, as a change from being right down on the waterfront. The little street leading down to the sea lends itself to some beautiful sunset photos.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fromourpointofview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Worst meal of my trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We ordered the calamari to start, and the breading was at least a half inch all around. Once the breading was picked off, the squid itself was rubbery and tasteless. I got the spinach ravioli, which were horrible and covered in a "sauce" that can only be described as nasty ketchup. I couldn't eat more than a couple of bites. Hubs got the half portion of lomo strogonoff, which was OK if you could taste anything through the salt.

I really need to stop relying on travel guide books for restaurant recommendations!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amyj1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Go on a sunny day !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

It rained the whole day we were in Colonia which rather dampened our spirits and this restaurant did nothing to raise them. Very few people in, so there was no atmosphere. Service and food were average and after our first few days in Argentina, we thought it was expensive. Perhaps it would be better on a sunny day.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadicTeachers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Bad tourist trap food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has a nice location and it obviously caters to the tourist trade. I cannot imagine that someone would come a second time. Unlike others reporting here we had good service. The food, however, was way over cooked, the shrimp and calamari was rubbery and soaked in oil. Prices are high - stay away.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vaquero viajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pulperia de los Faroles also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to Pulperia de los Faroles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing