We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B in historic Colonia”
Review of Posada El Capullo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada El Capullo
Certificate of Excellence
Vero Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming B&B in historic Colonia”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were looking for a B&B in Colonia del Sacramento and we found this beautiful place almost by chance. The historic lines of the building have been preserved and blended with modern comfort and kept immaculate. Not a bubble in the paint! Indeed, the place was meticulously kept.
The back yard was a gem... We sat under the tree shade to drink a mate...
The breakfast was home made and was delicious. The coffee was typical Uruguayan coffee, bold, smelly and strong. The pastries were great.
The staff was friendly and accommodating, we felt safe at the place.
If I could summarize the attention to detail: The room keys were the old fashion skeleton keys... and they worked like they were installed just yesterday!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom b, Gerente at Posada El Capullo, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thanks for your comment, it seems very accurate and a very accurate description.
Hope to see you soon for Colonia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    179
    31
    10
    3
See reviews for
116
294
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

fast answer to email; the Posada is located in the best area of Colonia at walking distance from all attractions. I travel by scooter, there is a garage. The pool is located in a nice garden, with BBQ, lounge, all the rooms are spacious, with excellent beds, nice bathrooms.
A posada with charm I really enjoyed

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourismExclusive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom b, Gerente at Posada El Capullo, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por l descripción y el comentario...esperemos verlos nuevamente en Colonia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I stayed nearly a week and loved it. The people who run the pousada are friendly, helpful, and basically just great people. Our room was comfortable and everything worked fine. We were in need of a quiet and restful time to recuperate from a busy year. While many people visit Colonia for only a day or two, we found it to be an excellent place to just slow down and adjust ourselves to a different rhythm. We personally visited a half dozen of the top places to stay in Colonia and decided on the El Capullo. After spending time there, we remain convinced it is one of, if not the, best choices in Colonia.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or spa, but there is a nice garden with a pool. The rooms around the gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank World Traveler A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom b, Gerente at Posada El Capullo, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thanks for your comments and for recommending ... hope to see them again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. Great location (minutes by foot from the Buquebus terminal and from the centre of the old Town), beautiful garden, comfortable & clean rooms (with HBO in English for those who want it), gay-friendly, hearty breakfast, and friendly staff. The women working the front desk are cordial and English-speaking. Anyone who needs to hang around after checkout can store their luggage at the hotel and can use the pool & cabana. I would stay at El Capullo again in a flash. Colonia is such a breath of fresh air (literally!) after the smog of Buenos Aires - I loved it here.

One caveat: the charming owners (one Briton, one American) are looking for a buyer for their business. Too bad! Apparently family health issues are calling them back to The States. It hasn't sold yet as of the time of this writing (Feb 2014) but depending on when you read this review, you may want to confirm whether the sale was completed and whether El Capullo's charm has survived intact.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank aerach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom b, Gerente at Posada El Capullo, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thanks for your comment and your recommendation ... hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Immaculate, very tastefully decorated with local contemporary art, and much more upscale than other options in this quaint town. The garden area is also beautiful--a nice pool, bar area and gazebo. It's also located right in the heart of the town so is walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: No spa or fitness center but they have bicycles for rent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom b, Gerente at Posada El Capullo, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for sharing your impression of our Posada.
Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I was here on my honeymoon. I would absolutely stay here again. It is cute, clean, close to downtown. As mentioned here before, the garden is lovely, the people are wonderful, and the rooms are comfortable. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loudconsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom b, Gerente at Posada El Capullo, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Thanks for your comment ... hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2013

What a beautiful place to spend time in Colonia, Uruguay. El Capullo is gorgeous, with an amazing pool and backyard, wonderful breakfast and sweet, friendly staff. It is also located next to all the amazing spots to visit and restaurants. Uruguay is a beautiful country, with beautiful people, and we were able to experience that at El Capullo.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manueladmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom b, Gerente at Posada El Capullo, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thanks for your comment. We are glad you enjoyed our country and our Posada.
We hope to return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.1 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada El Capullo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada El Capullo

Property: Posada El Capullo
Address: 18 de Julio # 219, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada El Capullo 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century house recently converted into a stunning, modern hotel located in the heart of the historical district. Magnificent garden and pool area make it ideal for both couples and families. Thirteen rooms and a brand new loft apartment all with A/C, LCD TVs, cable and WIFI. Services include buffet breakfast, pool, BBQ, garage, computer & TV lounge and wood fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Posada El Capullo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Capullo Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Posada El Capullo Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing