We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Posada El Capullo
Nearby Hotels
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort(Colonia del Sacramento)
US$205
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites(Colonia del Sacramento)
US$110
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Don Antonio Posada(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Charco Hotel(Colonia del Sacramento)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Mirador Hotel and Spa(Colonia del Sacramento)
US$149
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Italiano(Colonia del Sacramento)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$149
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Days Inn Casa Del Sol Colonia(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada El Viajero(Colonia del Sacramento)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (556)
Filter reviews
556 results
Traveller rating
321
189
31
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
321
189
31
11
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationold townyogurtgarden pool areacomfortable bedsmall poolsqueezed orange juicestayed here for two nightsfirst floorloungeuruguaymedialoftplaza
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 556 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were looking for a B&B in Colonia del Sacramento and we found this beautiful place almost by chance. The historic lines of the building have been preserved and blended with modern comfort and kept immaculate. Not a bubble in the paint! Indeed, the place was meticulously kept.
The back yard was a gem... We sat under the tree shade to drink a mate...
The breakfast was home made and was delicious. The coffee was typical Uruguayan coffee, bold, smelly and strong. The pastries were great.
The staff was friendly and accommodating, we felt safe at the place.
If I could summarize the attention to detail: The room keys were the old fashion skeleton keys... and they worked like they were installed just yesterday!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom b, Gerente at Posada El Capullo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thanks for your comment, it seems very accurate and a very accurate description.
Hope to see you soon for Colonia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

fast answer to email; the Posada is located in the best area of Colonia at walking distance from all attractions. I travel by scooter, there is a garage. The pool is located in a nice garden, with BBQ, lounge, all the rooms are spacious, with excellent beds, nice bathrooms.
A posada with charm I really enjoyed

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TourismExclusive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom b, Gerente at Posada El Capullo, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014
Google Translation

Gracias por l descripción y el comentario...esperemos verlos nuevamente en Colonia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My wife and I stayed nearly a week and loved it. The people who run the pousada are friendly, helpful, and basically just great people. Our room was comfortable and everything worked fine. We were in need of a quiet and restful time to recuperate from a busy year. While many people visit Colonia for only a day or two, we found it to be an excellent place to just slow down and adjust ourselves to a different rhythm. We personally visited a half dozen of the top places to stay in Colonia and decided on the El Capullo. After spending time there, we remain convinced it is one of, if not the, best choices in Colonia.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center or spa, but there is a nice garden with a pool. The rooms around the garden, where we stayed, are great. Uruguay had unusually hard rains this January and February. We visited several locations in the country and there were always mosquitoes around sunset in the days after a heavy rain. Be prepared!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World Traveler A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom b, Gerente at Posada El Capullo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thanks for your comments and for recommending ... hope to see them again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay here. Great location (minutes by foot from the Buquebus terminal and from the centre of the old Town), beautiful garden, comfortable & clean rooms (with HBO in English for those who want it), gay-friendly, hearty breakfast, and friendly staff. The women working the front desk are cordial and English-speaking. Anyone who needs to hang around after checkout can store their luggage at the hotel and can use the pool & cabana. I would stay at El Capullo again in a flash. Colonia is such a breath of fresh air (literally!) after the smog of Buenos Aires - I loved it here.

One caveat: the charming owners (one Briton, one American) are looking for a buyer for their business. Too bad! Apparently family health issues are calling them back to The States. It hasn't sold yet as of the time of this writing (Feb 2014) but depending on when you read this review, you may want to confirm whether the sale was completed and whether El Capullo's charm has survived intact.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank aerach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom b, Gerente at Posada El Capullo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

Thanks for your comment and your recommendation ... hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Immaculate, very tastefully decorated with local contemporary art, and much more upscale than other options in this quaint town. The garden area is also beautiful--a nice pool, bar area and gazebo. It's also located right in the heart of the town so is walking distance to everything.

Room Tip: No spa or fitness center but they have bicycles for rent.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tom b, Gerente at Posada El Capullo, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thanks for sharing your impression of our Posada.
Hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews