We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Due to construction site next door, not the best place to stay”
Review of Posada El Capullo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada El Capullo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I stayed here with my husband September 2012. I have to start out by saying the front desk guy in the afternoon and evenings is incredibly nice and friendly. But the hotel could have warned us that they would be building some kind of addition to the hotel during our stay (ok, maybe its unreasonable to expect that, but a discount without warning us or something else would suffice). Also, they could have directed the worker who was sanding and drilling directly outside of our room at 8:30 in the morning to go to the site on the adjacent lot. Whatever he was doing was portable. We plan on going back to Colonia, but despite comfy, if oddly configured, rooms can´t say we´ll be staying at El Capullo again.

Room Tip: If you want a window go for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbrown91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 538 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2012

Great location, friendly staff, and clean rooms. Walking distance from ferry and in heart of old town. The owners are friendly and helpful. We traveled with our 2 year old and the owners had several things on hand for children. A cot, high chair and a cabinet full of toys, puzzles, and books. I have to agree with previous posts that a room off the main foyer would be noisy, but we stayed in a room overlooking the pool and it was quiet. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flowergirlla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was actually our second time at El Capullo. Last year we stayed in one of the large, sunny rooms on the second floor, overlooking the backyard. This year we stayed in a room just off the main floor, near the dining area. Both were excellent and while the upper room was far superior, we were surprised that the smaller room, which we thought might get much traffic noise from the other patrons, was relatively quiet (there wasn't a real window, but the room didn't feel too cloistered). The breakfast is generally pretty good and instead of eating in the dining room (which is pleasant) I would suggest asking for a tray and taking your food and coffee to the backyard where there are a few tables and eat your breakfast outside, if it is good weather. The backyard is quite a lovely spot to hang out in the afternoon or evening reading under the trees or next to the pool. While the staff were all friendly and helpful, El Capullo doesn't offer the effusive warmth of a well-run B&B but rather the cool distance of efficiency and competence.

The location is quite convenient to the historic part of the town and both times we stayed there El Capullo made for a enjoyable headquarters to start and end our exploring of Colonia.

Room Tip: the larger rooms on second floor are the quietest (there are only 3 up there I believe)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Asador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

The breakfast offerings were good and the bed was super comfortable. Only trouble was that our room was next to the front door and on the street. Noise from the street was not an isuue - guests and staff coming and going through the front entry space (like an echo chamber).

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are beside the front door. Rooms 3 & 4 open to the breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gingermegs55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel is the perfect place to relax in one of the most laid-back towns in this part of the world. A very nice pool in a quiet garden, with small but well-appointed rooms. The hotel offers bicycle hire, which for once sounds like a nice idea. Colonia has a remarkably low level of traffic, the majority of which moves at a surprisingly slow pace. Lots of nice little bars, cafes, restaurants and shops. An ideal place to get away from the frantic pace of Buenos Aires.

Room Tip: Request one of the poolside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAS907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

Colonia is a small city that requires a little planning before you go so you can take advantage of its beauty. It's a place for romantic couples, for a good relaxing time, and for travellers that search a quality of food and sleep. There are many - compared to the city size - hotels, restaurants and pubs to have a nice dinner or a refreshing beer - the local wine is good but try better the argentinean, although that's not my field.

This hotel makes your planning, and of course your staying, so much nicer and easier. Managed by a great staff and owned by a very kind english-northamercan couple, it has been running this cozy boutique hotel, an old renewed house that kept its old style and mixed it with a modern decoration. It's located in the nicest and most central part of the old city. The price is low for what they offer: An impeccable, elegant and familiar hotel, with a perfect size pool, a huge garden and just a few minutes away from the Marina. All the amenities, WIFI, good breakfast (home made bread and cakes), and all the classic things.

I recommend you this place before many others. Everyone is kind and you'll definitely like the place.

One single suggestion. If you want them to clean your room leave your key at the front desk, otherwise they would understand that you are inside or don't want them to enter in your room.

Happy roads!

Room Tip: Take the rooms outside if available, but the ones inside (as the one I took), are also fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank German C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here on our honeymoon over Christmas and it is the most beautiful places we have ever stayed in. The rooms were extremely clean and its in a great location on a quiet street. The breakfast was very nice and plenty of it to set you up for your day. All of the staff were very helpful and made us feel at home, especially over Christmas.
I would highly recommend El Capullo to anyone travelling through Colonia to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Declan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento Hotel
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento ...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,181 reviews
1.2 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#11 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
352 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mision
La Mision
#21 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Capullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Capullo

Address: 18 de Julio # 219, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £65 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada El Capullo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century house recently converted into a stunning, modern hotel located in the heart of the historical district. Magnificent garden and pool area make it ideal for both couples and families. Thirteen rooms and a brand new loft apartment all with A/C, LCD TVs, cable and WIFI. Services include buffet breakfast, pool, BBQ, garage, computer & TV lounge and wood fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Posada El Capullo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Capullo Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Posada El Capullo Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing